## MINUTES

## State Board Of Education Business Meeting December 27, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET

Indiana Government Center South, Conference Room B 302 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204

Board Members Present: Mr. BJ Watts (Chair) (via phone), Mr. Tony Walker (Secretary) (via phone), Mr. William Durham, Jr., Dr. Byron Ernest, Dr. David Freitas (via phone), Mr. Greg Gastineau, Mr. Pat Mapes, Mr. Pete Miller (via phone), and Ms. Kristin Rentschler.

Board Members Absent: Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Ms. Katie Mote

- I. Call to Order
  - A. Roll Call: A quorum is present.
  - B. Pledge of Allegiance: Board members recited the Pledge of Allegiance.
- II. Approval of the Agenda: The agenda was approved by voice vote.
- III. Statement from the Chair: none
- IV. Board Member Comments and Reports: none
- V. New Business: Action
  - A. School Year 20-21 Career and Technical Education Categories and Funding
    - A. Public comment was heard from:
      - 1. Gail Zeheralis, Indiana State Teachers Association
      - 2. Hannah Carlock, ARC of Indiana
      - 3. John Hurley
      - 4. Laurie Holcomb
      - 5. Brittany Clover
      - 6. Patricia Neville
    - B. Following a presentation by PJ McGrew, executive director of the Governor's Workforce Cabinet, the recommended funding levels were approved by a unanimous vote of 9-0.
- VI. Adjournment