- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana Protection & Advocacy Services

IPAS > QMRP-D Training > How do you qualify as a QMRP? How do you qualify as a QMRP?

A QMRP is a Qualified Mental Retardation Professional. There are many ways to qualify as a QMRP, all of which require specialized training and relevant experience. Unlike a QMRP-D, there is no one class that one may take to qualify.

Note there are two definitions: one in the Federal Regulations for ICF-MR facilities, and the State's version for health facilities.

The Indiana Health Facilities definition is:

(410 IAC 16.2-1-32 "Qualified mental retardation professional" defined Authority: IC 16-28-1-7; IC 16-28-1-12 Affected: IC 16-28; IC 25-22.5-5; IC 25-23-1-11; IC 25-27; IC 25-35.6-3)

Sec. 32. "Qualified mental retardation professional (QMRP)" means a person who has specialized training or one (1) year of experience in treating the mentally retarded, and is one (1) of the following:

(1) A psychologist with a master's degree from an accredited program.

(2) A licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathy.

(3) An educator with a degree in education from an accredited program.

(4) A social worker with a bachelor's or master's degree in social work from an accredited program or a bachelor's or master's degree in a field other than social work and at least three (3) years of social work experience under the supervision of a qualified social worker.

(5) An occupational therapist who:

  1. is a graduate of an occupational therapy curriculum accredited jointly by the council on medical education of the American Medical Association and the American Occupational Therapy Association;
  2. is eligible for certification by the American Occupational Therapy Association under its requirements in effect on September 29, 1978; or
  3. has two (2) years of appropriate experience as an occupational therapist and has achieved a satisfactory grade on the approved proficiency examination, except that such determinations of proficiency shall not apply with respect to persons initially licensed by the state or seeking initial qualifications as an occupational therapist after December 31, 1977.

(6) A speech pathologist or audiologist licensed pursuant to IC 25-35.6-3.

(7) A registered nurse licensed pursuant to IC 25-23-1-11.

(8) A therapeutic recreation specialist who is a graduate of an accredited program.

(9) A rehabilitative counselor who is certified by the Committee of Rehabilitation Counselor Certification.

(10) A physical therapist who is licensed pursuant to IC 25-27.