Indiana State Board of Education Resolution Honoring the Munster High School Speech and Debate Team

WHEREAS, the Indiana State Board of Education ("SBOE") adopts this resolution to honor and recognize the Munster High School Speech and Debate Team ("Munster") for their accomplishments in 2014 and 2015;

WHEREAS, Munster was recognized as National Speech & Debate Association District Speech Champions;

WHEREAS, Munster was recognized as National Speech & Debate Association District Debate Champions;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the Glenbrook National Invitational and finished in the top 20;

WHEREAS, at the Glenbrook Invitational, Nia Clark was a semifinalist in Dramatic Interpretation;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the Bradley University National Invitational;

WHEREAS, at the Bradley Invitational, Munster finished in Second Place and six students finished as Tournament Champions;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the Middletown High School Regional Invitational;

WHEREAS, at the Middletown Invitational, Walker Hedgepath finished in Third Place in the Policy Debate:

WHEREAS, at the Middletown Invitational, Vince D'Angelo finished in Third Place in the Policy Debate;

WHEREAS, at the Middletown Invitational, Anna Whitney finished in First Place in Lincoln Douglas Debate;

WHEREAS, at the Middletown Invitational, Tim DeRolf finished in Fourth Place in Lincoln Douglas Debate;

WHEREAS, at the Middletown Invitational, Elena Piech finished in Second Place in Public Forum Debate;

WHEREAS, at the Middletown Invitational, Lydia Zheng finished in Second Place in Public Forum Debate;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the Harvard University National Invitational and finished as one of the top five teams in the tournament;

WHEREAS, at the Harvard Invitational, Rohan Chatterjee finished as Champion in Humorous Interpretation, defeating 400 competitors;

WHEREAS, at the Harvard Invitational, Nia Clark finished as a Semifinalist in Duo Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the Harvard Invitational, Kendra Williams finished as a Semifinalist in Duo Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the Harvard Invitational, Anna Riggs finished as a Semifinalist in Extemporaneous Speaking;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the Indiana High School Forensic Association Debate Tournament and finished Third Place in the state;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Debate Association Tournament, Anna Riggs finished Sixth Place in the Congressional Debate;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Debate Association Tournament, Charles DeCesaris finished as Runner-Up in the First Team All-State Debate;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Debate Association Tournament, Jhai Dharla finished as Runner-Up in the First Team All-State Debate;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the Indiana High School Forensic Association Speech Tournament and earned their sixth consecutive Class 2A State Championship and finished 15th overall in the State Championship;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Kendra Williams and Nia Clark were recognized as State Champions in Scripted Dou;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Hannah Witting was State Champion in Declamation;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Nia Clark was Runner-Up in Prose Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Anna Bilse and Ethan Courtney finished in Second Place in Memorized Duo;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, William McDunn finished in Second Place in Humorous Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Rohan Chatterjee finished in Third Place in Humorous Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Bridget Caraher finished Third in Original Performance;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Rachel Jamrose finished Third in Original Performance;

WHEREAS, at the Forensic Speech Association Tournament, Allison Hemingway finished Third in Prose Interpretation;

WHEREAS, Munster participated in the National Catholic Forensic League Grand National Tournament on May 23 and 24, 2015;

WHEREAS, at the Grand National Tournament, Vivian Reba finished in Fourth Place in Prose/Poetry;

WHEREAS, at the Grand National Tournament, Chloe Zatorski was a Quarterfinalist in Prose/Poetry;

WHEREAS, at the Grand National Tournament, Alex Raycroft was an Octofinalist in Dramatic Performance;

WHEREAS, Munster was invited to, and participated in, the National Speech and Debate Association National Tournament in Dallas, Texas from June 14-19th.

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Rohan Chatterjee was one of 50 students in the nation to be a Four Year Qualifier;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Rohan Chatterjee was National Runner-up in Humorous Interpretation and a scholarship winner;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Rohan Chatterjee was the Winner of the National Final Round 'Bama Bowl' Scholarship;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Madison Switalla was Third in the nation in Extemporaneous Debate and a scholarship winner;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Peyton Tinder was 11th in the nation in Humorous Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Kendra Williams was a Quarterfinalist in Dramatic Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Chloe Zatorski and Allison Hemingway were Quarterfinalists in Duo Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, William McDunn was Quarterfinalist in Original Oratory;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Nia Clark was Octafinalist in Dramatic Interpretation;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Vijai Dharla was Octafinalist in the Public Forum Debate;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Charles Decesaris was Octafinalist in the Public Forum Debate;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Sripad Kodukula and Saptarshi Chakraborty participated in the Public Forum Debate;

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Vince D'Angelo and Walker Hedgepath participated in the Policy Debate; and

WHEREAS, at the National Tournament, Munster repeated winning the School of Outstanding Distinction Award, an award given to the top ten programs in the United States.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT, the SBOE congratulates the entire Munster High School Speech and Debate Team for their hard work and outstanding performance, and thanks all those who worked hard to support the team.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the SBOE congratulates Director of Forensics for Munster, Jordan Mayer, and Coaches Michael Buck, Kathleen Boyle, Robert Carroll, Kathleen Gross, Helen Engstrom, Don Fortner, Steven Kennedy, Kathleen Kennedy, Stephanie Sepiol, and Steven Stepnoski.

ADOPTED ON: July 1, 2015