
 

Memo 
To:  SOS/Auto Dealer Services Division  
From: Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
Date:   8/30/2016 
Re: September 1, 2016 Enforcement Date – Convenience Fee Disclosure Form  

On Friday, August 26, 2016, the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) conducted a teleconference with 
its Partial Service Providers (PSPs) regarding the statutory requirements set forth in IC § 9-14.1-3-3, 
effective July 1, 2016.  In particular, the teleconference focused on the laws related to imposing and 
collecting convenience fees and use of the Convenience Fee Disclosure – State Form 56075.  A copy of 
State Form 56075 is provided as a courtesy and may be found on myBMV.com under Dealer Services 
Forms.  PSPs may create their own form with statutorily required information. 
 
Beginning September 1, 2016, the BMV will begin strict enforcement of the use of this form as follows: 
 

1. All vehicles sold on or after 9/1/2016 must have a completed and signed Convenience Fee 
Disclosure (State Form 56075 or PSP-created form) with each title transaction (form must be sent 
with title packet to PSP for imaging;), and 
 

2. All vehicles registered with a purchase date of 9/1/2016 or after must have a completed and signed 
Convenience Fee Disclosure (State Form 56075 or PSP-created form) kept in the corresponding 
dealer packets for audit purposes. 

 
Pursuant to the written approval provided by the BMV Commission on May 2, 2016, the maximum 
convenience fee that may be assessed to title and/or registration transactions are as follows: 
 

• Title - $15.00 
• Registration - $21.35 

 
Failure to provide notice of the convenience fee in writing or by electronic means to the customer by: 
 

(A)  the full service provider; 
(B)  the partial services provider; or 
(C)  a dealer that interacts directly with the customer at the initial transaction level  

 
constitutes a Class C infraction under IC 9-14.1-3-4. 
 
Importantly, if a title application does not have the disclosure form signed by the customer when 
imaged, the title will be placed on hold.  Moreover, the BMV will work closely with Indiana’s Secretary 
of State’s Auto Dealer Services Division to ensure these requirements are being met and enforced. 
 
If you have any questions, please feel free to email bmvpsb@bmv.in.gov.  
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