

## Office of the Treasurer of State

Indiana State Treasurer Kelly Mitchell 200 W. Washington St Suite 242 Indianapolis, IN 46204

## For Immediate Release

March 29, 2016

## **Treasurer Kelly Mitchell Announces 2016 Hoosier Women Artists**

Indianapolis - <u>Treasurer of State</u> Kelly M. Mitchell today hosted a reception at the Indiana Statehouse honoring the winners of the 2016 Hoosier Women Artists Contest who will have their artwork displayed in either Treasurer Mitchell's office or <u>Lt. Governor</u> Eric Holcomb's office for the next year.

This is the ninth anniversary of the competition, which is held in conjunction with Women's History Month. A wide variety of art including drawing, painting and photography will be displayed in the offices.

"Thousands of people visit the Indiana Statehouse throughout the year and the work of talented Hoosier Women is enjoyed by all," said Treasurer Mitchell. "I am truly honored to have the opportunity to partner with Lt. Governor Holcomb's office to showcase the talented female artists we have in the Hoosier state."

The winning artwork was judged and selected by a committee including Treasurer Mitchell, staff from both the Lt. Governor and Treasurer's offices as well as Elizabeth Nash, Masters Student of Museum Studies at the Herron School of Art and Design at IUPUI.

<u>Visitors</u> to the Indiana Statehouse are encouraged to stop by rooms 242 and 333 to view the art during normal <u>business hours</u>.

The winning artists along with the title of their artwork and hometowns are listed below:

Artist	Artwork Title	Hometown
Deanne Boehmer	Elephant Hill	Connersville
Rebecca Brody	Southernbound: Sandhill Cranes at Jasper Pulaski	West Lafayette
Jennifer Calhoun	Evening in the Neighborhood	Argos
Beth Clary Schwier	Old Friends	New Palestine
Cindy Crofoot	Frosted Dawn	Greendale
Shawn Deitch	Morning Glory	Carmel
Debra Emerson	Pretty Peppers Panorama	Tell City
Mary Firtl	Lone Tree Standing	South Bend
Penny French-Deal	Red in the Morning	North Manchester
Jacki Frey	Morning Coffee	Bloomington
Marianne Hamilton	Dancer	Camby
Sarojini Johnson	Tree of Birds	Muncie
Sarah Kercheval	Dappled Light Archway	Indianapolis
Hewook Lee	Spring Peonies	Carmel
Charlene Long	After the Rain	Mishawaka
Carolyn Martens	The Storyteller	Carmel
Kelly Meadows	Stockdale Mill	Peru
Kendal Miller	Frozen Fog	Dillsboro
Lori Murphy	Emergence	Lafayette
Heather Overton	The Magic of May	Greenwood
Lizzy Rainey	Sunlit Piggy Tails at the Tippecanoe County Fair	Lafayette
Buffy Rogers	Sarah Savanna Regards Cumberland Island	Battle Ground
Kristin Shriver	Rolling Out The Harvest	Akron
Kristen Stamper	Summer Pageantry	Bloomington
Carolyn Stanchera	Indiana Pasture	Fort Wayne
Brenda Stichter	In Peace	Warsaw
Sonya Thomas	After the Harvest	Lafayette
Stacey Torres	Nana, Gramps and Me	New Castle
Tori Weyers	Summer Silence	Indianapolis



Treasurer Mitchell announces the names of the 2016 Hoosier Women Artists at a ceremony held this afternoon at the Indiana Statehouse.

Media Contact:

Caitlin Larson Director of Communications Indiana State Treasurer's Office clarson1@tos.in.gov