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 Q:  Is it permissible to sell non-resident cards to family members at a discounted rate once someone in the household has purchased a non-resident card at the full rate required by law?
A:  No. IC 36-12-2-25(c) states that, with limited exceptions (potentially for staff, students, and teachers – see next question for details), the library board must set and charge a fee for each non-resident card issued. The minimum fee charged must be the greater of $25 or the library district’s operating fund expenditure per capita in the most recent year.
Q:   Are there any exceptions that would allow the library to provide free or discounted non-resident cards?
A:  Yes. IC 36-12-2-25(d) allows Indiana libraries to issue free or reduced fee non-resident cards to students enrolled in or a teacher in a public school corporation or nonpublic school that is located at least in part in the library district and in which students in any grade preschool through grade 12 are educated.  However, they must be Indiana residents.

Additionally, IC 36-12-2-25(d) also allows Indiana libraries to issue free or reduced fee non-resident cards to library staff. 
However, the board must adopt a resolution that is approved by a majority of the members that are appointed to the library board.

Free or reduced fee library cards issued to staff, students, or teachers under IC 36-12-2-25(d) may only be issued to Indiana residents. (See IC 36-12-2-25(b))
Q. Are children who are home schooled eligible if the library decides to offer free or reduced free non-resident cards to students enrolled in a school located at least in part in the library district?
A. Yes. According to Indiana case law, home schooling is considered the same as being enrolled in a non-public school. It is up to the library to create policies/criteria by which they can establish whether or not a teacher or student is involved in a home school situation within the library’s district.
Q:   Is it permissible to sell a non-resident card that expires in 3 months, 6 months, or 9 months? 

A:  No.  IC 36-12-2-25(e) states that non-resident cards expire one year after being issued. 
Q.  Our library is close to the Indiana border and we would like to offer non-resident cards to individuals who live across the border in a different state; is this permissible? 
A. Yes, for some libraries. IC 36-12-13 (Indiana’s Interstate Library Compact law) provides a mechanism for legally serving out of state patrons. This law is intended for situations where an Indiana library is located near our border and the Indiana library wants to serve patrons from the neighboring state due the way the population is distributed just across the border in the neighboring state.
ISL has a template agreement that is basically a reciprocal borrowing agreement and that is designed to be used with the nearest library across the border. However, the out of state patron does still need to pay the non-resident fee.
We can do these agreements with Ohio, Kentucky, and Illinois. Michigan is not part of the Interstate Compact so we are not able to do these agreements with Michigan libraries using the interstate compact laws.
Contact me if you are interested in entering into one of these agreements.
For questions about this memo or to suggest a memo topic, please contact Sylvia Watson at: sywatson@library.IN.gov.

