INDIANA CHARTER SCHOOL BOARD

# MINUTES

## INDIANA CHARTER SCHOOL BOARD

July 9, 2013 IU Health, Fairbanks Hall 340 W. 10<sup>th</sup> Street, Conference Room 3005 Indianapolis, Indiana 46202

The meeting of the Indiana Charter School Board ("ICSB") convened at 4:31 PM.

ICSB Members Karega Rausch, Bill Shrewsberry and Maureen Weber were present in person. ICSB Members Larry DeMoss, David Kogan, and Jamie Garwood were present via conference call. ICSB Member Virginia Calvin was absent. Staff members Claire Fiddian-Green, Anne Davis, Emily Richardson and Sarah Sullivan were present.

## I. Call to Order/Board Meeting Minutes Approval

Ms. Weber called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m.

Mr. Rausch moved for approval of the meeting minutes from the May ICSB meeting. Mr. Shrewsberry seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously via roll call: Mr. DeMoss, Ms. Garwood, Mr. Kogan, Mr. Rausch, Mr. Shrewsberry, and Ms. Weber.

#### II. Executive Session

At 4:32 p.m., ICSB Members entered into an Executive Session under a. IC 5-14-1.5-6.1(b)(5): To receive information about and interview prospective employees. Ms. Davis, Ms. Richardson and Ms. Sullivan excused themselves from the room, and were invited to return at 4:50 p.m. following the close of the Executive Session. The open meeting resumed immediately thereafter.

#### III. Transition Planning

Ms. Weber announced that Ms. Fiddian-Green would be leaving her position as Executive Director of the ICSB, and thanked her for her leadership and service. Ms. Fiddian-Green recommended that the Board appoint Ms. Richardson as interim Executive Director. Mr. Shewsberry moved to appoint Ms. Richardson as interim Executive Director until a new Executive Director was hired. Mr. DeMoss seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously via roll call: Mr. DeMoss, Ms. Garwood, Mr. Kogan, Mr. Rausch, Mr. Shrewsberry, and Ms. Weber.

Mr. Shrewsberry moved to establish a search committee consisting of Ms. Garwood, Mr. Kogan, and Ms. Weber to seek candidates and identify the new Executive Director by the agreed upon timeline. Mr. Kogan seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously via roll call: Mr. DeMoss, Ms. Garwood, Mr. Kogan, Mr. Rausch, Mr. Shrewsberry, and Ms. Weber.

## IV. Adjourn

The Board expressed gratitude and well wishes to Ms. Fiddian-Green. The meeting was adjourned at 5:01 p.m.