## INITIAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO OPERATE A PERSONAL SERVICES AGENCY

Dear Applicant:

This letter instructs the applicant on how to obtain a license to operate a Personal Services Agencies. Prior to operating a Personal Services Agency in Indiana, a license must be obtained from the Indiana State Department of Health ("Department"). To obtain a license, the applicant must submit to the Department a completed application on the designated form, supporting documentation and \$250.00 licensure fee and must be able to show compliance with the licensure statute, IC 16-27-4.

The Application for License to Operate a Personal Services Agency (State Form 53391) must be completed in its entirety and submitted to the Department, along with supporting documents and/or information and the required \$250.00 **non-refundable license application fee**. Mail the entire application packet to the Indiana State Department of Health addressed as follows:

#### Indiana State Department of Health 2 N Meridian Street, Cashier's Office Indianapolis, IN 46204

The application form must be signed and dated by the owner or officer of the applicant's legal entity and the manager of the agency. The individuals signing the application form must be listed on the application.

A personal services agency's license expires one (1) year after the date of issuance of initial license and the license must be renewed annual. The personal services agency must complete a "Renewal Application for License to Operate a Personal Services Agency" application (SF 53591), applicant documentation and a non-refundable licensure fee of \$250.00 for renewal of license. The documentation and licensure fee must be submitted at least 60 days prior, but not sooner than 90 days before the expiration date of the current license.

If the application is submitted for a Change of Ownership (CHOW) of an existing Personal Services Agency, the application packet, applicable polices/documentation and non-refundable license fee of \$250.00. The application, documentation and licensure fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the CHOW. Submit the applicable purchase agreement with buyer/seller signatures, identity of corporation and dba and effective date of transaction.

Submission of the application form and supporting documents within the time frames set out above will avoid expiration of licensure and/or unnecessary delays in obtaining authority to operate a new Personal Services Agency, or to assume control of an existing Personal Services Agency.

Enclosed is a list of required policies/procedures and documentation to be submitted with the initial licensure application.

Review all the Personal Services Agencies State Statute (Law) IC 16-27-4, "Application for License to Operate a Personal Services Agency" (State Form 53391) and information packet prior to completing and submitting application to the Department.

If the provider cannot interpret the State Statute IC-16-27-4 the provider may obtain an attorney or consultant for interpretation of the State Statute (Law) IC-16-27-4. The provider may contact the Indiana Association for Home & Hospice Care (IAHHC), 6320-G Rucker Road, Indianapolis, Indiana 46220, telephone number 317/775-6675 to attend a PSA 101 training class for personal services agencies. The Indiana Association for Home & Hospice Care (IAHHC) web address is located at www.iahhc.org.

# The application will be reviewed in the order received at the Department according to priority dictated by the Division of Acute Care. The review process will be as follows:

- The Department **will not accept** providers walking in the Department and requesting immediate review and approval of application and licensure due to provider's timelines.
- The Department **will not accept** providers calling the Department and requesting immediate review and approval of application and licensure due to provider's timelines.
- The Department **will not accept** providers emailing the Department and requesting immediate review and approval of initial/revised application and licensure due to provider's timelines.
- The Department will review applications in order received by U.S. mail.
- The provider **may call** to request the status of the application.
- All documentation <u>must</u> be received and approved prior to issuing a license.

If you have any questions regarding the application process contact Bobbie Nelson, Program Director at 317-233-7492.

Enclosures

# LICENSURE APPLICATION (State Form 53391)

The Department is requesting the following information to be included with the initial licensure "Application for License to Operate a Personal Services Agency" (State Form 53391) to facilitate the approval and to process the application.

#### **Licensure Application**

Submit all documentation requested on the licensure application and in this letter. The "Application for License to Operate a Personal Services Agency" (State Form 53391) is available on the Indiana State Department of Health's website at <u>http://www.in.gov/isdh/20119.htm</u> for the provider to complete the form online, print, sign and submit with required policies and documentation. Complete the application and return with the required policies and documentation.

#### **Licensure Fee**

• A non-refundable \$250.00 licensure fee made payable to the Indiana State Department of Health.

#### Agency's Name

The personal services agency's "doing business as" name <u>must</u> be in compliance with the State Statute IC 16-27-1-15. The personal services agency <u>may not</u> advertise as a home health agency or use the word "HEALTH" as part of the agency's name.

#### **Branch Offices**

◆ If the parent has an additional branch offices that will operate under the parent location send a separate letter and map with the application. The letter must include the branch name, complete address, county, telephone number and include a statement that the branch is owned and controlled by the parent personal services agency. In the letter it must indicated the branch is located within a radius of one hundred twenty (120) miles of the parent personal services. A map must be included that that shows the branch located within a radius of one hundred twenty (120) miles of one hundred twenty (120) miles of the parent personal services. A map must be included that that shows the branch located within a radius of one hundred twenty (120) miles of the parent personal services agency and must indicate mileage on the map.

## Secretary of State (SOS) documentation

- Submit applicable document from the Indiana Secretary of State's office (SOS).
  - If a limited Partnership, submit a copy of the "Application for Registration "and "Certificate of Registration" signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.
  - If a Corporation, submit a copy of the "Articles of Incorporation" and Certificate of Incorporation" signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.
  - If applicant is an out of state corporation (foreign corporation), submit a copy of the "Certificate of Authority" to do business in the State of Indiana" signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.
  - If a Limited Liability Company, submit a copy of the "Articles of Organization" and the "Certificate of Organization" signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.
  - If the "doing business as" (d/b/a) name is different from the corporation's (direct owner) name submit "Certificate of Assumed Business Name" or "Articles of Incorporation" that list the owner and d/b/a name signed by the Indiana Secretary of State.

## Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

♦ Submit a document from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) that reflects the legal entity's name and EIN number. Do not send a request form that the provider completed requesting an EIN number. The document (W-9) must be from the Internal Revenue Services (IRS) that reflects legal name and EIN number.

## **Criminal History Checks**

- Review State statutes IC 16-27-2-3, IC 16-27-2-4, IC 16-27-2-5 and IC 20-26-2-1.5 to ensure compliance.
- ♦ An expanded or national criminal history check must be conducted on the owners, manager and alternate managers and included in the initial, change of ownership application and a staff change. If there are any changes in owners, officers and managers after receiving the initial license the agency must submit these changes to the Department on agency's letterhead along with applicable criminal history check.
- The agency shall submit a current (within the past 3 months) lifetime expanded or national criminal history report.

#### **Expanded Criminal History Checks**

♦ An expanded criminal history report shall contain the results of the search (i.e. no record found, clear; or if a record, the results of the record) and include the requirements of IC 20-26-2-1.5. The agency is responsible to ensure the expanded criminal history reports meets the State statute IC 20-26-2-1.5 and include all the requirements of A-G and lifetime or unlimited search on the report.

#### Indiana State Police National Criminal History Checks

◆ To received information on how to request a national criminal history check access the **Indiana State Police** website at <u>www.in.gov/isp</u> and click on *Inkless*. If you have problems accessing the **Indiana State Police** website or cannot find the answer to your question in the FAQs call 317/234-2717 or 317/233-5037 for assistance

## POLICIES AND PROCEDURES SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

The following policies and procedures are required by the Department to facilitate the approval and to process the application. The Department will not issue a license without all required documentation. Review the state statute (law) IC 16-27-4 prior to the development of policies, procedures and completing the licensure application. The agency **must develop polices and procedures** and include the elements of the law. **Do not copy and paste the law** and submit as polices and procedures. The Department will **reject the agency's application** if the law is submitted as polices and procedures.

#### **Identify Policy**

Submit all policies and documentation according to IC 16-27-4. Identify the name of each policy and insert a divider to separate each policy and documentation. If you have any additional information you would like to submit with the application place information in the back of policies and documentation and write on the divider additional information.

## **Intermingling Documents and Policies**

Do not submit polices and documentation for a Indiana State Department Of Health (ISDH) Personal Services Agency (PSA) that are intermingled with Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA) and/or Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) Home Health Agency (HHA). The Indiana State Department of Health and Family Social Services Administration (FSSA)-programs are dissimilar agencies and programs that require documentation applicable to that agency. The provider must be in compliance with <u>each</u> State agency/program rules and regulations. The FSSA's waiver policies and documentation are not to be intermingled with ISDH personal services agency's policies and <u>documentation</u>. Do not include language and rules/laws/codes from policies and documentation that refers to Aged and Disabled (AD) and Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) waiver programs approved through the FSSA... To operate and be issued a personal services agency license you must submit policies and documentation that is in-compliance with IC 16-27-4 for a personal services agency.

#### Advertisement

► The personal services agency may not advertise as a home health agency. According to IC 16-27-1-15 Sec.15. A person who: (1) operates a home health agency; or (2) advertises the operation of a home health agency; that is not licensed commits a Class A misdemeanor. The personal services agency's "doing business as" name <u>must</u> be in compliance with the State Statute IC 16-27-1-15. The personal services agency <u>may not</u> advertise as a home health agency or use the word "health" as part of the agency's name.

#### Medical Care

- ► A personal services agency is a not medical agency and <u>may not</u> provide medical care. <u>Do not</u> include medical language in policies and procedures. The Personal Services Agency's documentation and policies must be incompliance with State Statute (law) IC 16-27-4. The home health agencies and personal services agencies are separate programs that require documentation applicable to that particular program. The provider must be incompliance with <u>each</u> program rules and regulations. The Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) home health agencies policies and documentation are <u>not to be intermingled with Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) personal services agency's policies and documentation</u>.
- ►

#### Copy and Paste State Statute (Law) IC 16-27-4

Do not copy and paste the State Statue (Law) IC 16-27-4 and submit as the agency's policies and procedures. The agency <u>must develop their own polices and procedures</u> that include the elements of the law and is compliance with IC 16-27-4.

#### Name on Policies and Procedures

The name that is listed on the document from the Secretary of State (SOS) should be the name that is on all policies, documentation and the "Application For License To Operate A Personal Services Agency" (State Form 53391), Section II.A submitted to the Department. <u>Do not</u> abbreviate agency's name on policies and documentation.

## POLICIES AND PROCEDURES REQUIRED

**Identify policy name and insert divider between each policy/procedure to separate policies/procedures.** Each policy must be on a separate sheet of paper. Do not send a handbook as policies and procedures. Submit policies and procedures applicable to State Statute IC 16-27-4 personal services agency. Do not intermingle the personal services agencies policies and procedure with other health care entities policies and procedures and submit as the agency's policies and procedures. <u>**Do not copy and paste laws and submit as**</u> **policies and procedures.** The agency **<u>must develop</u>** policies and procedures for their agency and must include the elements of the state statute (law) IC 16-27-4. Listed below is information that may be included in the policies and procedures developed by the agency.

#### Unstable health conditions (IC 16-27-4-8)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
- Include agency's policy on a client's medical or health condition that becomes unstable or unpredictable. Please provide detail on agency's unstable condition procedure.

#### Client satisfaction review (IC 16-27-4-11)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
- Include timeframe of client satisfaction review (i.e. 76, 90, 104 days).
- Include in the policy that the review with the client may be in person or by telephone, review of
  satisfaction of current services and to determine changes in services provided. The client
  satisfaction review must be:
  - Be put in writing; and
  - Be signed and dated by the individual conducting the review.
- Include is the client satisfied with services.
- Include does client require changes to the services.
- Submit client satisfaction review form:
  - Include a place for client's name and date.
  - Include satisfaction review of services (caregiver punctual, courteous, etc).
  - Include a place for signature and date of individual conducting review.

#### Complaint investigations (IC 16-27-4-13)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
  - How the agency will investigate complaints:
    - Services that is or fails to be furnished.
    - Lack of respect for the client's property by anyone furnishing services on behalf of the personal services agency.
  - The agency shall document the complaint, investigate, make resolution to complaint and take corrective action of the complaint.
  - Provide detail procedures.
- Submit complaint form:
  - Include a place for client's name and date.
  - Include a place for signature and date of individual receiving complaint.
  - Include a place for the narrative of the complaint.
  - Include a place for the investigation, resolution and follow-up/corrective action.

## Tuberculosis test (control of communicable disease) (IC 16-27-4-15)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
- Must complete a tuberculosis test in the same manner as required by the state department for licensed home health agency employees. Refer to 410 IAC 17-12-1 for contents that is required to be in the tuberculosis test for personal services agencies.

# Compliance documentation (IC 27-4-18)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
  - Include time frame, where and how records will be stored for record retention. The records must be
    maintained and accessible at a personal services agency's office for not less than (7) years and
    available for review by the Indiana State Department of Health.

## Manager's Responsibilities for day to day operations (IC 16-27-4-9(a)

- Submit manager's responsibilities
- Submit job description of manager's responsibilities the day to day responsibilities of manager. Provide detail responsibilities.

## Evaluation and Training Competency Requirements Procedure(IC 16-27-4-16)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
- Submit procedure on how the provider will evaluate and re-evaluate employee, and to ensure employee is competent to perform the tasks without direct supervision.
- Include how agency will determine competency (*i.e. employee must pass written and observation skills test by 85% to determine competency*).
- Explain how the employee will be re-evaluated on tasks that deem improvement. Indicate who will conduct the training and to ensure signature and date of the person conducting training and the employee.
- The training will be documented and placed in the employee's file.
- Submit a copy of the training (i.e.written and observation skills test).

## A copy of the agency's service plan policy/procedure (IC 16-27-4-10)

- Submit agency's policy and procedure
- The service plan must be in writing, dated and signed by the individual who prepared it.
  - List type of services to be provided (attendant care services, homemaker services, and/or companion care services).
  - A permanent change to the services requires a written change to the service and must be signed and dated.
  - Include in the policy that the services to be provided to the client are subject to the client's right to temporarily suspend, permanently terminate, temporarily add or permanently add any services.
  - The service plan must be signed and dated by the client no later than fourteen (14) days after the services begin for the client and not later than fourteen (14) days after any permanent changes to the service plan.
  - Review to ensure no medical language is the policy and procedure.
- Submit agency's service plan form that is provided to the client:
  - Include a place for the client's name and date.
  - Include start date of service.
  - Include signature and date of client or representative and agency's manager or designee.
  - Include detailed services provided (i.e. assistance with bathing, dressing/undressing, transfer).
  - Review to ensure no medical language is on the service plan form.
  - Include clients right to right to temporarily suspend, permanently terminate, temporarily add or permanently add any services.
- Submit client's visit record:

- Include a place for the client's name.
- Include dates of service.
- Include services provided.
- Include signature of client and employee.
- Review to ensure no medical language is on the service plan form.

## Client Rights Statement Procedure (IC 16-27-4-12)

- Client Rights Information Submit agency's policy and procedure
  - Include in the policy that the personal services agency shall provide to the client or the client's
    personal representative with the personal services agency's written statement of client rights not
    more than seven (7) days after providing services to the client.
  - The agency shall provide the client a written statement of the client rights and the statement must include the following information in the statement. The Department requests that you submit a copy of a client rights statement that the agency will provide to the client.
- Client Rights Statement *This is the statement that agency must provide to the client.* 
  - The client has the right to have the client's property treated with respect.
  - The client has the right to temporarily suspend, permanently terminate, temporarily add, or permanently add services in the serve plan.
  - The client has the right to file grievances regarding services furnished or regarding the lack of
    respect for property by the personal service agency and is not subject to discrimination or reprisal for
    filing a grievance.
  - The client has the right to be free from verbal, physical, and psychological abuse and to be treated with dignity.
  - The client has the right to know that it is not within the scope of the personal services agency's license to mange the medical and health condition of the client if a condition becomes unstable or unpredictable.
  - The client has the right to know the **charges** for services provided by the personal services agency.
  - The personal services agency's procedure for notifying the client of any increase in the cost of services. Include in the client rights statement how the agency will notify the client of any increase in the cost of services (*i.e. the agency will notify the client by mail 30 days prior to increase of fees*). What is the agency's procedure?
  - The **hours** the personal services agency's office is **open** for business. Include in the client rights statement the hours the personal services agency is open for business and how the agency will notify the client if there is a change is office hours (*i.e. the agency's office hours 8:00 am 4:00 pm- the agency will notify the client in writing when changing office hours). What is the agency's procedure?*
  - The procedure for contacting the personal services agency's manager, or the manager's designee, when the personal services agency's office is open or close (*i.e. call #317/111-1111 from 8:00am 4:00 pm, after 4:00 pm call #317/222-2222). What is the agency's procedure?*
  - That **on request** the personal services agency will make available to the client a written list of the names and addresses of all persons having at least at five percent (5%) ownership or controlling interest in the personal services agency.
  - The **procedure** and **telephone number** to call to file a complaint with the personal services agency. *What is the procedure and telephone number to file complaint?*
  - The state department of health does not inspect personal services agencies as part of the licensing process but does investigate complaints concerning personal services agencies.
  - The procedure on how to contact and/or call to file a complaint with the state department of health along with the business hours of the state department of health. The contact information and telephone number is: Division of Long Term Care, Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian St., Section 4-B Indianapolis, IN 46204, Toll Free Complaint Number: 1-800-246-8909, Business hours: 8:15 am 4:45 pm. What is the procedure?