Step by Step Guide for completing the
Application for License Renewal

If your license renewal date is less than 6 weeks away and you have not received a
renewal form in the mail, you can request a copy by emailing dealers@sos.in.gov. Please
include your dealer number and county in your email.

If you are subscribed to receive online notifications, you will also receive an automated
electronic notification on your Dashboard, as well as via email, 45 days, 30 days, and 15
days in advance of your expiration date. A copy of the renewal form will be attached.
Please note that you will receive these automated notifications even if you have already
completed your renewal.

Dealer Information

e Contact information.
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e Sales.

If your name or address has changed and does not match what is on the
renewal form, you will need to complete a Request for Change of
Business Name (SF 55964) and/or the Request for Change of Address (SF
55965). These changes will not be processed until after your license
renewal has been processed.

Please report the number of vehicles/units sold in the past 12 months. Both
wholesale and retail sales should be reported.

e Auctions.
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If applicable, please list the auctions you most frequently purchased from
in the past 12 months.

e Representatives.
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If you are a licensed manufacturer or distributor with representatives
certified by our office, they will be listed on the form. You will need to
indicate which representative certificates should be renewed.

If the representative’s information has changed, you will need to fill out
Amendment to Manufacturer or Distributor Representative (SF 55921).

If you are a licensed Manufacturer or Distributor and would like to request
a certificate for a new representative, you will need to fill out Application
for Manufacturer or Distributor Representative (SF 55955) and submit the
appropriate fee.

Dealer License Plate Information

e For each license plate in your inventory, please indicate whether or not it should
be renewed.
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e You cannot report plates as lost, stolen, or mutilated as part of the renewal
process. You will need to fill out the proper notice form (SF 56222 or SF 56223)
and submit to our office.

You will be invoiced for the renewal of your license plates after your license renewal
application has been processed. Do not include payment for license plates when you
submit your license renewal application. The invoice will be generated following entry
of the plates you selected to be renewed.

Signature

Indiana law requires that a dealer owner or dealer manager (as defined by statute) must
sign the renewal application. The title of the dealer owner or dealer manager must also
be entered in the appropriate field, along with the date of signature.

“Dealer owner” is defined by Indiana Code 8§ 9-32-2-9.9 as follows:
o For alicensed or applicant dealer, other than a manufacturer, that is a
corporation
= Each officer, director, and shareholder having a ten percent (10%)
or greater ownership interest in the corporation.
= |If no officer, director, or shareholder has a ten percent (10%) or
greater ownership interest in the corporation, one (1) or more
officers, directors, or shareholders designated in writing by the
board of directors.
o If the licensed or applicant dealer, other than a manufacturer, is a sole
proprietorship, the proprietor.
o If the licensed or applicant dealer, other than a manufacturer, is a
partnership, each partner.
o If the licensed or applicant dealer, other than a manufacturer, is a limited
liability company, each member of the company.

“Dealer manager” is defined by Indiana Code § 9-32-2-9.7 as follows:
o An individual who works at the established place of business of a dealer
and who is responsible for and is in charge of the day to day operations,
including the management, direction, and control of the dealership

Required Documents:

Along with completing your renewal application, you must submit the following items.
A renewal cannot be processed until all required items have been submitted.

The business name and address that appears on these documents should be identical to
the name and address provided on the renewal application.
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Indiana Vehicle Merchandising Certificate/Bond

All renewal applicants must submit a completed Indiana Vehicle Merchandising
Certificate/Bond (State Form 53966). Make sure that the principal name and
address match the dealer name and address provided on your renewal application,
and that both the bond company and the dealer owner signs the form.

A valid bond must be maintained on file with the Division for the entire licensing
period. A lapse in coverage will result in the suspension of the license.

State Form 53966 can be found at https://secure.in.gov/sos/dealer/2383.htm.

Certificate of Insurance

All renewal applicants must submit a Certificate of Liability indicating at least the
minimum coverage required by statute (see Indiana Code 8§ 9-32-11-13). Make
sure the insured’s name and address match the dealer name and address provided
on your application. The State of Indiana must be the certificate holder.

A lapse in coverage will result in the suspension of the license.
License Fee

The license fee must accompany the renewal. You must pay the fee by check or
money order and submit with your completed application. Do not include
payment for renewal of your license plates when you submit your renewal
application. You will be invoiced for license plates after your renewal application
has been processed.

Accreditation

If you are an automotive mobility dealer, you must submit proof that your dealer
business is currently accredited through the Quality Assurance Program of the
National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association.
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