INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION WORK SESSION MEMO March 21, 2018 1:00 PM (ET) Indiana Government Center South Auditorium 302 West Washington St. Indianapolis, IN 46204.

Board Members Present: Mr. BJ Watts (Vice Chair), Dr. Byron Ernest (Secretary), Dr. Vince Bertram, Mr. Gordon Hendry, Dr. Maryanne McMahon, Mrs. Cari Whicker, and Dr. Steve Yager.

Board Members Absent: Dr. Jennifer McCormick (Chair), Dr. David Freitas, Mr. Tony Walker, and Ms. Katie Mote.

I. Call to Order

a. Mr. Watts called the meeting to order.

II. Approval of Agenda

a. The agenda was approved by a voice vote.

III. Public Comment

a. Tim McRoberts, the associate director of the Indiana Association of Principals, expressed the organization's concerns with the proposed accountability rule.

IV. Discussion

- a. Dr. Ernest brought up the possibility of pausing the rulemaking process and conducting further research before making a decision in regards to the proposed accountability rule.
 - i. Chad Ranney, Deputy General Counsel for the Board, informed the Board that if they wanted the new rule to be in place for the 2018-2019 school year, the vote would have to be taken in April, but if the Board wanted to delay the vote, a new timeline would be made to make the rule effective for the 2019-2020 school year.
 - ii. The Board continued to discuss options and considerations of pausing action on the proposed rule.
- b. The members present concluded that they would pause the implementation of the proposed accountability rule. This also meant that the April 3rd work session would be cancelled and a new timeline would be discussed at a future meeting.

V. Adjournment

a. The meeting was adjourned by a voice vote.