

Commission on Rehabilitation Services Meeting

Friday, May 8,2020 10 a.m. (Eastern) Virtual Meeting

MEETING MINUTES

I. Call to Order/Roll Call/Welcome

The meeting was called to order by James Michaels –VR Commission Chair at 10:00 a.m.

V	Scott Beauchamp	А	Greg Bedan	V	Joel Boehner
V	Sarah Chestnut	V	Christine Dahlberg	V	Donna Elbrecht
А	Shawn Fulton	V	Melissa Keyes	V	Theresa Koleszar
V	PJ McGrew	V	James Michaels	А	Danei'l Mize
Т	Amber O'Haver	V	Michelle Oja	V	Richard Propes
А	Marc Ruiz	V	David Spradley	V	Willaine St. Pierre Sandy
V	Traci Taylor	Т	Frederick Vaiana		
I, T	Susan Rinne	I, T	Kylee Hope		

(A=Absent, P=Present, T=Teleconference, Virtual =V, I=Invited Guest)

- II. Approval of the February 7, 2020 meeting minutes
 Motion: Scott Beauchamp
 Second: Michelle Oja
 The Commission voted unanimously in favor.
- III. Public Comments
 - a) No public comments were given
- IV. BRS Director Update Theresa Koleszar
 - a) BRS webpage updates
 - Vocational Rehabilitation https://www.in.gov/fssa/ddrs/2636.htm
 - 1. Letter from the Director https://www.in.gov/fssa/ddrs/5762.htm
 - 2. Applying for services https://www.in.gov/fssa/ddrs/5762.htm
 - 3. Interim guidance https://www.in.gov/fssa/ddrs/5762.htm
 - DHHS https://www.in.gov/fssa/ddrs/2637.htm
 - 1. COVID-19 visual communication cards for the deaf and hard of Hearing population
 - b) By-Laws Update
 - Section VI. Committees, D. Employment First Committee, proposed added language: The Employment First Committee provides recommendations for the statewide Employment First Plan and related documents, as well as recommendations for the required annual update on the implementation and progress toward advancing competitive, integrated employment for individuals with disabilities as described in IC 22-9-11 (the Employment First Act). The subcommittee will be comprised of at least 51% of individuals with disabilities.

Motion to approve the addition to the by-laws Motion: Joel Boehner Second: Frederick Vaiana The Commission voted unanimously in favor.

- V. Committee Updates
 - a) Customer Satisfaction Surveys Traci Taylor
 - No update
 - b) Policy & Oversight Scott Beauchamp
 - No update
 - c) Awards Committee (ad-hoc) Michelle Oja
 - The committee met and reviewed the nominations and selected winners for each category.
 - The award will be ordered and distributed later at the regional meetings
 - d) Recruitment, Public Outreach & Commission Development Committee James Michaels
 - Committee welcomed new members to the commission.
- VI. Employment First Discussion of Public Comments Christine Dahlberg
 - a) Updates to the employment first document were made.
 - Subcommittee will work on the acknowledgement section for the next meeting.

VII. Officer Elections

- a) Slate of Officers
 - David Spradley Chairperson
 - Sarah Chestnut Vice-Chairperson
 - Michelle Oja Secretary

Motion to approve the slate of officers

Motion: Scott Beauchamp

Second: Joel Boehner

The Commission voted and majority approved with one abstention.

- b. The commission would like to thank James Michaels, Scott Beauchamp and Traci Taylor for their service to the Commission. Their terms will end as of June 30, 2020.
- VIII. Announcements
 - a) No announcements
- IX. Next meeting July 10, 2020 Meeting
- X. Meeting Adjourns 12:45 p.m.
 - Motion: Scott Beauchamp
 - Second: Frederick Vaiana

The Commission voted unanimously in favor.

Future meeting dates:

Date	Time	Location	Address
September 11, 2020	10 a.m. – 1 p.m.	TBD	
November 13, 2020	10 a.m. – 1 p.m.	TBD	

3	