MINUTES

State Board Of Education Business Meeting December 4, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET

Indiana Government Center South, Conference Room B 302 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204

Board Members Present: Mr. BJ Watts (Chair) (via phone), Ms. Katie Mote (Vice Chair), Mr. Tony Walker (Secretary), Mr. William Durham, Jr., Dr. Byron Ernest, Dr. David Freitas, Mr. Greg Gastineau, Mr. Pat Mapes, Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Mr. Pete Miller, and Ms. Kristin Rentschler.

Board Members Absent: none

- I. Call to Order
 - A. Roll Call: A quorum is present.
 - B. Pledge of Allegiance: Board members recited the Pledge of Allegiance.
- II. Approval of the Agenda
 - A. Dr. McCormick motioned to amend the agenda to include a resolution regarding accountability on the action item portion of the agenda. It was seconded.
 - B. With that addition, the agenda was approved by voice vote.
- III. Approval of Minutes: The minutes from October 2, 2019 were approved unanimously by voice vote.
- IV. Statement from the Chair: No statement was made.
- V. Board Member Comments and Reports
 - A. Dr. McCormick shared data gathered by her team regarding Gary Community School Corporation.
 - B. Mr. Walker asked for a report in January regarding rulemaking and the social emotional behavioral health plan and an update as to the Board's authority related to nutrition.
- VI. Public Comment was heard from:
 - A. Ed Mahern
 - B. Erin Brown
 - C. Laura Giffel
 - D. Loretta Tindal
 - E. Pauline Byrd Atkins Tatum
 - F. Labrada Dunhaul
 - G. Ms. Lardydell
 - H. Ahmed Young
 - I. Bart Peterson
 - J. Todd Samuelson
 - K. Susan Collins
 - L. John O'Neal
 - M. Robert Orkman
 - N. Dara Groves and Jose Huerta
 - O. Lt. Col. Ken Duxbury

- P. LaKeita Reed
- Q. Michael Wingert
- R. Jeffery Breeding
- S. Janice Ford

VII. Consent Agenda:

- A. Mr. Mapes motioned to amend the consent agenda to postpone the vote on career and technical education funding. It was seconded by Mr. Walker and unanimously approved.
- B. With this amendment, the consent agenda was approved unanimously by voice vote.

VIII. New Business: Action

- A. Teacher Preparation Program: Holy Cross College; the recommendation was approved 11-0.
- B. Teacher Preparation Program: Indiana State University; the recommendation was approved 11-0.
- C. Teacher Preparation Program: Indiana University Southeast; Dr. Freitas recused himself from the vote and the recommendation was approved 10-0.
- D. Accountability Resolution: Mr. Mapes motioned to approve the resolution and Mr. Walker seconded it. The motion failed by a vote of 5-6 with Mr. Durham, Dr. Ernest, Mr. Gastineau, Mr. Miller, Mr. Watts, and Ms. Mote voting in opposition.
- E. School Turnaround: Emma Donnan
 - 1. Public comment was heard from:
 - a) Jon Hage
 - b) Sherry Hage
 - c) Angie Hood
 - d) Kara Hazelwood
 - e) Antonio Chrisentery
 - f) Susan Fries
 - g) Jamie VanDeWalle
 - h) Michael O'Connor
 - i) Susan Seet
 - 2. Dr. Freitas motioned to approve the recommendation and Mr. Mapes seconded it. Dr. Ernest recused himself and Mr. Walker abstained. The motion passed by a vote of 8-1 with Dr. McCormick voting in opposition.

IX. Adjournment