Language Translation
  Close Menu

Veteran's Affairs

  • IDOC
  • Current: Veteran's Affairs

If you are a military veteran and an employee of the Indiana Department of Correction, please fill out the form located HERE

For more information contact:
Kathy Griffin Executive Director of Veteran's Affairs

Announcements

VA will begin processing disability claims Aug. 2 for asthma, rhinitis and sinusitis on a presumptive basis based on presumed particulate matter exposures during military service in Southwest Asia and certain other areas – if these conditions manifested within 10 years of a qualifying period of military service.

The Southwest Asia theater of operations refers to Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, the neutral zone between Iraq and Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, the Gulf of Aden, the Gulf of Oman, the Persian Gulf, the Arabian Sea, the Red Sea, and the airspace above these locations.

VA will conduct outreach to impacted Veterans and survivors to inform them about their eligibility and will provide information on how to apply. Veterans and survivors who believe they may be eligible for the newly established presumptive conditions are encouraged to apply. They should file a VA Form 21-526EZ if applying for the first time or a VA Form 20-0995 if they are reapplying for these conditions. For more information on the new presumptive conditions, visit our website at Airborne Hazards and Burn Pit Exposures – Public Health (va.gov).

To apply for benefits, Veterans and survivors may visit VA.gov or call toll-free at 800-827-1000. Within the next week, you can view the interim final rule at www.regulations.gov.

VA Education Flyer 6/17/2021

Did You Know?

Military Veterans

Did you know you may be eligible for education benefits from the GI Bill just because you completed the New Employee Training with the IDOC? To find out more you can go to www.va.gov/education/how-to-apply/. Each Regional Training Site has Certified School Officials (CSOs) that will be able to assist you in this process. Here are the CSOs listed by region:.


North Region (Westville): *Ray Waterman, rlwaterman@idoc.in.gov *David Sonnenberg, dlsonnenberg@idoc.in.gov

North Central Region (Miami): *Charles Williams, cwwilliams@idoc.in.gov *Craig Stoll, cstoll@idoc.in.gov

Central Region (Plainfield): *Jeff Vermillion, jvermillion@idoc.in.gov *Branden Fugate, brfugate@idoc.in.gov

East Region (Correctional Training Institute): *Aapri Clemons, aclemons@idoc.in.gov *Brennon Fox, bfox2@idoc.in.gov

West Region (2 sites – Wabash Valley and Putnamville): *Tammy Rehmel, trehmel@idoc.in.gov *Adam Cornelison, acornelison@idoc.in.gov

Staff Development and Training has six educational sites throughout the state, each providing New Employee Training, which are certified through the Veteran’s Affairs office. Don’t miss out on your benefits!”

Resource Center

please use the link below to access benefits and services information provided to veterans by the Indiana Department of Veterans Affairs (IDVA).
https://www.in.gov/dva/state-of-indiana-benefits-and-services/

Connect With VA Benefits
Follow Veterans Benefits Administration on FacebookFollow Veterans Benefits Administration on TwitterFollow Department of Veterans Affairs on YouTubeFollow Department of Veterans Affairs on InstagramFollow the Department of Veterans Affairs on our blogVA Benefits Bulletin

 Top FAQs