Court Administrator
Larry Morris
Court Administrator

Media Contact
Martin DeAgostino
Communications Director
Information for the Press

Pho: 317.234-4859
Fax: 317.233.4627

Filing Information

Where to file...

Clerk of the Appellate Courts
200 W. Washington St.
216 State House
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Filing Guidelines

Clerk's Office Website

  • Appeals on Wheels
  • Oral Arguments

About the Court of Appeals

As the second-highest court in Indiana, the Court of Appeals hears appeals from the state’s trial courts. The Court does not preside over trials and must accept all appeals sent to it, with the exception of:

  • Cases in which the death penalty or life-without-parole is rendered (appealed directly to the Indiana Supreme Court);
  • Cases in which statutes are declared unconstitutional by a trial court (automatically appealed to the Supreme Court);
  • Attorney disciplinary cases (which also go to the Supreme Court); and, Cases involving taxation (which go to the Indiana Tax Court).

As a result, the 15 members of the Court issue approximately 2,500 written opinions each year. A decision of the Court of Appeals of Indiana is final unless granted further review by the Indiana Supreme Court. Learn more »

Latest News & Headlines

IU honors Judge Friedlander


INDIANAPOLIS - Indiana University has bestowed its Distinguished Alumni Service Award on recently retired and now Senior Judge Ezra H. Friedlander..

The annual award recognizes IU alumni who have excelled in their chosen fields and made significant contributions to their community, state, country or university.

Judge Friedlander received the award at the Alumni Association’s fall dinner, held in conjunction with the Student Grant & Scholarship Luncheon. This year’s other recipients and their fields are Angela M. Brown (music); J. Terry Clapacs (higher education); and Sage Steel (sports broadcasting).

The program for the 2015 awards note that Judge Friedlander was inducted as an Indiana University Law School Alumni Fellow in 1998.

The Distinguished Alumni Service Award is granted by a seven-member Alumni Awards Committee from written nominations with supporting materials. The award proper is a medallion and illuminated parchment.