MEETING MINUTES

May 31, 2023, 10: 00 a.m. Eastern Time

Indiana Archives and Records Administration

Meeting Location: IGC South Conference Center, Room 12

MEETING OF THE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECORDS

2023-05-31-1: CALL TO ORDER

A meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, May 31, 2023. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Jake Speer at 10:02 a.m.

A roll call was conducted to determine members present constituting a quorum: Luke Britt (Public Access Counselor), , Tammy Glickman (designee for Rebecca Holwerda, Commissioner, Department of Administration), Tamara Hemmerlein (Lay Member / Oversight Committee Vice-Chair), Beth Kelley (Designee for Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts), Amy Kippenbrock (County Commissions of Public Records Representative) via telephone, Chandler Lighty (Executive Director of the Indiana Archives and Records Administration / Oversight Committee Secretary), Jacob Speer (Director of the Indiana State Library / Oversight Committee Chair), Scott Uecker (Professional Journalist / Lay Member).

Members absent: Jerry Bonnet (Designee for Diego Morales, Secretary of State), Jim Ehrenberg (Designee for Tracy Barnes, Chief Operating Officer, Office of Technology), Michael Nossett (Governor's Designee).

IARA staff in attendance: Amy Robinson (State Records Analyst).

Guests: None.

2023-05-31-2: NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR is scheduled for Wednesday, July 12, at 10:00 a.m. in Indiana Government Center South, Conference Center Room 12.

2023-05-31-3: PREVIOUS MEETING

Motion by Luke Britt, seconded by Tammy Glickman, to approve the minutes of the last regular meeting of the OCPR held on Wednesday, April 26. Motion carried.

2023-05-31-4: DIRECTOR'S REPORT

IARA Executive Director Chandler Lighty submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from: Claire Alderfer (Assistant Director, State Archives), Meaghan Fukunaga (Assistant Director, Records Management), Kim Hagerty (Director of the State Imaging and Microfilm Lab), and Samantha Putnam (Director of the State Records Center).

Highlights presented to the Committee:

IARA's appropriation was passed with the state budget, so the funds for the new IARA building are there.

HB 1256, the IARA agency bill, was passed and will considerably reduce IARA's involvement with state forms, eventually eliminating forms design services entirely. Information will start being rolled out to agency Forms Coordinators in June.

Amy Christiansen and Meaghan Fukunaga were absent from the May OCPR meeting because they were busy holding a webinar for the schools and districts on the newly-updated Educational Institutions retention schedule, approved at the *April* OCPR meeting.

2023-05-31-5: OLD BUSINESS

1. Public Access Request Portal: Nothing to report at this time.

2023-05-31-6: RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES (Action needed)

- 1. **County/Local Records / Local Health Departments:** motion to adopt by Scott Uecker, seconded by Tammy Glickman. Motion carried.
- 2. State Personnel:
 - a. Affirmative Action
 - b. Benefits, Disability And Worker's Compensation
 - c. Communications
 - d. Compensation
 - e. Director's Office
 - f. Employee Relations
 - g. Employment Administration
 - h. Training

A motion was made by Tammy Glickman to adopt all 8 State Personnel retention schedules simultaneously, seconded by Scott Uecker. Motion carried.

2023-05-31-7: NEW BUSINESS / DISCUSSION

1. None.

2023-05-31-8: ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Tamara Hemmerlein, to adjourn the meeting at 10:10 a.m. Motion carried.