

INDIANA PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS COUNCIL

302 W. Washington Street, Room E-205 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2767 www.in.gov/ipac

Phone: (317) 232-1836 Fax: (317) 233-3599

OFFICERS

CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD

Dustin Houchin 806 Martinsburg Rd., Ste. 202 Salem, IN 47167 (812) 883-6560

VICE-CHAIRMAN

William C. Hartley, Jr. 93 W. Hill Street Wabash, IN 46992 (260) 563-3982

SECRETARY/TREASURER

Daniel S. Murrie 200 E. Walnut St., Suite B-03 Washington, IN 47501 (812) 254-8673

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Jeffrey L. Arnold 100 W. Main Street Muncie, IN 47305 (765) 747-7801

Bruce D. Aukerman 255 S. Main Street P.O. Box 249 Newport, IN 47966-0249 (765) 492-5370

Terry R. Curry 251 E. Ohio St., Ste. 160 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2175 (317) 327-3522

Kenneth P. Cotter 227 W. Jefferson Blvd., Ste. 1000 South Bend, IN 46601-1870 (574) 235-9544

Christopher G. Gaal 301 N. College Ave., Rm. 211 Bloomington, IN 47404-3865 (812) 349-2670

> Lisa L. Swaim 200 Court Park Logansport, IN 46947 (574) 753-7790

Anthony D. Quinn 602 Main Street Jasper, IN 47546 (812) 482-5725

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

David N. Powell

Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Honor Retiring Clark County Prosecutor

INDIANAPOLIS (January 6, 2015) – Steven D. Stewart, retiring prosecutor of Clark County, was recipient of the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council's (IPAC) first Stephen J. Johnson Award. Stephen Johnson was executive director of IPAC from 1997 to 2011 and prior to that served as IPAC research director for nearly 25 years. The award in his name recognizes an individual – including former and current prosecuting attorneys – for outstanding service and contribution on behalf of prosecuting attorneys and law enforcement in the state of Indiana. The Johnson Award is the highest honor the IPAC can bestow.

Steven Stewart was first appointed Clark County Prosecuting Attorney in 1989 by Governor Evan Bayh and was elected to that office for six terms. In 1996 he was elected by Indiana prosecutors as chairman of the board of the IPAC. He served on the board of directors continuously from 1990 through 2014. In Clark County, Stewart created one of the first victim assistance programs in Indiana and joined with the Indiana Attorney General to pass the Victim Rights Amendment to the Indiana Constitution. He also was a leader among Indiana prosecutors in fighting sexual, emotional and physical abuse of the elderly and was appointed in 2004 to the newly created Indiana State Child Protection Task Force. He championed legislation over the years to assist crime victims and served on the Criminal Law Study Commission that reviews proposed legislation in the area of criminal law and makes specific recommendations to the Indiana General Assembly.

"I have the best job a lawyer can have," said Stewart upon receiving the honor. "Every day I get to walk into court wearing a white hat and fight on behalf of crime victims to fight for justice. There can be no better job than that."

Offering remarks at the ceremony honoring Stewart was former Vanderburgh Prosecuting Attorney Stan Levco and Indiana State Police Superintendent Doug Carter. Also speaking was Michael Moore, president of the National District Attorneys Association and Beadle County South Dakota State's Attorney.

Stewart chose not to seek re-election in 2014 and is succeeded by his former chief deputy Jeremy Mull.

- End -

About the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council: The IPAC is a non-partisan, independent state judicial branch that supports Indiana's 91 prosecuting attorneys and their chief deputies. It is governed by a 10-member board of directors of elected prosecuting attorneys. The IPAC assists prosecuting attorneys in the preparation of manuals, legal research and training seminars. It serves as a liaison to local, state, and federal agencies, study commissions, and community groups in an effort to support law enforcement and promote the fair administration of justice.

Media contact: Connie Smith, Public Affairs Officer, 317-233-3923, cosmith1@ipac.in.gov