MEETING MINUTES

December 20, 2023, 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time

Indiana Archives and Records Administration

Meeting Location: IGC South Conference Center, Room 12

MEETING OF THE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECORDS

2023-12-20-1: CALL TO ORDER

A meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, December 20, 2023. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Jake Speer at 10:01 a.m.

A roll call was conducted to determine members present constituting a quorum: Luke Britt (Public Access Counselor), Jim Ehrenberg (Designee for Tracy Barnes, Chief Operating Officer, Office of Technology), Tammy Glickman (Designee for Rebecca Holwerda, Commissioner, Department of Administration), Tamara Hemmerlein (Lay Member / Oversight Committee Vice-Chair), Chandler Lighty (Executive Director of the Indiana Archives and Records Administration / Oversight Committee Secretary), Jacob Speer (Director of the Indiana State Library / Oversight Committee Chair), Scott Uecker (Professional Journalist / Lay Member).

Members absent: Jerry Bonnet (Designee for Diego Morales, Secretary of State), Beth Kelley (Designee for Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts), Amy Kippenbrock (Dubois County Clerk / County Commissions of Public Records Representative), Michael Nossett (Designee for Governor Eric Holcomb).

IARA staff in attendance: Amy Christiansen (County/Local Records Management Liaison), Amy Robinson (State Agency Records Analyst), Madison Young (Records Analyst 3).

Guests: None.

2023-12-20-2: NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR is scheduled for Wednesday, January 31, at 10:00 a.m. in Indiana Government Center South, Conference Center Room 12.

• Location included retroactively. 2024 location information had not yet been received from the Conference Center at the time of the meeting.

2023-12-20-3: PREVIOUS MEETING

Motion by Tammy Glickman, seconded by Scott Uecker, to approve the minutes of the last regular meeting of the OCPR held on Wednesday, October 25. Motion carried.

2023-12-20-4: DIRECTOR'S REPORT

IARA Executive Director Chandler Lighty submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from: Claire Alderfer (Assistant Director, State Archives), Meaghan Fukunaga (Assistant Director, Records Management), Kim Hagerty (Director of the State Imaging and Microfilm Lab), and Samantha Putnam (Director of the State Records Center).

Points of interest presented to the Committee:

- The report required by IC 5-15-1-2 was submitted to the Indiana General Assembly in a timely manner.
- Jeannine Roe has accepted a new position with the Department of Administration, and the open Electronic Records Archivist position has been posted by State Personnel.
- Chandler pointed out a chart typo on the State Imaging and Microfilm Lab section of the submitted Director's Report. That error has been corrected in the version of the Director's Report retained as part of these minutes.

• Tammy Glickman asked about IARA's participation in the Management Performance Hub's Data Privacy Officer training, which was not mentioned in the Director's Report. Chandler Lighty and Amy Robinson provided a brief summary of the training and why Assistant Director Meaghan Fukunaga spoke there.

Chandler noted that the training occurred in December, and the Director's Report covers the months since the last OCPR meeting, not the current, unfinished month. More information will be included in the *next* Director's Report.

2023-12-20-5: OLD BUSINESS

1. Public Access Request Portal: No report this month.

2023-12-20-6: RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES (Action needed)

- 1. Department of Revenue/Bankruptcy: motion to adopt by Scott Uecker, seconded by Tammy Glickman. Motion carried.
- 2. Utility Regulatory Commission: motion to adopt by Tammy Glickman, seconded by Tamara Hemmerlein. Motion carried.

2023-12-20-7: NEW BUSINESS / DISCUSSION

1. None.

2023-12-20-8: ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Tammy Glickman, to adjourn the meeting at 10:10 a.m. Motion carried.