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TO:  

Indiana Public Libraries

FROM:  
Indiana State Library – Sylvia Watson
RE:  

U.S. Department of Labor - Changes to the Fair Labor Standards Act 
DATE:  
September 27, 2019
What is the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)?

The FLSA is the set of federal laws that establish minimum wage, overtime pay requirements, employment record keeping, child labor standards, and break time requirements for breastfeeding mothers. Please be mindful that there are also state laws in Indiana that cover some of these topics so it’s important to review both when trying to determine what the law requires.

In general, the FLSA currently provides that nonexempt employees must be paid for all hours worked at a rate of at least $7.25 per hour. The FLSA also provides that nonexempt employees must be paid overtime pay at a rate of 1 ½ times their regular rate of pay after working 40 hours in any given week. The record keeping requirements applicable to the records of the nonexempt employees include identifying information about the employee, hours and days the employee worked, wages paid to the employee including any overtime as well as any wage deductions. There are different requirements for the records of exempt employees. The FLSA includes restrictions on hours of work for minors under 16 as well as lists of occupations deemed too hazardous for minors to work. Indiana state law actually provides more protection for employees and thus would trump the FLSA provisions related to break requirements for breastfeeding mothers. 
What does exempt/nonexempt mean?

The overtime and minimum wage provisions provided by the FLSA are applicable only to employees classified as nonexempt. Employees classified as nonexempt are eligible to enjoy the protections provided by the FLSA. Employees classified as exempt cannot benefit from (do not qualify for) the minimum wage or overtime provisions of the FLSA. They are excluded from the FLSA provisions. 
How do I know which employees are classified as exempt or nonexempt?  
In order to be exempt from the FLSA, the employee must be paid a salary of $455 or more per week ($23,660 annually). Additionally, the person must perform duties that would be classified as executive, administrative, or professional, or be a computer employee or highly compensated employee (office worker earning $100,000 or more annually). In order to be exempt, the employee’s job duties and salary must meet all of the FLSA requirements. To find out what duties qualify under the executive, administrative, professional, and computer employee exemptions, see this guide: http://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime/fs17a_overview.pdf .
The next section outlines the changes coming beginning January 1, 2020.
What are the upcoming changes? 
· The salary level part of the test (the test that is used to determine if an employee is exempt or non-exempt) is changing from $455 per week to $684 per week, which is equivalent to $35,568 per year. 

· The total annual compensation requirement for “highly compensated employees” is changing from $100,000 per year to $107,432 per year.
· Employers will be able to use nondiscretionary bonuses and incentive payments (including commissions) paid at least annually to satisfy up to 10% of the standard salary level.
· The special salary levels for workers in U.S. territories and the motion picture industry have been revised.
Please note there does not appear to be any change to the comp time rules so if it is your library policy to offer comp time instead of overtime pay, your library can still do that. Just be sure comp time is accruing at 1.5 hours for every hour worked over 40 by a non-exempt employee in any given work week. 
When will the changes take effect?

The rule takes effect January 1, 2020. Until that time, everything stays the same. 
*Please keep in mind that this is intended to be a brief snapshot and not a comprehensive review or analysis of the FLSA and impending changes. Please contact myself, your library attorney, or the Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division (1-866-487-9243) with any related questions.
* * *

Sources: The information provided in this memorandum is from the following Department of Labor resources:

https://www.dol.gov/newsroom/releases/whd/whd20190924
https://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime2019/
http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/hrg.htm
http://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime/fs17a_overview.pdf
http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs7.pdf
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Contact Sylvia Watson at sywatson@library.in.gov with questions about this memo or to suggest a topic.


