

Moving Indiana Women Forward

Board of Commissioners
Meeting Notes
Wednesday, September 14, 2022
12:00-1:30 PM
Indiana Government Center South
Conference Room 7
302 W. Washington St, Indianapolis

- **I.** Call to order The meeting was called to order by chair Dr. Lindsay Weaver at 12:06 PM EST.
- II. Establishment of Quorum and Roll call: Commissioner Christine Altman [in-person/present], Commissioner Caryl Auslander [virtual /present], Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker [in-person /present] Commissioner Cyndi Carrasco [not present], Commissioner Kori Chambers [virtual /present], Commissioner Molly Chavers [not present], Commissioner Kayevonne Dailey [virtual /present], Commissioner Sharon Jackson [in-person/present], Commissioner Ambre Marr [not present], Commissioner Rep. Peggy Mayfield [not present], Commissioner Stephanie Moore [not present], Commissioner Rep. Tonya Pfaff [virtual /present], Commissioner Sen. Shelli Yoder [not present], Chair Dr. Lindsay Weaver [in-person/present]. Quorum was not established at 12:07 PM EST

Staff: Jordan Teske-Harrison, Director of the Indiana Commission for Women

Guests: Cameron Snapp (student at IUSM), Meredith Lizza (Broad Band Executive for the Office of Governor Eric J. Holcomb), and Daylana Saunders.

- III. Approval of minutes: Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker motioned to approve the meeting minutes from July 20, 2022, and August 10, 2022. Motion seconded by Commissioner Sharon Jackson. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) July 20, 2022
 - b) August 10, 2022
- IV. Review and Approval of Financial Report: Discussions were raised on creating a proposal to increase the budget to extend the commission's support to programs and services and to the local women's commissions within the state. Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker motioned to approve the review and approval of the financial report. Motion seconded by Commissioner Molly Chavers. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) August 20, 2022

b) September 14, 2022

Establishment of Quorum and Roll call: Commissioner Molly Chavers [in-person/present]. Quorum was established at 12:17pm.

- V. Director's Report: Commissioner Stephanie Moore motioned to approve the Director's report for August 10, 2022, and September 14, 2022. Motioned seconded by Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) Approval of Directors Report from August 10, 2022
 - b) Electronic Meeting Policy Reminder: Per the Indiana Commission for Women's 2022 adopted Electronic Participation Policy, each member of the governing body is required to physically attend at least (1) meeting of the governing body annually per calendar year between January 1 and December 31.
- VI. Chairman's Report: Commissioner Stephanie Moore motioned to approve the Chairman's report for August 10, 2022, and September 14, 2022. Motioned seconded by Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker. The motion carried unanimously.
 - a) Approval of Chairman's Report from August 10, 2022
 - b) ICW Board Retreat: discussion was held to plan the retreat in June 2023.

VII. Committee Reports

- a) Infant and Maternal Mortality: discussions were held on the upcoming initiatives for 2023-2027.
- b) Financial Independence and Literacy: discussions were held on the upcoming initiatives for 2023-2027.
- c) Women in Public Service: discussions were held on the upcoming initiatives for 2023-2027.
- d) 2023/2024 Budget Planning: The preliminary draft budget for 2023-2027 was presented for the upcoming initiatives. Commissioner Christine Altman motioned to approve the 2023 preliminary budget. Motion seconded by Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker. The motion carried unanimously.

Establishment of Quorum and Roll call: Commissioner Stephanie Moore [in-person/present]

VIII. New business

- c) Indiana Commission for Women's Issue Response Protocol: tabled
- d) Approval of 2022 Torchbearer Winners from August 10, 2022
- e) 2022 Torchbearer Award Run of Show: discussions were held on finalizing the run of show and the Board of Commissioners who will be presenting the award ceremony.

Commissioner Christine Altman motioned to approve the slate of the 2022 Torchbearer Winners & Run of Show. Motion seconded by Commissioner Sen. Vaneta Becker. The motion carried unanimously.

IX. Commissioner's Comments: Chair, Dr. Weaver introduced Cameron Snapp.

- X. Public Comments: no comments from the public.
- XI. Adjournment: The meeting was called to adjourned by Chair Dr. Lindsay Weaver at 1:36 PM EST.

Next Meeting: October 12, 2022

Subsequent Meeting: November 9, 2022