Language Translation
  Close Menu

NEDSS Base System (NBS) & Surveillance

The NEDSS Base System (NBS) is an electronic disease reporting and case management platform supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. On January 1, 2019, the Infectious Disease Epidemiology & Prevention, Tuberculosis, Sexually Transmitted Infections, and Viral Hepatitis programs at the Indiana Department of Health (IDOH) transitioned their individual electronic disease surveillance and monitoring systems to NBS.

If you are a public health nurse, infection preventionist, or other local health department or hospital staff in need of NBS access, please contact your District Field Epidemiologist for instructions on how to request an NBS account.

NBS Updates

On September 18th, 2023, a new variable, “Investigation Initiation Date”, was added to select condition investigations in NBS. This variable will be gradually implemented across all conditions. The variable location will vary slightly depending on the condition; however, you can find it at the beginning of the investigation (new NBS investigation format) or at the end of the investigation (old NBS investigation format). Please review the linked screenshots for example locations. You can find more detailed information regarding the change in this Fact Sheet.

For additional questions, please reach out to Rose Dunbar RoDunbar@health.in.gov and Kyra Veatch KVeatch@health.in.gov.

NBS/Surveillance Team

The NBS Surveillance team serves within the Infectious Disease & Epidemiology Prevention Division (IDEPD) at the Indiana Department of Health. The team’s purpose is to minimize morbidity and mortality associated with reportable communicable diseases among Indiana residents by conducting a broad and complex range of investigative and analytical epidemiologic activities; this includes but is not limited to coordinating infectious disease reporting, providing infectious disease surveillance support to internal subject matter experts & external partners, conduct maintenance and support of the NBS surveillance system, coordinate electronic case reporting (eCR) activities, and coordinate COVID-19 surveillance.

Contact Information

Indiana Department of Health 
2 N. Meridian St. 
Indianapolis, IN 46204

General questions may be directed to:

IDOH Infectious Disease Epidemiology & Prevention Division

  • Phone: 317-233-7125 (8:15 a.m.-4:45 p.m.)
  • After Hours Emergency Calls: 317-233-1325

NBS/Surveillance Team Contacts

Director
Kelly White, MPH, CPH
Email: KeWhite@health.in.gov
Office: (317) 233-7548

Surveillance Epidemiologist II
James Sainsbury, MPH
Email: JSainsbury@health.in.gov
Mobile: (317) 517-4327

Surveillance Epidemiologist II
Lunden Espinosa
Email: LEspinosa@health.in.gov
Mobile: (317) 509-8134

Traveler Health Epidemiologist
Sarah Bennett
Email: SaBennett@health.in.gov
Mobile: (463) 203-3246

NBS Epidemiologist
Kyra Veatch, MPH
Email: KVeatch@health.in.gov
Office: (317) 296-1088

eCR Specialist
Darren Frank, MPH
Email: DaFrank@health.in.gov
Office: (317) 533-0175

Electronic Lab Reporting Specialist
Anushka Agrawal, MS
Email:  AAgrawal@health.in.gov

Health Educator
Rose Dunbar, MPH
Email:  RoDunbar@health.in.gov

Data Analyst
Qianwen (Cherie) Wang
Email: QWang@health.in.gov

Data Analyst
Ashank Aswath
Email: AAswath@health.in.gov

Data Entry
Cathey Vaughan
Email: CVaughan@health.in.gov

NBS Contacts by Program

General: Contact your District Field Epidemiologist or call (317) 233-7125.