Close Menu

Awards and Nominations

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education’s (CHE) mission is, in part, to plan and coordinate the state’s postsecondary education system (IC 21-18-6-1(1)) and ensure that Indiana’s higher education system is aligned to meet the needs of students and the state. In order to plan and coordinate the postsecondary system while also guaranteeing alignment, the Commission develops a strategic plan (IC 21-18-8-1) which recognizes that overcoming the challenge to meet attainment goals depends on not only a strong partnership between Indiana colleges and the state but also on establishing deeper connections and more meaningful collaborations between businesses, service organizations and community foundations.

In order to provoke, encourage and reward outstanding contributions to the advancement of the Commission's goals, the Commission has established a series of awards for its postsecondary and K-12 partners.

Stan Jones Student Success Award

Created in 2017, the Stan Jones Student Success Award honors promising student success initiatives. Named in honor of the late Stan Jones, President of Complete College America and former Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education, this award builds upon his legacy of landmark education policy and student success initiatives, including the 21st Century Scholars program. Just as Stan was a tireless advocate for education, this award is given to programs that are helping to increase student success across the state.

The 2021 Stan Jones Student Success Award Application is now available. The Grant will support college partners with promising student success practices. Up to $10,000 in grant funding is available for the recipient(s). Grants will be distributed to college and university campuses with promising practices that support student success initiatives on their campus and beyond. Applications are due November 19, 2021. Recipients will be announced and asked to present at the 2021 Student Advocates Conference.


  • Indiana University East - Educationally Purposeful Peer Interaction ("EPPI")
  • Indiana University Northwest
  • Purdue University Northwest


  • Ivy Tech Community College Muncie-Henry County
  • Purdue University Northwest


  • Ivy Tech Community College - Associate Accelerated Program ("ASAP")
  • Purdue University West Lafayette - "Purdue Promise"


  • Indiana State University
  • Indiana University Southeast
  • Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

Free Application for Federal Student Aid ("FAFSA") Completion Awards

The Commission recognizes high schools that achieve top FAFSA completion rates for graduating seniors by the April 15th deadline.

  • 2018 FAFSA Completion Awards Recipients coming soon
  • 2017 FAFSA Completion Awards Recipients coming soon

Scholar Success Program ("SSP") Completion Awards

The Commission recognizes high schools that achieve top SSP completion rates, a requirement that all 21st Century Scholars must complete during high school.

  • 2018 SSP Completion Awards Recipients coming soon
  • 2017 SSP Completion Awards Recipients coming soon

​Gerald Bepko Faculty Community Engagement Grant Award

The Gerald Bepko Faculty Community Engagement Grant Award (Bepko Award) is presented biennially to recognize faculty at an Indiana institution who are exemplars of the scholarship of community engagement. The Bepko Award was established in 2019 to honor former Commission Member "Jerry" Bepko's legacy in his decade of service to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education. Indiana faculty interested in applying for the Bepko Award must currently serve as a full-time faculty member at an Indiana public or private institution of higher education residing within the State of Indiana and be currently engaged in teaching, research or service commitments that contribute to the greater good of the community, amongst other criteria. The recipient(s) are announced at the biennial Faculty Leadership Conference.

2021 Recipient

The Commission extend one $1,000 grant to:

  • Indiana University Kokomo's Angela Coppola, Ph.D. for efforts through the Applied and Community Research Center

2019 Recipients

The Commission extended two $500 grants to:

  • Ball State University’s Eva Zygmunt for the Schools Within the Context of Community program
  • Purdue University’s William Oakes for the Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS) program

Commission Member Applications

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education Membership (IC 21-18-3-1) consists of fourteen (14) members appointed by the governor, one (1) of which must be a student representative and one (1) of which must be a full-time faculty member of a state educational institution. While appointed by the Governor, the student and faculty representatives are selected in part by his or her peers. For more information, read About the Commission or review current Commission Members.

Student Commission Member

The 2022 Student Nominating Committee is now accepting applications for the next Student Commission Member position. The committee will select nominees from which the Governor will make an appointment to the Commission. The appointee will serve on the Commission beginning July 1, 2022 until June 30, 2024.

>> 2022 Student Application and Agreement to Serve <<

Applications, letters of recommendation and a signed Agreement to Serve will be accepted via email (preferred), regular mail, express mail or fax until midnight on Friday, April 1, 2022. Applications postmarked or received via email after midnight on that date will not be accepted.  Finalists chosen for an interview will be notified on on Friday April 22, 2022 and student interviews will be held on Friday, April 29, 2022, at the Indiana Commission for Higher Education office in Indianapolis. No alternative interview dates will be offered.

Faculty Commission Member

The 2023 Faculty Nominating Committee will begin accepting applications for the next Faculty Commission Member position beginning in February 2023.The committee will select nominees from which the Governor will make an appointment to the Commission. The appointee will serve on the Commission beginning July 1, 2023 until June 30, 2025.