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LR 78-CR-1.1    BOND SCHEDULE 
 

The following bond schedule is ordered effective January 1, 2009 and continuing 
thereafter until further notice: 
(A) Class B and C Misdemeanors: $300 cash only if Indiana resident, $400 cash only if not 

Indiana resident. 
(B) Class A Misdemeanor: $400 cash only UNLESS the charge is Operating While 

Intoxicated or Possession of Marijuana, in which case the bail is $500 cash only. 
(C) Class D Felony: $600 cash only. 
(D) Class C Felony: $8,000 cash or surety bond. 
(E) Class B Felony: $10,000 cash or surety bond. 
(F) Class A Felony: to be determined by the Court. 
(G) NO BOND FOR THE FOLLOWING OFFENSES: Any person arrested for Resisting 

Law Enforcement; Intimidation; Invasion of Privacy; Class a Misdemeanor or higher 
Battery; Sexual Battery; Domestic Battery; Strangulation; Stalking; Child Molesting; or 
Child Solicitation shall be detained in custody without bail until initial hearing before the 
Court. 

(H) Bail may be posted by approved credit card; any service fee associated with the posting 
of bail by credit card shall be the responsibility of the person posting bail. 

The Court reserves the right to deviate from this schedule as the Court deems fit. 
 
LR 78-CR-1.2    AGREEMENT REGARDING BOND 
 

Any person posting cash bail on their own behalf or on behalf of another person shall be 
required to sign the following agreement: 

“I the undersigned defendant, or the person posting cash bail for the defendant, 
acknowledge the following: 
1. Bail may be posted by cash or approved credit card. 
2. Any service fee for the posting of bail by credit card shall be the responsibility of the 

cardholder. 
3. I (We) understand that the Court may retain all or a part of the cash bail posted to pay 

publicly paid costs of representation and fines, costs, fees, and restitution that the Court 
may order the defendant to pay if the defendant is convicted. 

4. I (We) further understand that the Clerk will retain 10% of the cash bail, or $50, 
whichever is less, as an administrative fee. 

______________________  ________________________ 

Printed: _______________   Printed: _________________ 

     Other person posting bail (if not the Defendant) 

Dated: ____________      Dated: ____________ 



LR 78-CR-1.3    BAIL-PAYMENT OF COSTS 
 

Pursuant to I.C. 35-33-8-3.2, in all cases where a criminal defendant has posted cash bail, 

or someone has posted bail on the defendant’s behalf, and the person posting bail signed the 

agreement pursuant to local rule, the Switzerland County Clerk is authorized and ordered to 

retain and apply said bail money to the defendant’s fines, costs, probation fees, restitution, 

publicly paid costs of representation, clerk’s administrative fee, and return any remaining funds 

to the defendant and/or the person who posted bail. 

 
 
LR 78-CR-1.4    CRIMINAL DISCOVERY 
 

The following general order of discovery is automatically entered in all Murder, Felony 
and Class A Misdemeanor cases1: 
 
(A) The State of Indiana shall disclose to the defendant the following material and 

information on or before thirty (30) days following the initial hearing: 
 

(1) the names and last known addresses of persons whom the State may call as 
witnesses, together with their relevant written or recorded statements, memoranda 
containing substantially verbatim reports of their oral statements and a list of 
memoranda reporting or summarizing their oral statements; 

 
(2) any written or recorded statements and the substance of any oral statements made 

by the accused or by a co-defendant, and a list of witnesses to the making and 
acknowledgment of such statements; 

 
(3) any reports or statements of experts made in connection with the particular case, 

including the results of physical or mental examinations and of scientific tests, 
experiments or comparisons; 

 
(4) any books, papers, documents, photographs or tangible objects which the 

prosecuting attorney intends to use in the hearing or trial or which were obtained 
from or belong to the accused; 

 

                                                 
1In all other criminal cases, discovery orders will be entered upon motion of the Prosecuting 

Attorney, Defendant or Defense Counsel. 



(5) any record of prior criminal convictions which may be used for impeachment of 
the persons whom the State intends to call as a witness at the hearing or trial; 

 
(6) any evidence which tends to negate the guilt of the accused as to the offense 

charged or would tend to mitigate his/her punishment. 
 

The State may perform these obligations in any manner mutually agreeable to itself and defense 

counsel or by notifying defense counsel that material or information prescribed in general terms, 

may be inspected, obtained, tested, copied or photographed, at specified reasonable times and 

places. 

 

(B) The Defendant shall disclose to the State the following material and information on or 
before thirty (30) days following the date of receipt fo the State’s Offer of Discovery: 

 
(1) the names and last known addresses of persons whom the Defendant may call as 

witnesses, together with their relevant written statements or a summary of their 
oral statements and a record of their prior criminal convictions; 

 
(2) any books, papers, documents, photographs or tangible objects which the 

Defendant intends to introduce at the hearing or trial; 
 

(3) any medical or scientific reports relating to defendant or defendant’s evidence 
which may be used at a hearing or trial; 

 
(4) any defenses, procedural or substantive, which the defendant intends to make at a 

hearing or trial. 
 
(C) (1) Discovery is a continuing obligation throughout the case. 
 

(2) No written motion is required except to compel discovery for a protective order, 
or for an extension of time. 

 
(3) Failure of either side to comply with this order within fourteen (14) days before 

trial may result in exclusion of evidence at trial or other appropriate sanctions. 



LR 78-CR-1.5    SPECIAL JUDGE IN CRIMINAL CASES* 
 

Whenever a motion for change of venue from the judge has been granted pursuant to 
Criminal Rule 12(B), the presiding judge disqualifies himself, or it becomes necessary to assign 
another judge in any criminal or juvenile delinquency case in the Switzerland Circuit Court, the 
Clerk shall reassign said cases to the following judges in consecutive order: 

 
Judge of the Jefferson Circuit Court; 
Judge of the Ripley Circuit Court; 
Judge of the Ripley Superior Court; 
Judge of the Jefferson Superior Court; and 
Judge of the Ohio Superior Court I.  
 

In the event no judge listed above is eligible to serve as special judge or the particular 
circumstance of a case warrants the selection of a special judge by the Indiana Supreme Court, 
that situation shall be certified to the Indiana Supreme Court for selection of a special judge. 

 
In the event a case is dismissed and refiled, the judge last having jurisdiction in the 

dismissed case shall be the judge in the new case. 
* Approved and effective April 1, 2009. 
 
LR 78-DR-2.1    DOMESTIC CASES 
 

In all actions for dissolution of marriage, child custody, support, or visitation or 
modifications of same, the parties shall comply with the following: 

 
Within forty-five (45) days of the filing of a petition for Dissolution of Marriage, the parties 

shall 
exchange copies of Federal Income Tax Returns for the previous year, most recent pay stubs, and 
all of the most current information available regarding pensions, 401-K’s and any other 
retirement plans. 
Within sixty (90) days of the date of filing, conduct and verify to the Court any 
stipulations or agreements which have arisen from the settlement conference. 
Exchange of the above stated information is mandatory discovery.  Deadlines may be extended 

or 
shortened by the Court for good cause shown.  No contested action will be scheduled for final 
hearing unless Counsel for either or both parties certify to the Court that the required disclosure 
and settlement conference has been completed by both parties. 
The settlement conference process of this rule shall not apply in cases in which one of the parties 
is not represented by counsel. 



LR 78-DR-2.2    PARENTING SEMINAR 
 

In any dissolution, paternity, or separation proceeding involving children under the age of 
eighteen (18), where custody or visitation is at issue, both parties shall attend and complete the 
Transparenting seminar.   In any post-dissolution proceeding where custody is at issue, both 
parties shall attend and complete the seminary unless a party has attended the seminary within 
the past two years.  The parties are responsible for the payment of all fees required for 
attendance. 

Failure to attend and complete the seminar may constitute cause for the denial of the 
granting of the dissolution or the custodial or visitation relief requested.  Action may also be 
continued until attendance is accomplished.  A party, with leave of Court, may attend a similar 
seminar or program.  A party, with leave of court, upon motion and for cause shown, may be 
excused from attending such seminar. 

At the time of the filing of a dissolution, paternity, or separation proceeding or a post-
dissolution proceeding where custody is an issue, the moving party shall serve a notice upon the 
opposing party of this requirement. 

 
LR 78-TR-3.1    JURIES 
 

In accordance with Jury Rule 4, the Switzerland Circuit Court will use a two tier 
procedure for summoning jurors and obtaining juror qualification forms as set forth in Jury Rule 
4(b). 

 
LR 78-TR-3.2    SPECIAL JUDGE IN CIVIL CASES* 
 

In the event it becomes necessary to appoint a special judge pursuant to Trial Rule 79(H) 
of the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure, a judge from the following list of judges shall be 
appointed: 
Judge of the Jefferson Circuit Court; 
Judge of the Dearborn Circuit Court; 
Judge of the Ripley Circuit Court; 
Judge of the Ripley Superior Court; 
Judge of the Jefferson Superior Court; and 
Judge of the Dearborn Superior Court I.  

Special judges shall be appointed from this list on a rotating basis, except when such 
judge or judges are known to the Court of appointment to be ineligible or disqualified under 
Trial Rule 79. 

In the event that no judge listed above is eligible to serve as a special judge or the 
particular circumstance of a case warrants, the matter shall be certified to the Indiana Supreme 
Court pursuant to Trial Rule 79(H)(3). 
* Approved and effective April 1, 2009. 



LR 78-AD-4.1    COURT REPORTER RULES* 
 

In accordance with Administrative Rule 15 (C), the Switzerland Circuit Court adopts 
Model Option One regarding fees which will be charged for the following transcripts: 
 
1. County indigent transcripts: 

a. Three Dollars and Fifty Cents ($3.50) per page; one dollar and seventy five cents 
($1.75) per page for a copy; 

b. a claim shall be submitted to the County Auditor for payment. 
 
2. State indigent transcripts: 

a. Three Dollars and Fifty Cents ($3.50) per page; one dollar and seventy five cents 
($1.75) per page for a copy; 

b. a claim shall be submitted to the County Auditor for payment. 
 
3. Private transcripts: 

a. Three Dollars and Fifty Cents ($3.50) per page; one dollar and seventy five cents 
($1.75) per page for a copy; 

b the court reporter may request a retainer in advance; 
c. a bill shall be submitted directly to the lawyer or party requesting the transcript; 

said transcript will not be released until payment in full is received. 
 
4. Other transcripts: 

a. in cases where a transcript is requested by a member of the public (not for trial or 
appeal purposes), the charge will be Three Dollars and Fifty Cents ($3.50) per 
page; one dollar and seventy five cents ($1.75) per page for a copy; 

b. the request must be submitted in writing; 
c. a retainer will always be requested in these instances for at least fifty percent 

(50%) of the estimated charge. 



5. The Court Reporter shall be paid an annual salary for time spent working under the 
control, direction and direct supervision of the Court during any regular work hours, gap 
hours, or overtime hours. 

 
6. The Court Reporter shall report during the first week of December of each year to the 

Indiana Supreme Court Division of State Court Administration, on forms prescribed by 
the Division, all transcript fees (County indigent, State indigent, or Private) received by 
the Court Reporter. 

 
7. The Court hereby orders that the Court Reporter may not use Court equipment or the 

facilities for the purpose of taking private depositions; any private recording or preparing 
of private depositions shall be conducted outside regular Court hours; it is further ordered 
that the Court shall enter into a written agreement with the Court Reporter for gap and 
overtime hours on the basis of compensatory time off regarding work hours. 

 
These fees are subject to change upon due notice and amendment of this Court rule. 
* Approved and effective April 1, 2009. 
 

 
LR 78-AD-4.2    FIREARMS 
 

Firearms are not allowed in the Courtroom at any time, whether carried openly or 
concealed.  This rule does not apply to individuals who qualify under I.C. 35-41-1-17 as Law 
Enforcement Officers. 

 
LR 78-AD-4.3    CELL PHONES, RECORDING EQUIPMENT 
 

Cell phones, cameras, audio and video recording equipment of any kind are allowed in 
the Courtroom.  However, all such devices must be turned off at all times while Court is in 
session.  No recordation of any type of any Court proceeding is allowed other than the Court’s 
own recording of proceedings. 
 


