Language Translation
  Close Menu

Indiana Firearms Permit & Permitless Carry Information

*** IMPORTANT NOTICES ***

Effective July 1, 2022, Indiana will have a permitless carry option providing you meet the criteria of a proper person under Indiana law. If you choose to carry under the permitless option, it is recommended that you speak to an attorney to determine your personal compliance with IC 35- 47-2-1.5 prior to carrying a handgun under this new law. You may still apply for a lifetime or 5 year firearms permit and the Indiana State Police will conduct the necessary checks to determine if you are a proper person under Indiana statute. For more information on permitless carry click the following link Permitless Carry Information


ATTENTION: Due to the high volume of applications, you may experience delays in accessing the firearms application portal.


Effective July 1, 2021 the lifetime license to carry a handgun (LTCH) will become fee exempt, per IC 35-47-2-4.

Effective July 1, 2020 the five-year license to carry a handgun (LTCH) will become fee exempt, per IC 35-47-2-4. The five year and lifetime LTCH may be applied for and held concurrently.

The five-year and lifetime LTCH will NOT qualify as an alternative to the NICS background check requirement. The language is in place in the statute to create the groundwork needed for the NICS exemption however the NICS check is governed Federally. Only the ATF can certify the five-year LTCH to qualify as an alternative to the NICS requirements. Currently there is no additional information on if or when the Indiana five-year LTCH may become an alternative to the NICS background check. 


ATTENTION: If you are experiencing trouble scheduling a fingerprint appointment for your firearms permit or have a complaint about the firearms permit fingerprint process please call the Indiana Department of Administration at 1-877-472-6917


There is no Indiana statute that prohibits carrying a firearm while wearing a mask.


Effective July 1, 2020 the five year license to carry a handgun (LTCH) will become fee exempt, per IC 35-47-2-4. The five year and lifetime LTCH may be applied for and held concurrently.

The five year LTCH will NOT qualify as an alternative to the NICS background check requirement.  The language is in place in the statute to create the groundwork needed for the NICS exemption however the NICS check is governed Federally. Only the ATF can certify the five year LTCH  to qualify as an alternative to the NICS requirements. Currently there is no additional information on if or when the Indiana five year LTCH may become an alternative to the NICS background check.


Beginning July 1, 2017 the following policy will be in effect:

A Current Police Officer or Retired Police Officer as defined by Indiana Code 35-47-2-4, that has a minimum of 20 years of service or that has been medically retired by a recognized pension board, will be eligible for an Indiana Handgun License, fee exempt.

Police Officer is defined by state statute as (1) Police Officers (2) Sheriffs or their Deputies (3) Law Enforcement Officers (4) Correctional Officers. (Military Police does not apply)

To apply, click on the link to visit our "Apply for a New License to Carry" page.


The Indiana State Police Firearms Licensing Unit does not accept fingerprint cards directly at our offices. If a fingerprint card is received by mail, it will be returned to the applicant.

Applicants must schedule a fingerprint appointment with IDEMIA online. Click one of the links below to either obtain or renew an Indiana Handgun License. Canadian applicants must contact IDEMIA at +1 (877) 472-6917 for instruction on how to register for an out-of-state records check.


Effective January 1, 2017, The Indiana State Police Firearms Licensing Unit will no longer accept payment for firearms license applications, duplicate license requests or manual inked fingerprint cards by mail. If a payment or fingerprint card is received by mail, it will be returned to the applicant.

Application payments must be made electronically through the Firearms License Application Portal. Please contact your Local Law Enforcement Agency for special circumstances.


The Indiana State Police Department is no longer accepting manual name change forms, manual address change forms or manual duplicate license request forms. All changes must be completed online through the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal. Click the appropriate link below to begin your online process.

Learn about ...
New License to CarryIf you want to carry a handgun in Indiana, and do not have a current Indiana License to Carry a Handgun, click here to learn about the process to apply for a new license to carry.
Renew License to CarryIf you have a current Indiana License to Carry a Handgun that is expiring, or has already expired, and you need to renew that license, click here to learn about the process to renew your handgun license.
Duplicate License to CarryIf you need to obtain a duplicate Indiana License to Carry a Handgun, either because your current license is lost or destroyed, or because you want to obtain the new hard plastic license card, click here to learn about the process to obtain a duplicate handgun license.
Change Name / AddressIf you need to change the name or address associated with your current Indiana License to Carry a Handgun, click here to learn about the process to update your handgun license name or address.
Firearms Dealer LicenseIf you want to buy and sell handguns on a regular and continuing basis in Indiana, either singly or in small quantities, click here to learn about the process to renew or apply for a new handgun dealer's license.
Check Application StatusIf you have submitted an application for a new, renewal, or duplicate Indiana Handgun License, or have submitted a change of address for an Indiana Handgun License, click here to learn how to check the status of your application.

Do you have a question that is not answered on one of the pages above?

Get more information ...

 Top FAQs