Other Indiana Tobacco Related Policies
- Tobacco Sale Regulation
- Tobacco sale regulation authorized by the General Assembly.
- Tobacco Sales Certificate
- Certificate required for the distribution of tobacco products.
- Tobacco Tax
- Indiana's cigarette tax is $1.00 per pack.
- Youth Tobacco Sales and Enforcement
- Titles cover youth tobacco sales and enforcement, youth tobacco law enforcement authority and miscellaneous offenses against the family.
- Warning Labels for Pregnant Women
- IC 35-46-1-11: A notice that reads as follows, "Smoking by pregnant women may result in fetal injury, premature birth and low birth weight," must be placed at retail locations where tobacco can be purchased.
- School Bus
- IC 16-41-37-2.3
Clean Indoor Air Law for vehicles that are used for the purpose of transporting school children and can accommodate at least 10 passengers.
- IC 16-41-37-2.3
- Off Duty Use of Tobacco by Employee
- Summary of what an employee may do regarding tobacco use as a condition of employment
- Trafficking tobacco products with an inmate
- Imposes a mandatory five thousand dollar ($5,000) fine for trafficking with an inmate by an employee of the department of correction or a penal facility and the trafficked item is a tobacco product.
- Fire Safe Cigarettes
- ICC 22-14-7: Reduces the ignition propensity standards for cigarettes.
- Indiana Supreme Court Decision-Fort Wayne
- August 16, 2002, regarding Fort Wayne, Indiana.
Tobacco Cessation Resoures and Funding
- ITPC Trust Fund
- Indiana Tobacco Prevention and Cessation trust fund.
- Medicaid Program
- Provider Bulletin regarding smoking cessation benefits.
Increasing the minimum age of sale for tobacco products to at least 21 years old will significantly reduce youth tobacco use and save lives. It’s an important component of a comprehensive public health approach to reducing tobacco use.
After the Federal Tobacco 21 law was signed and went into effect in late 2019, the Indiana General Assembly passed legislation of its own. Indiana’s law took effect on 7/1/2020. This new law increases the minimum age of sale to 21 and includes all tobacco products including non-combustible tobacco products, e-cigarette devices, and e-liquid. Indiana’s law goes beyond federal legislation by introducing penalties for possession, use, and purchase of these products while underage. It also requires changes to required signs posted in retail areas for these products including where tobacco vending machines are present. Indiana’s law increases penalties on retail entities (doubles the fines from previous legislation for each level of citations and increases the lookback period). It is a Class B misdemeanor if a retailer has been found to sell to underage customers 6 or more times in the last year.