- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • National Terror Alert System
  • map_widget
  • state-that-works_widget

Indiana Department of Homeland Security

IDHS > About IDHS > Certification > Emergency Medical Services > EMS Trauma Transportation Rule & Destination Guide EMS Trauma Transportation Rule & Destination Guide

The Field Triage/Trauma rule was signed by Governor Mitch Daniels on July 10, 2012, and became effective on August 8, 2012. The link to the new rule is:

IDHS and the CDC have developed a self-study course that will describe both the Indiana rule and the guidelines that will enable responders to determine trauma center criteria for patients. You can access this course by clicking here. We recommend that you review this information and pass on this resource to your employees, staff, and colleagues.

The following template has been created to assist your jurisdiction in integrating the Field Triage/Trauma rule into your protocols. Medical Directors should establish further guidelines and recommendations within this document that are consistent with the Trauma Rule. It is important to instruct field responders on how to determine transport times and to help establish what types of circumstances a patient’s life might be in danger by not going to a closer medical facility. These guidelines should be pertinent to your areas of operation and take into consideration the terrain and make-up of your geographic locations as well as any other conditions affecting transportation. Responders should also be reminded that if they are ever in doubt of where to transport a patient, they should utilize on-line medical control to help make that determination.

Indiana Field Triage and Transportation Protocol Template

Destination Guide

Hospitals that wish to apply for status as an “in the ACS verification process” trauma center must provide sufficient documentation for the Indiana EMS Commission to conclude that your hospital complies with the requirements in the following forms:

Application for Hospital to be Designated "In the ACS Verification Process"

One Year Progress Report for "In the ACS Verification Process" Level III Trauma Center

Application for Hospital to be Designated "In the ACS Verification Process" for Pediatrics

Please submit your completed application to:

Indiana Department of Homeland Security
EMS Certifications, E239, IGC-S
302 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739

Trauma Centers

The following list is of currently approved or “In process” ACS Trauma Centers which are eligible to receive trauma patients from EMS according to 836 IAC 1-2.1-1. Those highlighted in  green  are “In Process” of receiving accreditation but have been approved by the ISDH Trauma Committee and EMS Commission to begin receiving the appropriate trauma patients. Those in  red  are pursuing "In Process" designation.

Level I Trauma Centers

 Wishard Memorial Hospital  Indianapolis, IN
 Indiana University Health Methodist Hospital  Indianapolis, IN
 Bronson Methodist Hospital  Kalamazoo, MI
 University of Louisville Hospital  Louisville, KY
 Miami Valley Hospital  Dayton, OH
 The Universty Hospital  Cincinnati, OH
 Loyola University Medical Center  Maywood, IL
 Carle Foundation Hospital  Urbana, IL
 Advocate Christ Medical Center  Oak Lawn, IL
 Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital  Downers Grove, IL
 Advocate Illinois Masonic Hospital  Chicago, IL
 John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital  Chicago, IL
 Mount Sinai Hospital Medical Center  Chicago, IL
 Northwestern Memorial Hospital  Chicago, IL

Level I Pediatric Trauma Centers

 Riley Hospital for Children at Indiana University Health  Indianapolis, IN
 Kosair Children's Hospital  Louisville, KY
 Cincinnati Children's Hospital  Cincinnati, OH
 John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital  Chicago, IL
 Mount Sinai Hospital Medical Center  Chicago, IL
 University of Chicago Comer Children's Hospital  Chicago, IL
 Anne and Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago  Chicago, IL

Level II Trauma Centers

 Deaconess Hospital  Evansville, IN
 St. Mary's Medical Center  Evansville, IN
 Lutheran Hospital of Indiana  Fort Wayne, IN
 Parkview Regional Medical Center  Fort Wayne, IN
 St. Vincent Memorial Hospital  Indianapolis, IN
 Memorial Hospital of South Bend  South Bend, IN
 Borgess Medical Center  Kalamazoo, MI
 Kettering Medical Center  Kettering, OH
 Lima Memorial Health System  Lima, OH
 St. Rita's Medical Center  Lima, OH
 Provena St. Joseph  Joliet, IL
 Presence St. Mary's  Kankakee, IL
 Riverside Medical Center  Kankakee, IL
 Silver Cross Hospital  New Lenox, IL
 Adventist Bolingbrook Hospital  Bolingbrook, IL
 Adventist La Grange Hospital  La Grange, IL
 Elmhurst Memorial Hospital  Elmhurst, IL
 Adventist Glen Oaks Hospital  Glendale Heights, IL
 Gottlieb Memorial Hospital  Melrose Park, IL
 Adventist Hinsdale Hospital  Hinsdale, IL
 MacNeal Hospital  Berwyn, IL

Level II Pediatric Trauma Centers

St. Mary's Medical Center  Evansville, IN
 Lutheran Hospital of Indiana  Fort Wayne, IN
 Parkview Regional Medical Center  Fort Wayne, IN
 Children's Medical Center  Dayton, OH

Level III Trauma Centers

 Ball Memorial Hospital  Muncie, IN
 Franciscan St. Elizabeth Lafayette East Hospital  Lafayette, IN
 St. Vincent's Anderson Hospital  Anderson, IN
 IU Health Arnett  Lafayette, IN
 Atrium Medical Center  Middletown, OH
 Promedica Defiance Regional Hospital  Defiance, OH
 Bethesda North Hospital  Cincinnati, OH