

For immediate release

IDOC Commissioner Recognizes Staff for Excellence

Indianapolis, IN (October 21, 2010) – On Wednesday October 6, 2010, Indiana Department of Correction (IDOC) leaders and staff gathered during the 2010 Indiana Correctional Association (ICA) Conference to recognize their own for outstanding contributions to the operations, administrative, and re-entry efforts of the Department.



IDOC Commissioner Buss addresses staff during the 2010 ICA Awards Luncheon

The awards were presented during the annual joint ICA/Commissioner's Luncheon at the Marriott East Hotel in Indianapolis.

Most notably, Commissioner Buss named Branchville Correctional Facility as the 2010 Facility of the Year. Superintendent of the Year was jointed shared by Superintendent Julie Stout, who oversees the Rockville Correctional Facility, and Superintendent Steven McCauley, from the Indiana Women's Prison (IWP). Employee of the Year was awarded to Jacqlynn Ray Walters-Mize, PLUS program coordinator at the Wabash Valley Correctional Facility. Also, the first award for Partner of the Year went to Keefe Group, Inc.



IWP Superintendent Steven McCauley receives the Superintendent of the Year Award from Interim Deputy Commissioner of Operations Stan Knight.



Interim Deputy Commissioner of Operations Stan Knight presents the Superintendent of the Year Award to Rockville Superintendent Julie Stout.

Other award winners included:

Corrections Supervisor of the Year - Tim Phegley, Putnamville Correctional Facility Correctional Professional of the Year - Shad Rice, New Castle Correctional Facility Parole Division Employee of the Year - Matt Lett, Evansville Parole District Case Management Employee of the Year - Mike Rains, Putnamville Correctional Facility Chaplain of the Year - David Link Fiscal Division Employee of the Year - Linda Taylor, Indiana Women's Prison Human Resources Employee of the Year - Eric Kleinert, IDOC Central Office Physical Plant Employee of the Year - Charles Hamby, New Castle Correctional Facility Rising Star Award - William Hyatte, Jr, Putnamville Correctional Facility Distinguished Service Award - Harry Miller, IDOC Central Office Teacher of the Year - Janet Drach, Branchville Correctional Facility Industries Professional of the Year - Becky Deeb, PEN Products

Commissioner Buss commented, "These individuals exemplify the leadership, dedication, and excellence that we look for in our staff. It means a great deal to me that we take the time to honor and congratulate our outstanding employees who consistently go above and beyond."

###

Media Contact: Douglas S. Garrison Chief Communications Officer Indiana Department of Correction 317.232.5780 dsgarrison@idoc.in.gov