MINUTES

State Board Of Education Business Meeting November 6, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET

Indiana Government Center South, Conference Room B 302 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204

Board Members Present: Mr. BJ Watts (Chair), Ms. Katie Mote (Vice Chair), Mr. Tony Walker (Secretary), Mr. William Durham, Jr., Dr. Byron Ernest, Dr. David Freitas, Mr. Greg Gastineau, Mr. Pat Mapes, Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Mr. Pete Miller, and Ms. Kristin Rentschler.

Board Members Absent: None

- I. Call to Order
 - A. Roll Call: A quorum is present.
 - B. Pledge of Allegiance: Board members recited the Pledge of Allegiance.
- II. Approval of the Agenda
 - A. The agenda was approved by voice vote.
- III. Statement from the Chair: No statement was made.
- IV. Board Member Comments and Reports: Dr. Freitas shared that Dr. Ernest was elected at NASBE to be president-elect.
- V. Public Comment was heard from:
 - A. Laurie Borkon, Formative Assessment Vendor Selection
 - B. Kevin Guernsey, West Clark Reorganization Plan
 - C. Brian Guernsey, West Clark Reorganization Plan
 - D. Robert Buggs, Gary Community School Corporation
 - E. Lovetta Tindal, Gary Community School Corporation
 - F. Tracy Coleman, Gary Community School Corporation
 - G. Robert Coleman, Gary Community School Corporation
 - H. John O'Neal, Indiana State Teachers' Association
 - I. Labrada Dunham, Gary Community School Corporation
 - J. Hannah Carlock, ARC of Indiana
 - K. Kendra Johnson, Gary Community School Corporation
 - L. Dr. Maichaela Spangenburg, Gary Community School Corporation
 - M. Patricia Brown, Gary Community School Corporation
 - N. Cheryl Clemens, Reading Comprehension Report
 - O. Norman Bailey, Gary Community School Corporation
 - P. LaRona Carter, Gary Community School Corporation
- VI. Consent Agenda: Mr. Watts recused himself from Item D and Ms. Mote recused herself from Item C. With these recusals, the consent agenda was approved by voice vote.
- VII. New Business: Action
 - A. West Clark Reorganization Plan: The proposed plan passed by a vote of 10-1, with Dr. Freitas voting in opposition.
 - B. Resolution Supporting Indiana General Assembly Letter: The resolution passed unanimously.

C. Formative Grant Vendors: The recommendation passed 10-1 with Mr. Mapes voting in opposition.

VIII. Discussion

- A. Reading Comprehension: Dr. Marianne Peri reviewed the work of the Technical Advisory Committee regarding reading comprehension accommodations.
- B. Growth Table: Dr. John Keller explained the weighting of the growth table.
- C. Teacher Career Ladders Grant
 - 1. Public comment was heard from Chris Lagoni.
 - 2. Andrew Bernlohr of DOE provided an update on the process.
- D. Accountability Panel
 - 1. Chad Ranney, SBOE staff, provided an overview of the work of the accountability panel created by the Indiana General Assembly.
 - 2. Public comment was heard from Dr. David Marcotte.
- E. Education Dispute Resolution Working Group
 - 1. Tim Schultz, SBOE staff, provided an overview of the work of the Education Dispute Resolution Working Group created by the Indiana General Assembly.
- F. Theodore Roosevelt College and Career Academy
 - Public comment was heard from Lovetta Tindal and Rep. Vernon Smith
 - 2. Ron Sandlin, SBOE staff, presented an overview of the situation at Theodore Roosevelt College and Career Academy.

IX. Adjournment