INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION WORK SESSION MEMO

July 12, 12:30 PM (EDT) – July 13, 9:00 AM (EDT) 2017 Indiana Government Center South, Auditorium 302 West Washington St. Indianapolis, IN 46204

Board Members Present: Dr. Jennifer McCormick (Chair), Mrs. Cari Whicker (Vice Chair), Dr. Byron Ernest (Secretary), Dr. Vince Bertram, Mr. BJ Watts, Mr. Gordon Hendry, Dr. David Freitas, Dr. Maryanne McMahon, Mr. Tony Walker, Ms. Katie Mote, and Dr. Steve Yager.

Board Members Absent: None

- I. ESSA <u>Presentation</u>; <u>ESSA Resources</u>; <u>IDOE School Improvement Theory of Action</u>
 - a. The Indiana State Board of Education met to discuss the Indiana Department of Education's Every Student Success Act plan. The Board members discussed all aspects of the plan that the Department presented and agreed to continue the discussion in future work sessions prior to the next Business Meeting.
 - b. The discussion lasted over a period of two days on Wednesday July 12, 2017 and Thursday, July 13, 2017.
 - i. Part One Wednesday, July 12
 - ii. Part Two Thursday July 13
 - iii. Part three Thursday July 13