
The aftermath of another school shooting- Indiana lawmakers to     

review juvenile waiver laws  

A teacher and a student were injured in a shooting May 25 at Noblesville West Middle School, in Hamil-

ton County. The suspect is a 13 year old boy, also a middle school student. Reporters seemed shocked 

and the prosecuting attorney expressed frustration, that because the victims survived, the 13 year old can-

not be charged as an adult.    Now, Indiana lawmakers have vowed to review our state’s waiver laws.  

https://www.indystar.com/story/news/2018/06/06/noblesville-school-shooting-prompts-lawmakers-review-

juvenile-laws/677660002/ 

Juvenile public defenders need to have a voice in this review. Some important talking points:  

 The state comparison data is tricky because most states have multiple laws addressing when juveniles 

can be tried as adults.  It is accurate to say that the majority of states (at least 27 states) have a mini-

mum age at which a juvenile can be waived/transferred to adult court. The lowest of those that do 

have minimum ages is 10, but only 2 states set the bar that low. Most set it older than Indiana’s mini-

mum age of 12.  

 The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention publishes a Statistical Briefing Book. The 

last update was 2016 and answers some comparison questions about state waiver/transfer laws.                    

https://www.ojjdp.gov/ojstatbb/structure_process/faqs.asp#4    The data isn’t completely accurate - the 

OJJDP chart includes Indiana as one of 24 states that have at least one mechanism for trying juve-

niles as adults without a minimum age restriction. As was highlighted in this recent case, Indiana’s 

minimum age restriction is 12 in the case of a murder charge and 14 or 16 depending on the circum-

stances and charges. https://www.ojjdp.gov/ojstatbb/structure_process/qa04105.asp?qaDate=2016  

 Reliable data and state comparisons can be found in DOJ’s September 2011 report of the Juvenile 

Offenders and Victims National Report Series. “Trying Juveniles as Adults: An Analysis of State 

Transfer Laws and Reporting”  https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/232434.pdf    (This report was 

done back when Indiana’s waiver law for murder set the  minimum age at 10)  

 Some important considerations if lawmakers review our waiver/transfer laws are that public safety is 

not served by putting more kids in the adult criminal system. Campaign for Youth Justice has a re-

cent report that addresses the importance of keeping youth in the juvenile system, including the pub-

lic safety benefits. “Youth Transfer: The Importance of Individualized Transfer Review” was issued 

March 2018) https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/232434.pdf    

  June 18, 2018 

https://www.indystar.com/story/news/2018/06/06/noblesville-school-shooting-prompts-lawmakers-review-juvenile-laws/677660002/
https://www.indystar.com/story/news/2018/06/06/noblesville-school-shooting-prompts-lawmakers-review-juvenile-laws/677660002/
https://www.ojjdp.gov/ojstatbb/structure_process/faqs.asp#4
https://www.ojjdp.gov/ojstatbb/structure_process/qa04105.asp?qaDate=2016
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/232434.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/232434.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/232434.pdf
https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/232434.pdf


Case Law Update             

2 Not for Pub* JD Decisions 

G.K. v. State,   49A02-1711-JV-2540  
https://www.in.gov/judiciary/opinions/pdf/05301801tac.pdf  

5/30/18 (Ind. Ct. App) (Memorandum Dec.)  

REVERSED   

 G.K. was alleged delinquent on 3 counts: Count 1, level 6 felony receiving stolen auto parts; Count 2, level 6 felony  

theft by knowingly or intentionally exerting unauthorized control over vehicle safety seats; and Count 3, class A  

misdemeanor criminal trespass by knowingly or intentionally interfering with the possession or use of the  car owner’s 

property without his consent.  Following his fact-finding hearing, the juvenile court entered a true    finding on Count 3 

and a “not true” finding on Counts 1 and 2.  Later, the court entered an order setting the case for a hearing to “clarify 

the court’s order on true findings of Counts 1 and 2.”  At the hearing, the Magistrate said he had made a mistake in 

omitting true findings on Counts 1 and 2 and proceeded to enter true findings on those Counts.  

 

G.K. appealed arguing the true findings on Counts 1 and 2 violated the federal and State protections against double 

jeopardy as he had already been found not true on the same counts.  The Court of Appeals agreed, relying on Evans v. 
Michigan, 568 U.S. 313, 318 (2013) to hold the double jeopardy protections bar retrial, or in this case true findings, 

following acquittal, even if the acquittal is made in error.   True findings on Counts 1 and 2 ordered vacated and case 

remanded for new disposition hearing.    

 

 

D.H. v. State, 36A01-1708-JV-2033 

https://www.in.gov/judiciary/opinions/pdf/06121802rrp.pdf 

 6/12/18 (Ind. Ct. App.) (Memorandum Dec.) 

AFFIRMED 

D.H. was adjudicated delinquent for committing three acts that would be Level 4 felony child molesting if committed 

by an adult.  The allegations were that, when he was 11 and again when he was 13, he “inappropriately touched” his 

sister who is 3 years younger.   

 

On appeal, D.H. argued the juvenile court lacked jurisdiction where the court failed to make a preliminary inquiry into 

the case before filing a delinquency petition as required by Ind. Code 31-37-8-1(c).  The Court of Appeals, relying on 

Collins v. State, 540 N.E.2d 85, 87 (Ind. Ct. App. 1989), trans. Denied, held “because D.H. was alleged to be a delin-

quent child based upon an act that would constitute a serious crime if committed by an adult, no further inquiry in   

addition to that contained in the  probable cause affidavit was necessary.” 

 

D.H. also argued there was insufficient evidence that he had the intent to arouse or satisfy his sexual desires. “Rather, 

according to D.H., ‘Indiana should not make children into criminals for peer exploration.’ (D.H.’s Br. at 16).”  Slip 

Op., p. 6.  The Court of Appeals noted that the fact that one child touched another child’s genitals would not be      

sufficient to prove the required intent to satisfy sexual desires, but, applying the circumstances found to be relevant in 

the much different case of In T.G. v. State, 3 N.E.3d 19, 24 (Ind. Ct. App. 2014), trans. Denied, found the evidence 

was sufficient as the presence of other circumstances indicated D.H.’s intent to arouse or satisfy his sexual desires. 

 

The Court of Appeals also reiterated the position that a child under the age of 14 could be adjudicated delinquent for 

child molesting, stating, “This Court has previously pointed out that the child molestation statute does not contain a 

minimum age for the perpetrator of the offense. In State v. J.D., 701 N.E.2d 908, 910 (Ind. Ct. App. 1998), trans.    

denied, we concluded the ‘Legislature intended that the child molesting would apply to offenders regardless of their age 

and would even apply to offenders who f[e]ll within the protected age group set forth in the statute.’” 

 
 

*  Ind. App. R. 65(D).     Precedential Value of Memorandum Decision. Unless later designated for publication in the official re-

porter, a memorandum decision shall not be regarded as precedent and shall not be cited to any court except by the parties to the 

case to establish res judicata, collateral estoppel, or law of the case. 

https://www.in.gov/judiciary/opinions/pdf/05301801tac.pdf
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CHINS and DCS News 

 

 

 

Court of Appeals reverses CHINS where DCS failed to prove the children were 

seriously endangered by mother’s actions or inactions.   

A.M. v. Indiana Dept. of Child Services, 45A04-1711-JC-2634 https://www.in.gov/judiciary/opinions/

pdf/05311801ewn.pdf  5/31/2018, (Ind.Ct.App.) 

REVERSED  DCS has the burden of proving, not just the acts – here a one-time domestic violence, positive drug 

screens, messy house that had been corrected – but must prove that the children were seriously endangered by the 

parent’s actions or inactions.   

DCS filed petitions alleging that the children were CHINS due to the incident of domestic violence, the conditions of 

B.V.’s house, Mother’s unstable housing, Mother’s refusal to take a drug test (the FCM testified Mother was a “chronic 

user” of marijuana), and the presence of drugs (marijuana plants) in father’s house. Mother argued on appeal that the 

trial court erred in adjudicating the children to be CHINS because there was insufficient evidence that her children were 

seriously endangered by her actions or inactions.  The Court of Appeals agreed and tossed out a great quote:  

We must conclude that evidence of one parent’s use of marijuana and evidence that marijuana has been 

found in the family home, without more, does not demonstrate that a child has been seriously endan-

gered for purposes of Indiana Code Section 31-34-1-1. Indeed, DCS did not present any evidence that 

either Mother’s drug use or the presence of marijuana in the home have seriously endangered the Chil-

dren. 

 

And the Court held where Mother and the children had moved away from Father at the time of the CHINS, and   

Mother filed for a protective Order against Father, “DCS has not presented sufficient evidence to show that the single 

incident of domestic violence seriously endangered the Children.” 

 

 

https://www.in.gov/judiciary/opinions/pdf/05311801ewn.pdf
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DCS report released, agency to receive     

  $25 million to address findings 

On June 18
th
, the Child Welfare Policy and Practice Group released the results of their review 

of DCS along with recommendations. The full report can be found online at:  https://www.in.gov/dcs/3924.htm 

At the same time, Gov. Holcomb announced $25 million from the state’s surplus would be transferred to the agency to 

address some of the problems identified – in particular, the additional funds will be used to increase staff and salaries of 

the “boots on the ground” in an effort to improve morale and prevent the high turnover rate of case managers, supervisors 

and attorneys.  

The report gives a frank assessment of existing problems, including our extraordinarily high rate of removing children.  

Key findings include that Indiana’s rate of children in out-of-home care was over twice the national average.  During the 

same time period (2005-2017), Ohio, Michigan and Illinois all experienced decreases in the number of children in out-of-

home care.  And Indiana’s rate of referral to child protection was the 3rd highest in the United States. Of the referrals it 

received, Indiana completes a substantially greater number of assessments or investigations than do most states. 

While DCS’s practice model was identified as a strength, several DCS policies were found to be problematic. For example, 

it was noted that policy seems to encourage removal for “exigent circumstances” over consideration of other options that 

might protect the child while avoiding the trauma associated with his or her placement outside of the family.    

A couple of notable recommendations are:  

DCS should reclaim the family-centered practice model that it adopted shortly after its formation. This will 

require: (1) a return to valuing and consistently soliciting and using the input of families and their support 

systems both in ongoing casework and in regular child and family team meetings; (2) learning to recognize 

and mobilize family protective 

factors that can help promote child safety even when some safety threats exits; (3) achieving an understand-

ing of the harmful effects of child removal and disrupted attachment for children as a counterbalance in 

considering whether removal is the safest course of action to address safety threats; and (4) increasing both 

the number and skill level of peer practice coaches available to staff. 

 

And 

 

Indiana should re-examine its broad definitions of neglect and the term “custodian” against those of neigh-

boring states and other states that more narrowly define these terms, either to: (1) exclude neglect which is 

based solely on poverty or limited, onetime lapses in parental judgment; (2) limit the definition of custodian 

to one who is assigned consistent caregiving responsibility (e.g., a day care provider) by the child’s legal par-

ent; (3) redefine sexual abuse assessments under the purview of DCS as those in which a caregiver is the 

alleged perpetrator; and (4) require that the statutory elements of a report be met for DCS to initiate an as-

sessment regardless of the ages of the children involved. 

https://www.in.gov/dcs/3924.htm


JTIP trainers Jill Johnson and Rachel Roman-Lagunas presenting “To Plea or 

Not to Plea” in Vigo County on June 15th. 

Still time and spots left to register for this Friday’s IPDC Juvenile Defense Project’s FREE regional juvenile de-

fender training.  The topic is “To Plea or Not to Plea.”  

The training is open to all public defenders handle delinquency cases whether at trial level or on appeal and 

whether you represent kids full time, part time, or when needed.  The training has been approved for 3 CLE 

hours, including one hour of ethics.  To provide the best training experience, space is limited.   Please use the 

registration links below to sign up, and please share with other attorneys handling juvenile delinquency cases.   

 

Juvenile Training Immersion Program  ‘To Plea or Not to Plea’  

This 3 hour interactive CLE includes 1 hour of ethics credit.  The training will explore ethical considerations re-

garding the defender’s obligations to provide effective assistance of counsel during the plea negotiation 

stage.  Defenders will develop skills and strategies for communicating and negotiating with other stakeholders in 

the juvenile justice system with the goal of achieving the client’s stated outcome.  Defenders will review the ad-

vantages and disadvantages of pleas, including long term collateral consequences.  And defenders will explore 

ways to counsel youth clients regarding plea considerations that take into account and overcome developmental 

barriers that may exist.    

Presenters: Jill Johnson and Rachel Roman-Lagunas  

3 hours CLE credit (includes 1 hour of ethics)    Cost: Free to public defenders handling juvenile delinquency 

cases 

June 22nd         Lake County       Welcome and lunch 11:30 a.m. (CST)  

Training 12:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.  (CST)  

Lake County Juvenile Justice Complex 

3000 W. 93rd Ave 

Crown Point, IN 46307 

Register at: https://goo.gl/forms/kmjzGro33qNezgls2 

 

For more information, please contact 

Amy Karozos, IPDC Juvenile Defense Project Director 

Ofc: (317) 232-0106    E-mail: akarozos@pdc.in.gov 
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