A manufactured home is a structure that is assembled in a factory, bears a seal certifying that it was built in compliance with the federal Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Law (42 U.S.C. 5401 et. seq.), is designed to be transported from the factory to another site in one or more units, is suitable for use as a dwelling in any season, and is more than 35 feet long.
The Indiana BMV titles manufactured homes. The title application documentation requirements are different for newly manufactured and used manufactured homes.
Requirements for New Manufactured Homes Requirements for Used Manufactured Homes
To apply for your manufactured home title, please visit any Indiana BMV license branch. Download the required documents checklist above to ensure you have all required documents.
Review the Fee Chart for fee information on title application fees.
Sales tax is due upon application for title for a new manufactured home based on the purchase price. The purchase price includes the delivery, set-up, and utility connections. Requirements for paying the sales tax to the Indiana BMV or proving sales tax was already paid is outlined in the documentation requirements provided above.
Sales tax is not paid for a used manufactured home.
Affidavit of Transfer to Real Estate – Manufactured Home
A person who holds a certificate of title, a certificate of origin, or otherwise owns as an improvement, a manufactured home that is attached to real estate by a permanent foundation may apply for an Affidavit of Transfer to Real Estate (ATRE). However, a person is not required to apply for an ATRE to convert a manufactured home that is attached to real estate by a permanent foundation to an improvement upon the real estate upon which it is located.
Applications for an ATRE of a manufactured home are processed by the BMV Central Office. The Affidavit of Transfer to Real Estate Manufactured Home Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify all required information is included.
Download the Affidavit of Transfer to Real Estate Manufactured Home Application Packet
Abandoned Manufactured Home
A private landowner who finds a manufactured home (or mobile home) that the person believes to be abandoned on real estate the person owns or controls, including rental property, may sell or salvage the manufactured home if it was built at least 15 years ago and has been left without permission on the landowner’s real estate for at least 60 days. The landowner must fulfill the statutory obligations contained in Indiana Code 9-22-1.5 prior to selling or salvaging the manufactured home.
If a manufactured home has been abandoned in a mobile home community, as defined in Indiana Code 16-41-27-5, the mobile home community must fulfill the statutory obligations contained in Indiana Code 9-22-1.7 prior to selling or salvaging the manufactured home.
Upon fulfilling the statutory obligations, the landowner/mobile home community may complete the Affidavit of Sale or Disposal – Abandoned Manufactured Home - State Form 50635 to assign ownership to a purchaser without a certificate of title.
Applications for sale or disposal of an abandoned manufactured home are processed by the BMV Central Office. The Abandoned Manufactured Home Title Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify that all required information is included.
Download the Abandoned Manufactured Home Title Application Packet