Language Translation
  Close Menu

2019 Indiana Teacher of the Year - Tamara Markey of the Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced today Tamara Markey of the Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township as the 2019 Teacher of the Year. Markey teaches pre-engineering at the McKenzie Center for Innovation and Technology.

“As subjects such as science, technology, engineering, and math are key to students graduating prepared for the 21st Century workforce, I am honored today to recognize a STEM educator as Indiana 2019 Teacher of the Year," said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “Tamara’s story of bringing real-world engineering experience to the classroom only helps to better position the students that walk through her door. I am pleased to present this award to Tamara and I know she will continue to represent her profession, and our fellow teachers, well.”

Markey is a graduate of Purdue University with her Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering and her Masters in Engineering Technology Education. Markey first began her teaching career at Lawrence Township’s Fall Creek Valley Middle School. Alongside teaching, she serves as a member of the District’s Science, Technology Engineering, and Mathematics Coalition Task Force, a faculty advisory for the Architecture, Construction, and Engineering Mentoring Program, and a member of the Graduation Pathways committee. In addition, Markey is a Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellow, and a Project Lead the Way Instructor. Prior to teaching, Markey was an engineer with Amoco Oil and BP Pipelines. As the 2019 Teacher of the Year, Tamara Markey will represent Indiana in the National Teacher of the Year Competition.

For over 60 years, IDOE has conducted the Teacher of the Year program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers from across the state. The program’s mission is to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession. Finalists are chosen from a pool of applicants and the screening and selection committee is made up of former recipients, IDOE staff, educational organization leaders, business and community leaders, and representatives from higher education. Former winners are comprised of retired educators, administrators, college professors, and teacher leaders that continually provide support to the education community.