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LR52-CR2.2-1 

ASSIGNMENT OF CRIMINAL CASES 
 

Pursuant to Rule 2.2 of the Indiana Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Judges of the Miami 
Circuit Court and Superior Courts hereby establish the following local rules for the assignment of 
criminal cases, subject to approval of the Indiana Supreme Court. 
 

1. All traffic misdemeanor and infraction cases shall be filed in the Miami Superior 
Court.  In the event that non-traffic misdemeanor charges are filed against a 
defendant who is also charged with a traffic misdemeanor, the non-traffic charges 
shall also be filed in the Miami Superior Court. 

 
2. All non-traffic misdemeanor cases shall be filed in the Miami Superior Court II. 

 
3. All traffic-related felony cases shall be filed in the Miami Superior Court.  If non-

traffic misdemeanor counts are also filed against the same defendant arising from the 
same set of facts, they shall also be filed in the Miami Superior Court. 

 
4. All Class C and D felony cases shall be filed in the Miami Superior Court II.  All 

other felony cases with the exception of those set forth in Rule 3 above will be filed 
in the Miami Circuit Court. 

 
5. In the event that a change of judge is granted because of a conflict of interest or 

pursuant to Criminal Rule 12, the cause shall first be assigned to a judge of the other 
Miami County Courts who does not have a conflict of interest.  In the event that no 
judge can hear a case, Miami Circuit Court cases shall be first assigned to the 
Honorable Robert McCallen.  If Judge McCallen is unable to accept, the case will be 
assigned to the Honorable Thomas Perrone.  Miami Superior Courts’ cases shall be 
first assigned to the Honorable Thomas Perrone.  If Judge Perrone is unable to 
accept, the case will be assigned to the Honorable Robert McCallen.   

 
 (Effective January 1, 2009)  



LR52-CR00-1 
BOND SCHEDULE 

 
NON-ALCOHOL RELATED 
TRAFFIC MISDEMEANORS:  $ 1,000 corporate security bond or 10% cash 
 
ALL OTHER MISDEMEANORS:  $ 3,000 corporate security bond or 10% cash 
 

- - - - - - - - - -  
CLASS D FELONIES:   $ 5,000 corporate security bond or 10% cash 
 
CLASS C FELONIES:   $12,000 corporate security bond only 
 
CLASS B FELONIES:   $25,000 corporate security bond only 
 
CLASS A FELONIES:   $50,000 corporate security bond only 
 
MURDER     NO BAIL WILL BE SET. 
 

- - - - - - - - - - 
When deemed appropriate, the judge may set bond in amounts and under terms different than are 
stated on this bond schedule. 

- - - - - - - - - - 
 
ADDITIONAL BONDING TERMS: 
 
1. A defendant charged with battery or domestic violence shall have no contact, directly or 
indirectly with the alleged victim(s).  
 
2. A defendant charged with battery, regardless of the class, shall remain in jail for 48 hours 
following arrest before being eligible for release on bail. 
 
3. $10,000 shall be added to a defendant’s bond if charged with using a deadly weapon. 
 
4. $10,000 shall be added to a defendant’s bond if charged with manufacturing any controlled 
substance. 
 
5. For a defendant charged as a habitual violator (excluding a habitual traffic violator), there 
shall be an additional bond equal to the bond for the highest class felony charged against the 
defendant. 
 
6. For a defendant charged as a habitual substance abuser, there shall be a $5,000 corporate 
security bond required in addition to any bond set under this schedule. 
 



7. Upon arrest any defendant already on terms of probation or parole is subject pursuant to 
statute to a detention hold for fifteen days before being released on bail.  In order to provide the 
county prosecutor with sufficient opportunity to request a probation hold, the Miami County sheriff 
shall hold the defendant in custody until the defendant’s first court appearance. 
 
8. Except as augmented under these additional bonding terms, a defendant’s bail shall be 
determined by adding the bonds for each criminal charge then pending against the defendant. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009) 

 
 

 



 LR52-CR00-2  
MIAMI COUNTY CRIMINAL DISCOVERY RULES  

 
The Courts now order that the parties engage in mutual discovery without the necessity of 

further motion or directive as follows:  
 

1. The State shall disclose to the defense the following material and information within its 
possession or control on or before 14 days following the entry of a plea of not guilty. 
a) The names and last known addresses of persons whom the State may call as 

witnesses, together with (1) their relevant written or recorded statements, (2) 
memoranda containing substantially verbatim reports of their oral statements (if 
any memoranda exist), (3) memoranda reporting or summarizing oral statements (if 
such memoranda exist), (4) a brief statement, normally not to exceed ten words, 
indicating the nature of each witness’ involvement in the case; such statement may 
be no more than a reference to statements described in paragraphs 1(a)(1), (2), or 
(3) above.  

b) Any written or recorded statements and the substance of any oral statements made 
by the accused or by a co-defendant, and a list of witnesses to the making and 
acknowledgment of such statements.  

c) A transcript of those portions of grand jury minutes containing testimony of 
persons whom the prosecuting attorney may call as witnesses at the hearing or trial, 
as designated by the defense after listening to the recording of the testimony.  

d) Any reports or statements of experts, made in connection with the particular case, 
including results of physical or mental examinations and of scientific tests, 
experiments or comparisons.  

e) Any books, papers, documents, photographs or tangible objects which the 
prosecuting attorney intends to use in the hearing or trial or which were obtained 
from or belong to the accused, together with the location of such items and an 
indication of appropriate means for defense counsel’s examination of same. Under 
circumstances where chain of custody issues are readily apparent, such as drug 
cases, such chain shall be provided to the extent available on the disclosure date 
provided above and shall be supplemented (1) upon defendant’s written request, 
(2) by pre-trial conference, and (3) thereafter as ordered to complete such chain.  

f) Any record or prior criminal convictions that may be used for impeachment of the 
persons whom the State intends to call as witnesses at the hearing or trial.  

g) A copy of any written agreement and the complete substance of any oral agreement 
made by the State with (1) any witnesses to secure their testimony or (2) any co-
defendant or other person charged arising out of the same incident.  

h) Any evidence that tends to negate the guilt of the accused as to the crime charged 
or tends to reduce the class of the act alleged or which would tend to mitigate his 
punishment.  



 
 

2.  a) The State shall perform these obligations in any manner mutually agreeable to the 
Prosecutor’s Office and to defense counsel. The State shall provide legible copies 
of statements described in paragraphs 1(a), (b), (c), and (g) as well as transcripts of 
any audio or videotape recorded statement or a copy of the audio or videotape. 
Other items shall be provided for examination, testing, copying, photographing, or 
other proper use either by agreement or at specified reasonable times and places. 
Defense counsel shall provide reasonable notice of such examination and shall 
schedule these examinations in cooperation with the State.  

b) The State shall make a record of compliance with this order not more than five (5) 
days after the date set out in paragraph 1 above by filing with the Court: (1) its 
witness list together with the statement described in 1(a)(4); (2) a suitable 
description of memoranda and items provided, but not necessarily by providing 
copies of all such items to the Court; and (3) an indication of arrangements made 
for inspection.  

 
3. The defense shall disclose the State the following material and information within its 

possession or control on or before fourteen (14) days following the date that the State 
has provided to the defense the information required under this order.  
a) The names and address of persons whom the defendant may call as witnesses along 

with (1) a summary of their testimony similar to that described in 1(a)(4), (2) 
record of prior criminal convictions, and (3) the relationship, if any, of the witness 
to defendant or any co-defendant.  

b) Any books, papers, documents, photographs, or tangible objects that are intended 
to be used at a hearing or trial.  

c) Any reports or statements of experts, made in connection with the particular case, 
including results of physical or mental examinations and of scientific tests, 
experiments or comparisons insofar as permitted by law.  

d) A statement of defenses, procedural or substantive, the defendant intends to make 
at a hearing or trial. Such a statement shall not limit defendant’s right to file any 
defense defined by statute, such as alibi, insanity, etc., where a specific timetable 
for notice to the State is statutorily described.  

 
4. a) The defendant shall perform these obligations in any manner mutually agreeable to 

the Prosecutor’s Office and to defense counsel. Defense shall provide opportunities 
for examination in a fashion similar to the State’s obligations described in 2(a).  

b) The defense shall make a record of compliance with this order not more than five 
(5) days after the date set out in paragraph 3 above by filing with the Court: (1) its 
witness list together with the statement described in 3(a)(1); (b) a suitable 
description of items provided for examination, etc.; and (c) the statement of 
defense described in 3(d).  



 
 

5. The Court anticipates that compliance will be deemed satisfactory unless failure to 
comply is brought to the Court’s attention by Motion to Compel. Sanctions for failure of 
compliance or violations of orders on Motion to Compel shall be pursuant to Trial Rule 
37.  
 

6. Nothing herein shall limit any party’s right to seek protective orders to avoid 
destruction or other loss of evidence, or to seek deposition at such times as they may 
desire.  

 
7. The Court may deny disclosure upon showing of:  

a) A substantial risk to any person of physical harm, intimidation, bribery, economic 
reprisals, or unnecessary annoyance or embarrassment resulting from such 
disclosure that outweighs any usefulness of the disclosure to counsel.  

b) Where there is a paramount interest in non-disclosure of an informant’s identity 
and a failure to disclose will not infringe the constitutional rights of the accused. 
Disclosure of the identity of witnesses to be produced at a hearing or trial will be 
required.  

c) Such determination of non-disclosure shall be by the Court and shall not be within 
the discretion of the State or defense. Such non-disclosure shall be sought by 
motion for protective order.  

 
8. Disclosure shall not be required of:  

Any matter otherwise protected by law (however, disclosing the identity of juvenile co-
defendants or witnesses shall not be barred because of delinquency non-disclosure 
statutes).  

Work product of counsel including memoranda of opinions, theories, or research for 
themselves or from their legal or in-house investigative staff.  

 
9. This discovery order is a continuing order through the trial of this cause and no written 

motion shall normally be required except to compel discovery, for a protective order, or 
for an extension of time.  

 
10. Failure of either party to engage in and comply with discovery shall not be excused by 

the parties’ unsuccessful or incomplete efforts to enter into a plea agreement or other 
resolution of the case unless both parties waive in writing (a) compliance with this order 
for a specified period of time and (b) any speedy trial requirements.  

 
11. Any cost for reproduction or transcripts under this order shall be borne by the party to 

whom the information is provided except that as to pauper counsel defendants the costs 
shall be borne by the State or county.  

 
12. Nothing in this Order is to be in contravention of case law or statute.  

 
 (Effective January 1, 2006) 



LR52-TR79 (H)-1 
ASSIGNMENT OF SPECIAL JUDGES IN CIVIL CASES 

 
Purpose of Rule 

This rule is adopted to comply with the requirements of Trial Rule 79(H) of the Indiana 
Rules of Trial Procedure.  It is intended to provide a means of selection of special judges insuring 
the effective use of all judicial resources within Administrative District 5 8, and includes each court 
eligible for appointment under Section (J) of Trial Rule 79. 
 
Central Office Established 

There is established a Central Office for the keeping of records of appointment and selection 
of special judges for this District.  The Central Office of this District shall be Howard Superior Court 
4. 

The Miami Circuit and Superior Courts shall hereafter refer to the Central Office of this 
District whenever selection of a special judge is required under this rule.  The Miami Circuit and 
Superior Courts shall accept from the Central Administrator the name of the individuals to then be 
appointed as special judge. 
 

The person serving as Administrator of the Central Office shall have the following 
responsibilities: 
 

1. To maintain a list of persons qualified to serve as special judge under Section (J) of 
Trial Rule 79. 

2. To take referrals from the several courts of this District, requesting appointment of 
special judge. 

3. To alternately and on a rotating basis appoint qualified judges from the list maintained 
for that purpose. 

4. To notify the referring court of the individual to be appointed under this rule. 
 
Current Rotation Schedule 

The following shall be the rotation schedule used by the Central Administrator: 
 
 1.   The Judge of Cass Superior Court I 
 2. The Judge of the Howard Superior Court III 
 3. The Judge of the Fulton Superior Court 
 4. The Judge of the Howard Superior Court II 
 5. The Judge of the Fulton Circuit Court 
 6. The Judge of the Howard Circuit Court 
 7. The Judge of the Miami Superior Court I 
 8. The Judge of the Howard Superior Court I 
 9. The Judge of the Cass Circuit Court 
 10. The Judge of the Miami Circuit Court 
 11. The Judge of the Cass Superior Court II 
 12.  The Judge of the Howard Superior Court IV 
 13. The Judge of Miami Superior Court II 
Administration Fee 



 
Each of the Courts participating under this rule shall pay each year the sum of Fifty Dollars 

($50.00) to the Central Administrator, payable directly to the Administrator by the 15th day of 
September of each year. 
 
Certification to Supreme Court 
 

In cases in which no judge is eligible to serve as special judge in a particular case or where 
the circumstances of a case require it, the court shall certify those circumstances to the Supreme 
Court and that Court shall make the appointment.  
 
(Effective July 1, 2011)  
 

LR 52-CR-00-3 
LATE FEES 

 
A. Pursuant to I.C. 33-37-5-22 this Rule applies in each case in which a Defendant is  

      found to have:  
  

1. Committed a crime, violated a statute defining an infraction; violated an 
ordinance of municipal corporation; or committed a delinquent act; 

2. Is required to pay court costs, including fees; a fine; or a civil penalty; 
3. Is not determined by the Court imposing the court costs, fine, or civil penalty 

to be indigent; and  
4. Fails to pay the Clerk the costs, fine, or civil penalty in full before the later of 

the following: 
a. The end of the business day on which the Court enters the conviction 

or judgment; or 
b. The end of the business day on which the Court has ordered as the 

deadline for the payment of costs, fines and civil penalties.  
 

B. The Court may extend the deadline for payment under this Rule for good cause 
shown. 

C. The Court may suspend a late fee payment of the Court finds that the Defendant has 
demonstrated good cause for failure make a timely payment of court costs, a fine or 
civil penalty. 

 D. The Clerk shall collect a late payment fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) from a 
Defendant described in subsection A of this Rule. 

 
 (Effective July 1, 2008) 
 



LR52-AR00-1 
CASELOAD ALLOCATION PLAN 

 
 The Miami Circuit and Superior Courts have previously adopted various rules and orders 
concerning the filing of certain types of matters in the County Courts.   
 However, beginning January 1, 2009, a new Superior Court (Superior Court II) will be 
allocated new cases and the Circuit and Superior Court I caseloads will be adjusted.  Based upon the 
2007 weighted caseload numbers the judges have agreed upon the following caseload allocations: 
 
 (A) Criminal Cases 
  (1) All Murder, Class A and Class B felony cases should be filed in the Miami 
   Circuit Court. 
  (2) All Class C and D felony cases (except noted below) shall be filed in the  
   Miami Superior Court II. 
  (3) All traffic related cases, both felony and misdemeanor, shall be filed in the 
   Miami Superior Court I. 
  (4) All non-traffic related misdemeanors shall be filed in Superior Count II 
 
 (B) Infractions and Ordinances 
   All Infraction and Ordinance violations shall be filed in the Miami   
  Superior Court I. 
 
 (C) Juvenile Matters 
  (1) All Juvenile Delinquency, Status and Termination of Parental Rights cases 
   shall be filed in Miami Superior Court II. 
  (2) All Juvenile CHINS cases shall be filed in Miami Circuit Court. 
 
 (D) Small Claims 
  All Small Claims shall be filed in the Miami Superior Court I. 
 (E) Prison Litigation 
   All prison litigation, not including Small Claims, Domestic Relations or  
  Post-Conviction Relief Petitions shall be filed in the Miami Circuit Court. 
 
 (F) All Other Filings 
  
   All other filings, not otherwise mentioned above, can be made in any of  
  the three (3) Miami County Trial Courts.  The Courts encourage all attorneys to  
  equalize all other filings between the Courts. 
 
 (Effective January 1, 2009)



 
LR52-AR00-2 

REVIEW OF CASELOAD DISTRIBUTION 
 

The judges of the courts of record of Miami County shall meet en banc in February of each 
year for the purpose of reviewing the weighted caseload of each court, and at such other times as 
may be required to comply with new orders of the Indiana Supreme Court and to comply with the 
District Plan or any amendments to the District Plan. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2006)



LOCAL RULE 52-AR01-1  
MIAMI COUNTY COURT ADMINISTERED ALCOHOL AND DRUG SERVICES 

PROGRAM SCHEDULE OF FEES 
 
 

1.  Program Fee: $350  
 

Includes substance abuse assessment, client intake and orientation, referral to treatment if 
required, client monitoring, case management and compliance monitoring until discharge from 
program 
 
2.  Substance abuse Education Fee: $50  
 

Substance Abuse Education Fee includes placement in the Prime for Life Level 2 (10) hour 
education component, workbook, case management and compliance monitoring until course 
completion and/or discharge  
 
3.  Drug Screen Fees: $ 30 per screen per random urine and/or saliva testing, including all lab 

fees and GCMS confirmation 
 
4. Combined fees for Program services will not exceed the statutory cap.  
 
Effective March 15, 2010. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



LR52-AR15-1 
COURT REPORTER SERVICES 

 
Section One. Definitions. The following definitions shall apply under this local rule:  
 
Court Reporter is a person who is specifically designated by a court to perform the official court 
reporting services for the court including preparing a transcript of the record.  
Equipment means all physical items owned by the court or other governmental entity and used by a 
court reporter in performing court reporting services. Equipment shall include, but not be limited to, 
telephones, computer hardware, software programs, disks, tapes and any other device used for 
recording and storing, and transcribing electronic data.  
Work space means that portion of the court’s facilities dedicated to each court reporter, including but 
not limited to actual space in the court room and any designated office space.  
Page means the page unit of transcript which results when a recording is transcribed in the form 
required by Indiana Rule of Appellate Procedure 7.2.  
Recording means the electronic, mechanical, stenographic or other recording made as required by 
Indiana Rule of Trial Procedure 74.  
Regular hours worked means those hours which the court is regularly scheduled to work during any 
given work week. Depending on the particular court, these hours may vary from court to court 
within the county but remain the same for each work week.  
Gap hours worked means those hours worked that are in excess of the regular hours worked but 
hours not in excess of forty (40) hours per work week.  
Overtime hours worked means those hours worked in excess of forty (40) hours per work week.  
Work week means a seven (7) consecutive day week that consistently begins and ends on the same 
days throughout the year; i.e. Sunday through Saturday, Wednesday through Tuesday, Friday 
through Thursday.  
Court means the particular court for which the court reporter performs services. Court may also 
mean all of the courts in Miami County.  
County indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from county funds and is for the benefit 
of a litigant who has been declared indigent by a court.  
State indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from state funds and is for the benefit of a 
litigant who has been declared indigent by a court.  
Private transcript means a transcript, including but not limited to a deposition transcript, that is paid 
for by a private party.  
 



Section Two. Compensation, Equipment and Transcript Fees.  
 
1. Court Reporters shall be paid an annual salary for the time spent working under the control, 
direction and direct supervision of their supervising court during any regular fixed work hours, gap 
hours or overtime hours.  
 
2. Each court reporter shall report, at least on an annual basis, all transcript fees received for the 
preparation of county indigent, state indigent or private transcripts to the Indiana Supreme Court 
Division of State Court Administration. The reporting shall be made on forms prescribed by the 
Division of State Court Administration.  
 
3. If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a deposition and/or 
preparing of a deposition transcript, and the court reporter desires to utilize the court’s equipment, 
work space and supplies, and the court agrees to the use of the court equipment for such purpose, the 
court and the court reporter shall enter into a written agreement which must, at a minimum, 
designate the following:  
(a) The reasonable market rate of the use of equipment, work space and supplies.  
(b) The method by which records are to be kept of the use of equipment, work space and supplies; 
and  
(c) The method by which the court reporter is to reimburse the court for the use of the equipment, 
work space and supplies.  
 
4. If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a deposition and/or 
preparing of a deposition transcript, all such private practice work shall be conducted outside of 
regular working hours.  
 
5. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for private practice work shall be Four 
Dollars ($4.00).  
 
6. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a private transcript 
shall be Four Dollars ($4.00). 
 
7. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a transcript for a 
county or state Indigent transcript shall be Three Dollars ($3.00). 
 
8. Any transcript that is required to be expedited (due within 14 days of written request) will result 
in an additional fee of One Dollar ($1.00) per page.  



9.  The court reporter shall submit directly to the county a claim for the preparation of the county or 
state indigent transcript.  
 
10. An additional labor charge approximating the hourly rate based upon the court reporter’s annual 
court compensation may be charged for the time spent binding the transcript and the exhibit binders.  
 
11. A reasonable charge for the office supplies required and utilized for the binding and electronic 
transmission of the transcript, pursuant to Indiana Rules of Appellate Procedure 28 and 29, is 
permissible; the costs for these supplies should be determined pursuant to a Schedule of Transcript 
Supplies which should be established and published annually by the judge or judges of the county.  
 
12. The courts will enter into a written agreement with the court reporter which outlines the manner 
in which the court reporter is to be compensated for gap and overtime hours; i.e. either monetary 
compensation or compensatory time off.  
 
Effective March 15, 2010.  
 



LR52-FL00-1 
WORKSHEET - CHILD SUPPORT OBLIGATION 

 
A copy of the worksheet provided in the Indiana Child Support Guidelines shall be submitted to the 
court in each case in which the court is asked to determine support, including cases in which agreed 
orders are submitted.  The worksheets are to be signed by both parties under penalties of perjury. 
 

LR52-FL00-2 
SCHEDULE OF ASSETS AND LIABILITIES 

 
A schedule of assets and liabilities, together with copies of any and all inventories and appraisals, 
shall be submitted to the court prior to the beginning of a contested trial and copies served upon 
opposing counsel. 
 

LR52-FL00-3 
INCOME AND PROPERTY DISCLOSURE 

 
In order to avoid the need for the service and answering of interrogatories and/or requests for 

production in a dissolution of marriage action and/or other domestic relation action for the 
division of property, and in order to insure complete, uniform and reciprocal disclosure of 
income, property, and assets, each party to an action for divorce or separation, shall cause to 
be filed with the court in which the action is pending, an Income and Property Disclosure 
Form which shall be from time to time designated and approved by the Miami County 
Courts.  The Initiating Party shall file the disclosure form within 30 days of the date the 
action is filed and shall serve same upon the opposing party contemporaneous with filing.  
The opposing party shall have 30 days from the date of service of the initiating parties 
service of the disclosure form to file his or her disclosure form. 

 
No discovery request may be served upon the opposing party unless and until such party seeking 

discovery has filed with the court his or her disclosure form.  The filing and service of a 
prescribed disclosure form shall be deemed to comply with any and all discovery requests 
issued by a party where the discovery sought is contained in and/or may reasonably 
discerned from such disclosure form. 

 
The Clerk shall cause to be issued a copy of the prescribed disclosure form to the adverse party 

contemporaneous with the summons of initial notice of hearing in all dissolution of marriage 
or legal separations. 

 
No final hearing may be scheduled and no decree of dissolution or legal separation shall be entered 

unless and until the prescribed disclosure form is filed with the court, except in those cases 
in which the court has specifically waived the requirement.  

 
Effective January 1, 2006. 


