
 

TITLE 68 INDIANA GAMING COMMISSION 
 
 

Proposed Rule1 
 

LSA DOCUMENT # 24- 
 

DIGEST 
 
Adds 68 IAC 28 regarding fines. Statutory authority:  IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4.  

68 IAC 28 

 SECTION 1. 68 IAC 28 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS 

ARTICLE 28 FINE SCHEDULE 

 Rule 1. General Provisions 
 
68 IAC 28-1-1 Investigation Costs 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 1. Pursuant to IC 4-33-4-18, costs incurred conducting investigations shall be billed at a 
rate of sixty-five $65.00 dollars per investigation hour. 
 (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-1) 

 
68 IAC 27-1-2 Civil Penalty Schedule Established 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 2. The purpose of this article is to establish a civil penalty schedule for violations of IC 
4-33, 4-35 and 4-38, 68 IAC or a licensee’s internal controls as approved by the commission. 
 (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-2) 

 
68 IAC 28-1-3 Authority 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 3.  The commission is authorized to assess civil penalties in accordance with IC 4-33-4-8, 
IC 4-35-4-10 and IC 4-38-1-4. 

  (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-3) 
 
68 IAC 28-1-4 Definitions 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 4. The following definitions apply throughout this article: 
(1) “Base violation” means the first violation of a rule, regulation, or internal control in a 
rolling six-month period.   
(2) “Repeat violation” means a reoccurrence of the base violation or violations in a rolling 
six-month period. 

 
1 DRAFT Rule posted in compliance with IC 4-22-2-19.6(f).  DRAFT Rule subject to change pursuant to promulgation 

process outlined under IC art. 4-22.   
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(3) “Rolling six-month period” means the one-hundred and eighty (180) days following the 
date of a violation of IC 4-33, 4-35 and 4-38, 68 IAC or a licensee’s internal controls occurred.   
(4) “Schedule” means the civil penalty schedule, as required by  IC 4-22-2-19.6. 
 (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-4) 

 
Rule 2.  Civil Penalty Schedule and Application 
 
68 IAC 28-2-1 Civil Penalty Schedule 

Sec. 1. The schedule of civil penalties for violations of IC 4-33, 4-35 and 4-38, rules adopted 
under these laws and a licensee’s internal controls as approved by the Commission under 68 
IAC 11 are as follows: 

 

Legal Citation General Description of 
Violation 

Base violation Repeat violations in a 
rolling six-month 

period 
Violations of the child support arrears delinquency program (CSADR) 

IC 4-33-8.5-5; IC 4-35-
6.5-13; IC 4-38-11-1; 
68 IAC 11-9-2; IC 4-
33-4-27; IC 4-35-4-16 

CSADR: Failure to 
Search. 

If the failure to search 
error rate exceeds 1.5% 
of the total searches 
required, it will be a 
$500 fine for each 
violation 

If the failure to search 
error rate exceeds 2% 
of the total searches 
required, it will be a 
$1,000 fine for each 
violation 

IC 4-33-8.5-5; IC 4-35-
6.5-13; IC 4-38-11-1; 
68 IAC 11-9-2; IC 4-
35-4; IC 4-33-4-27; IC 
4-35-4-16 

Paying out jackpot to 
child support obligor 
without required 
withholding 

$5,000 $5,000  

Violation Involving a Minor 
IC 4-33-9-12 and 13; 
IC 4-35-7-2; IC 4-38-9-
3; IC 4-38-5-3; 68 IAC 
1-11-1 

Failure to restrict 
minors from the 
gaming floor 

$1,500  2nd violation: $3,000; 
3rd violation: $4,500; 
4th violation (and all 
subsequent violations):  
$6,000 

IC 4-38-3-2; IC 4-38-5-
11 

Failure to restrict 
minors from placing a 
sports wager  

$1,500  2nd violation: $3,000; 
3rd violation: $4,500; 
4th violation (and all 
subsequent violations):  
$6,000 

Violation of Commission Entity and Occupational Licensing Standards 
68 IAC 2-3-1 Failure to license power 

of attorney.  Working 
outside of approved 
licensing level 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 2-3-1; 68 IAC 
2-2-1, 68 IAC 2-2-6.1, 
68 IAC 2-2-4; 68 IAC 
27-2-16 

Failure to timely submit 
level 1 license 
application 

If the required 
application is 30-90 
days late, $1,500; If the 
required application is 
90-180 days late, 
$3,000.  

If the required 
application is 30-90 
days late, $1,500; If the 
required application is 
90-180 days late, 
$3,000.  



 

180-270 days late, 
$4,500. Exceeds 270 
days late, $6,000  

180-270 days late, 
$4,500. Exceeds 270 
days late, $6,000 

68 IAC 2-3, 68 IAC 2-
3-9, 68 IAC 13-1-1, 68 
IAC 27-2-16 

Failure to obtain 
required fingerprint 
cards for occupational 
licensee 

$100 $100  

68 IAC 2-3-9 Failure to provide the 
commission with 
required updates that 
have been submitted by 
an occupational 
licensee or failure to 
cooperate with 
commission 
investigation 

$1,500 $1,500 

68 IAC 2-3-9.1 Failure to update 
required information of 
occupational licensee 

Letter for first ten (10) 
violations. 

If total violations 
exceed ten (10) 
particular instances in a 
rolling six (6) month 
period, $100 for each 
additional violation 

68 IAC 2-3-9.2 Failure to Notify of 
Separation from 
Employment and 
Position Changes 

Disciplinary letter $500  

68 IAC 2-3-9.3 – 9.6. Prohibited activities by 
occupational licensee 

$1,500  $1,500 

68 IAC 3.1 Violation of rules 
governing additional 
requirements for 
licensees 

$10,000 $10,000 

IC 4-33-8-2; IC 4-33-6-
12; 68 IAC 2-3-8; IC 4-
33-14-15; IC 4-35-5-4; 
IC 4-38-6-6; IC 4-38-8-
1; IC 4-35-4-15 (Power 
of Attorney); IC 4-33-
4-26 (Power of 
Attorney) 

Late occupational 
licensing renewals (30 
or more days late); 
 
Employee working on 
expired license  

$1,000 for each 
violation that includes a 
level 2 or level 3 
occupational licensee. 
 
$2,000 if the violation 
involved a Level 1 
occupational licensee. 

$1,000 for each 
violation that includes a 
level 2 or level 3 
occupational licensee. 
 
$2,000 if the violation 
involved a Level 1 
occupational licensee. 

IC 4-33-6-12; IC 4-35-
5-4 

Failure to timely renew 
casino license 

$10,000 $10,000 

IC 4-33-7-8 Failure to timely renew 
supplier license 

$7,500 $7,500 

IC 4-38-6-6; IC 4-38-8-
1; 68 IAC 27-2-8 

Failure to timely renew 
certificate of authority, 
vendor license or pay 
annual administrative 
fee 

$10,000 $10,000 



 

IC 4-33-6-12; IC 4-33-
6.5-7; IC 4-33-7-8; 68 
IAC 27-2-8 

Failure to submit 
required three (3) year 
reinvestigation 
application 

$5,000  

IC 4-38-9-5 Failure to Cooperate 
with Licensing 
Investigation 

$5,000 $5,000 

Violation of Casino Operational Standards 
68 IAC 1-12, 68 IAC 1-
12.5, 68 IAC 2-6-43, 68 
IAC 2-6-44, 68 IAC 2-
6-45, 68 IAC 10-1-6.1 

Violation of 
complimentary play, 
promotional events, 
electronic gaming 
device and live gaming 
device tournaments 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 1-16-1 Failure to submit 
required filings under 
31 U.S.C. 5311 

$5,000 $5,000 

68 IAC 1-16-1 Failure to withhold 
taxes on a table game  

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 2-6-2; 68 IAC 
2-6-3 

Failure to obtain 
certification or 
commission approval 
of electronic gaming 
device 

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 2-6-31 – 68 
IAC 2-6-42 

Violation of 
progressive electronic 
gaming device rules 

$5,000 per progressive 
award violation 
instance, regardless of 
how many total 
machines are impacted 
by the violation 

$5,000 per progressive 
award violation 
instance, regardless of 
how many total 
machines are impacted 
by the violation 

68 IAC 2-6 Any other violation of 
electronic gaming 
device rules not 
specified within this 
schedule 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 2-6.5 Violation of server 
based gaming 
regulations 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 3  Violation of standards 
governing contracts: 
Minority and Women’s 
Business Enterprises 

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 3-3-8 Failure to attain 
Minority and Women’s 
Business Enterprises 
goals 

Civil penalty shall be 
equal to the expenditure 
amount that the 
licensee failed to spend 
on a minority business 
or women business.  
However, this provision 
is subject to the good 

 



 

faith standard outlined 
under 68 IAC 3-3-10 
and the amount shall 
not exceed the 
maximum statutory fine 
outlined under IC 4-38-
4-8 or IC 4-35-4-10 

68 IAC 8 Failure to follow 
approved emergency 
response plan 
procedures during an 
incident that constitutes 
an emergency under the 
licensee’s approved 
emergency response 
plan 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 8 Failure to report to the 
Commission an 
incident that constitutes 
an emergency pursuant 
to the licensee’s 
approved emergency 
response plan  

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 10 Violation of rules of the 
game standards 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 11-1-2, 68 IAC 
15-1-2 

Failure to safeguard 
assets 

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 11-1-2; 68 IAC 
11-1-3 

Use of unapproved 
internal control system; 
deviation from 
approved internal 
control system 

$1,500  $3,000  

68 IAC 11-3-3, 68 IAC 
12-1-2, 68 IAC 13-1-1 

Violation of internal 
controls outlining 
access to the following 
sensitive areas: cage, 
table games pit area, 
count room, and 
surveillance room 

$1,500 2nd violation: $3,000; 
3rd violation: $4,500; 
4th violation (and all 
subsequent violations):  
$6,000 

68 IAC 11-3, 68 IAC 2-
6-16(E) 

Violation of currency 
collection, soft count, 
drop zone and 
emergency drop 
procedures or internal 
controls 

Disciplinary letter $1,500  

68 IAC 11-4 Violations of opening 
and closing gaming 
devices procedures or 
internal controls 

Disciplinary letter If total violations 
exceed ten (10) 
particular instances in a 
rolling six (6) month 
period, $500 for each of 



 

those particular 
violations 

68 IAC 11-5 Violation of chip 
rotation standards 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 11-7 Violation of sensitive 
key control – keys off-
property 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 11-7 Violation of sensitive 
key control – unsecured 
on property 

Disciplinary letter $500  

68 IAC 11-7 Violation of sensitive 
key control – chain of 
custody, strict control 
and unauthorized use of 
non-sensitive key for a 
sensitive key 

$1,500 2nd violation: $3,000; 
3rd violation: $4,500; 
4th violation (and all 
subsequent violations):  
$6,000 

68 IAC 11-8 Violation of cash 
handling procedures 
and standards at table 
games 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 12 Violation of 
surveillance operational 
standards or internal 
controls not otherwise 
described in this 
schedule 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 12-1-1.7, 68 
IAC 12-1-2 

Failure to properly staff 
surveillance room; 
failure to limit access to 
surveillance room 

$1,500 $1,500 

68 IAC 12-1-5(f)(6)(A) 
& (B) 

Violation of required 
dedicated camera 
coverage on 
progressive electronic 
gaming devices 

$1,500 2nd violation: $3,000; 
3rd violation: $4,500; 
4th violation (and all 
subsequent violations):  
$6,000 

68 IAC 11-3-5; 68 IAC 
15-9-3; 68 IAC 15-12-
3, 4  

Failure to notify 
surveillance when 
required by 
commission rule or 
internal control 
procedure 

Disciplinary letter  $1,000  

68 IAC 14 Violation of gaming 
equipment procedures 
and standards not 
otherwise described in 
this schedule 

Disciplinary letter $1,500  

68 IAC 14-3-2 Incorrect or missing 
playing card in play 

$1,500  $1,500  



 

68 IAC 14-3-2 Unsecured playing 
cards and dice 
(uncancelled) 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 14-5.5-5 Violations of ticket-in 
ticket-out rules 

$500  $500 

68 IAC 15 Violation of accounting 
records and procedures 
rules that are not 
otherwise described 
within this schedule 

Disciplinary letter $1,500  

68 IAC 15-1-4.1 Violation of found cash 
or cash equivalent rules 

$500  $500 

68 IAC 15-2 Failure to record 
currency transaction 
reports or multiple 
transaction log 

$2,500 $2,500  

68 IAC 15-2-5 Failure to notify 
surveillance and obtain 
photo for multiple 
transaction log 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 15-5-2(d) Violation of calculation 
of taxes, including RG-
1 requirements 

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 15-6-4 Vendor log: unlicensed 
vendor performing 
work on gaming floor 
and/or licensed vendor 
working on an expired 
license 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 15-6-4 Vendor log: licensed 
vendor performing 
work on gaming floor 
on vendor badge. 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 15-6-4 Vendor log: 
incomplete/illegible 
entries. 

Disciplinary letter $100  

68 IAC 15-10-4.1 Failure to report or 
failure to investigate 
variances 

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 15-10-5 Failure to verify even 
exchange 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 15-12-3, 68 
IAC 15-12-4 

Failure to void table 
fill/credit 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 15-12-3, 68 
IAC 15-12-4 

Incorrect table 
fill/credit that is fully 
executed 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 15-13-3 Violation of manually 
paid jackpot procedures  

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 17-1-2, 68 IAC 
14-3-9, 68 IAC 14-3-10 

Shipping violations $1,500  $1,500  



 

Violation of Sports Wagering Operational Standards 
IC 4-38-3-1(8); 68 IAC 
27-11-1 

Violation of sports 
wagering geolocation 
requirements 

$5,000  $5,000  

IC  4-38-5-1 Failure to provide  
Commission data 
related to the conduct 
of sports wagering 

$5,000  $5,000  

IC 4-38-5-4; IC 4-38-5-
5; 68 IAC 27-7-3 

Allowing wagers on a 
sports wagering 
unapproved event 

Disciplinary letter – if 
the unapproved event 
was identified and 
wagers voided prior to 
event; $500 to 
Certificate Holder 
and/or Mobile 
Operator; $500 to each 
other responsible 
licensee if applicable if 
the unapproved event 
was not identified and 
wagers voided prior to 
event 

$500 to Certificate 
Holder and/or Mobile 
Operator; $500 to other 
responsible licensee, if 
applicable 

IC 4-38-5-5 Sports wagering 
allowed on e-sports 
events 

$1,000 to each 
responsible licensee.    

$1,000 to each 
responsible licensee.    

IC  4-38-5-6 Unauthorized 
cancellation of wager 

Disciplinary letter $1,500 

IC  4-38-5-8 Use of unapproved 
sports wagering device, 
platform, or other 
means of conducting 
sports wagering 

$5,000  $5,000  

IC  4-38-9-1 Failure to conduct 
required employee 
background check 

Disciplinary letter $1,500 for each 
violation 

IC  4-38-9-2 Failure to utilize 
commercially 
reasonable methods to 
maintain security of 
wagering data, 
customer data, and 
other confidential 
information from 
unauthorized access 
and dissemination 

$5,000 $5,000  

IC 4-38-9-3 Failure to restrict 
prohibited wagers 

$1,500 $1,500  

IC 4-38-9-5 Failure to cooperate 
with investigations into 

$5,000  $5,000  



 

sports wagering 
activities 

IC 4-38-9-6 Failure to report 
required information 
related to sports 
wagering activity 

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 11-1-3; 68 IAC 
27-5 

Use of unapproved 
internal controls by 
sports wagering 
operator 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 27-1-2 (16); 68 
IAC 27-12-1 

Violation on 
prohibition of proxy 
wagering 

$5,000 $5,000 

68 IAC 27-2-11 Failure to withhold 
taxes on a wager  

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 27-2-11 Failure to submit 
required filings under 
31 U.S.C. 5311 

$5,000 $5,000 

68 IAC 27-5-2 Sports Wagering 
change management 
internal controls – 
failure to notify 

Disciplinary letter for 
Level 1, $1,500 for 
Level 2 and $5,000 for 
Level 3 

$500 for each violation 
for Level 1, $1,500 for 
each violation for Level 
2 and $5,000 for each 
violation for Level 3 

68 IAC 27-7; 68 IAC 
27-12  

Violations of patron 
account and patron 
wager rules 

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 27-8-1, 68 IAC 
2-6.5-1 

Violation of sports 
wagering kiosk 
approval requirements 

$1,000  $1,000  

68 IAC 27-8-3; 68 IAC 
27-10-3 

Failure to report or 
failure to investigate 
variances 

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 27-9-2 Violation of calculation 
of taxes, including RG-
1 requirements 

$5,000  $5,000 

68 IAC 27-10 Violation of accounting 
control rules that are 
not otherwise described 
in this schedule 

$1,000 $1,000 

68 IAC 27-12-1 Sports wagering 
allowing user to create 
duplicate accounts 

$1,500 $1,500  

68 IAC 17-1-2, 68 IAC 
14-3-9, 68 IAC 14-3-10 

Shipping violations of 
regulated sports 
wagering devices 

$1,500  $1,500  

Violation of Supplier Operational Standards 
68 IAC 2-2-5.3 Failure to demonstrate 

skill, experience 
knowledge, and ability 
necessary to supply the 

$3,000  $3,000  



 

goods or services 
supplier seeks to 
provide 

68 IAC 2-3-9 Supplier occupational 
licensee failure to 
disclose 

$1,500  $1,500 

68 IAC 2-3-9.5 Supplier occupational 
licensee gaming within 
the state of Indiana 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 15-6-4 Vendor log: unlicensed 
vendor performing 
work on gaming floor 
and/or licensed vendor 
working on an expired 
license 

$1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 15-6-4 Vendor log: 
occupational licensee 
performing work on 
gaming floor on vendor 
badge. 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 15-6-4 Vendor log: 
incomplete/illegible 
entries. 

Disciplinary letter $100  

68 IAC 17-1-2, 68 IAC 
14-3-9, 68 IAC 14-3-10 

Shipping violations $1,500  $1,500  

68 IAC 19 Violation of warehouse 
rules 

$10,000 $10,000 

Violation of Responsible Gaming Standards 
68 IAC 1-16-2; 68 IAC 
27-13-1 

Violation of 
responsible gaming toll 
free number 
requirement 

$2,500 $5,000 

IC  4-33-4-7; IC 4-35-
4-9; 68 IAC 6-2 

Voluntary exclusion 
program (VEP) audit  

Disciplinary letter for 
1st Violation for VEP 
Not Flagged and for 
Missing Identifiers and 
Incorrect Information 
on Account 

$1,000 for each 
violation for VEP’s Not 
Flagged and $250 per 
violation for VEP’s 
Missing Identifiers and 
Incorrect Information 
on Account 

IC  4-33-4-7; IC 4-35-
4-9; 68 IAC 6-1 

Statewide exclusion 
audit 

Disciplinary letter $250 for each omission 

IC  4-33-4-7; IC 4-35-
4-9; 68 IAC 6-1, 68 
IAC 6-2 

VEP: cash advance, 
comps, check cashing 
privileges, extension of 
credit, direct mail and 
marketing, duplicate 
accounts, and failure to 
notify 

Disciplinary letter 2nd violation: $1,500; 
3rd violation: $3,000;  
4th violation(and all 
subsequent violations): 
$4,500 

68 IAC 6-3-4 VEP: jackpot payouts $5,000  $5,000  



 

IC 4-33-4-3, 68 IAC 6-
3-3, 68 IAC 6-3-4 
 

VEP: disclosure of 
confidentiality 

$10,000 per breach 
instance, regardless of 
the number of total 
disclosures 

$10,000 per breach 
instance, regardless of 
the number of total 
disclosures 

68 IAC 27-7-11, IC 4-
38-5-6; IC 4-38-3-1 

Sports wagering 
prohibited participant: 
failure to cancel and 
refund VEP wagers 

Disciplinary letter 2nd violation:  $1,500;  
3rd violation:  $3,000;  
4th violation(and all 
subsequent violations):  
$4,500 

68 IAC 27-1-2, 68 IAC 
27-13-2, 68 IAC 27-14-
2(c), 68 IAC 6-3-4 

Sports wagering 
prohibited participant 
allowed to place wagers 

$5,000  $5,000  

68 IAC 27-13-2; 68 
IAC 27-1-2(16); IC 4-
38-3-1 

Sports wagering 
prohibited participant 
audit: Internet self-
restriction program 

$1,000 for each 
omission; $500 for each 
data discrepancy 

$1,000 for each 
omission; $500 for each 
data discrepancy 
 

68 IAC 27-1-2(16); 68 
IAC 6-3; IC 4-38-3-1 

Sports wagering 
prohibited participant 
audit: VEP 

$1,000 for each 
omission; $500 for each 
data discrepancy 

$1,000 for each 
omission; $500 for each 
data discrepancy 
 

68 IAC 27-1-2(16); IC 
4-38-3-1 

Sports wagering 
prohibited participant 
audit: statewide 
exclusion list 

$250 for each omission; 
Disciplinary letter for 
each data discrepancy 
1st Audit: 25% of total 
penalty 

$250 for each omission; 
Disciplinary letter for 
each data discrepancy 
 

68 IAC 27-13-4 Sports wagering 
prohibited participant: 
received marketing 

Disciplinary letter $1,000  

68 IAC 27-12-3; 68 
IAC 27-13-5 

Violation of rules 
regarding patron wager 
limits and operator 
exclusion 

$1,500 $1,500 

68 IAC 27-7-17 Violation of 
commission advertising 
standards 

$5,000  $5,000  

Failure to Report Required Events 
68 IAC 1-5-1; 68 IAC 
27-4-2 

Failure to report 
required information 

$1,500  $1,500 

68 IAC 5; 68 IAC 1-13-
1 

Violation of transfer of 
ownership, debt 
acquisition, or failure to 
report interest in a 
license 

$10,000  $10,000  

 
  (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-1) 
 
68 IAC 28-2-2 Assessment of Civil Penalty 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 



 

Sec. 2. For purposes of assessing civil penalties, the commission shall comply with the 
following when determining the violation number and the count of violations: 
(1) Only subsequent violations committed within six months from the date of the base 
violation shall be considered for determining whether subsequent violations have occurred. 
(2) The ordinal number of a violation shall accumulate as first, second, third, etc., for each 
independent violation assessed during a rolling six-month period. 
(3) When substantially similar violations are committed by a single, distinguishable act or 
failure to act, only one (1) of those violations may be subject to a civil penalty for that act. 
This subdivision is intended to avoid duplicating civil penalty assessment for violation of 
multiple provisions of the statute or rule that may be substantially similar or closely related. 
This subdivision is not intended to limit in any way civil penalty assessment for violations that 
are the result of more than one (1) distinguishable unrelated act or failure to act or a 
reoccurring violation. 
(4) When civil penalty assessment procedures outlined in subdivision (3) are being followed, 
the commission shall utilize the appropriate violation with the highest penalty listed on the 
schedule. 
 (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-2) 

 
68 IAC 28-2-3 Penalty Mitigation. 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 3. The amount of a civil penalty may be adjusted downward to reflect particular 
mitigating factors. Factors that may be considered are the following: 
(1) The licensee’s good faith efforts to comply or prevent the violation. 
(2) Existence of written policies governing occupational licensee conduct. 
(3) Cooperation by the licensee with the commission during the investigation process. 
(4) The licensee's history of compliance. 
(5) Remedial or corrective action taken by the licensee. 
(6) The licensee self-reporting the violation; however, reports of a violation identified and 
reported by a surveillance pursuant to 68 IAC 12-1-8(5)(H) shall not be considered self-
reported for purposes of this Section. 
(7) Any other factor raised by the licensee for commission consideration as a mitigating to the 
violation.    

  (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-3) 
 
68 IAC 28-2-4 Penalty Elevation 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 4. (a) The amount of a civil penalty may be adjusted upward to reflect the following 
aggravating factors.  
(1) Willful or intentional misconduct.   
(2) The violation involved the failure of more than one occupational licensee to comply with 
the law or rule or identify and prevent the violation of the law or rule from occurring.   
(3) Repeat offense of a violation assessed at any of the commission’s preceding two (2) 
quarterly business meetings.  Violation of schedule items that already assign a corresponding 
increase to each subsequent violation shall not be subject to this subsection.   
(4) Obstruction or failure to comply with the commission’s investigation.   
(5) Fraudulent conduct. 
(6) Whether the violation resulted in financial harm.  
(7) Failure to pay the full amount of any previously mitigated, agreed upon civil penalty.  



 

(8) Whether the violation negatively impacts the integrity or public trust of gaming in the 
state of Indiana.   

 
(b) Should an aggravating factor be identified, the corresponding civil penalty may be 
increased by any amount, up to and including five (5) times the schedule amount for each 
violation.  However, the amount assessed shall not exceed the amounts outlined under IC 4-
33-4-8 and IC 4-35-4-10. 
 
(c) The commission shall outline applicable aggravating factors in the notice described in 
Section 6 of this rule. 
 (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-4) 

 
68 IAC 28-2-5 Assessment of Civil Penalty Not Required 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 
Sec. 5. (a) Nothing in this article shall require the commission to assess a civil penalty for a 
violation. 
 
(b) The commission may initiate any of the following enforcement actions for a violation 
instead of or in addition to a civil penalty: 
(1) A disciplinary letter. 
(2) A license: 

(A) denial; 
(B) restriction; 
(C) suspension;  
(D) refusal to renew; or 
(E) revocation. 

(4) Referral for criminal prosecution. 
(5) Referral to another appropriate agency. 
(6) Corrective action plan.   

  (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-5) 
 
68 IAC 28-2-6 Notification of Legal Recourse 

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4 
 Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38 

Sec. 6. (a) The commission shall notify in writing each licensee on whom a civil penalty is 
being assessed.  This notification shall include the date and nature of the violation, including 
legal citation.  

 
(b) In response, the licensee may provide any mitigating factors for commission 
consideration.   Pursuant to IC 4-22-2-19.6(b) and 68 IAC 13-1-18, the parties may enter into 
a settlement determine the civil penalty to be paid for a violation.  
 (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-6) 

 


