Language Translation
  Close Menu

Staff & Offices

For inquiries about coal mining and land restoration in Indiana these points of contact will take you directly to a specific program area:

Regulatory Program

Active mining and reclamation, or permit applications under review. These activities are under authority of, and enforced by current State and federal laws enacted under the federal Surface Mining and Control Act of 1977 (SMCRA): 812-665-2207 or Toll Free when calling inside the State of Indiana 1-800-772-6463.

Abandoned Mine Land Program

Historical mining activity, and sites mined but abandoned without complete restoration. These sites typically were affected prior to the adoption of current laws and standards for reclamation. They might include open mine shafts, coal refuse piles, abandoned structures and equipment and additional mine related features or impacts: AbandonedMinesRestoration@dnr.IN.gov.

Consultants and contractors interested in design or construction of abandoned mine land reclamation projects may click here for more information. If you have questions or wish to provide additional information you may contact construction supervisors here: amlconstruction@dnr.IN.gov

The Division of Reclamation has always considered public participation and communication exchange as vital to our mission. Our commitment is a response to any inquiry within three working days.

Jasonville Office
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
Phone: 812-665-2207
Toll free (within Indiana): 800-772-6463
Fax: 812-665-5041
Office Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
NameTitlePhoneEmail
Steve Weinzapfel Director, Division of Reclamation ext 4077 sweinzapfel@dnr.IN.gov
Patty Beard Administrative Assistant/AVS Coordinator ext 4078 pbeard@dnr.IN.gov
Kerrie Stamm Clerical Support ext 4090 kstamm@dnr.IN.gov
Shanda Messmer Clerical Support ext 4091 smessmer@dnr.IN.gov
Technical Services - Inspection & Enforcement
Jayne Peltier Assistant Director, Regulatory Program ext 4038 jpeltier1@dnr.IN.gov
Todd Huff Hydrogeologist ext 4085 thuff@dnr.IN.gov
Luke Sweet Bond Coordinator ext 4063 lsweet@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Mining Engineer ext 4062  
Eunmok Lee GIS Inventory Specialist ext 4079 elee1@dnr.IN.gov
Wade Tharp Archaeologist ext 4092 wtharp1@dnr.IN.gov
Nicholas Haunert Wildlife Biologist ext 4089 nhaunert@dnr.IN.gov
Bryce Brown Hydrogeologist ext 4088 bbrown4@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Hydrogeologist ext 4087  
Inspection and Enforcement
Phyllis Hart Field/Blasting Supervisor ext 4060 phart@dnr.IN.gov
John Voigt Mine Inspector ext 4065 jvoigt@dnr.IN.gov
Clay Dayson Mine Inspector  cdayson@dnr.IN.gov
Jeanne Lorenzo Mine Inspector  jlorenzo@dnr.IN.gov
Jamie Brown Mine Inspector ext 4058 jabrown3@dnr.IN.gov
Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
Kit Turpin Director, Abandoned Mine Lands ext 4033 cturpin@dnr.IN.gov
Brandy Gibson Field Operations Coordinator ext 4011 cgibson@dnr.IN.gov
Andy Ripley Emergency Coordinator/Technical Mgmt. Supervisor ext 4018 aripley@dnr.IN.gov
Chris Hostetler, P.E. Chief Engineer/Engineering Supervisor ext 4029 chostetler@dnr.IN.gov
Shawn Clifford, P.E. Civil Engineer ext 4028 sclifford@dnr.IN.gov
Randy Tabler Survey Project Manager ext 4030 rtabler@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Project Manager Supervisor ext 4033  
Jay Akes, LPG Project Manager ext 4031 rakes@dnr.IN.gov
Greg Ubelhor Project Manager ext 4010 gubelhor@dnr.IN.gov
Shannon Baumgart Program Manager ext 4034 Mbaumgart@dnr.IN.gov
Michael Archer GIS Coordinator/Environmental Specialist ext 4015 marcher1@dnr.IN.gov
Travis Dunn Environmental Specialist ext 4013 tdunn@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Project Manager ext 4012  
Vacant Hydraulic Engineer ext 4027  
Operations Service
Kim Tibbett Assistant Director, Operations ext 4069 Ktibbett@dnr.IN.gov
Shasta Keller Purchasing Administrator ext 4039 slkeller@dnr.IN.gov
Shawn Shields Bond Recorder ext 4061 sshields@dnr.IN.gov
Tim Elliott Program Director-Fleet Building Coordinator ext 4068 telliott@dnr.in.gov

 DNR News

More News

 Top FAQs