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DEFINITIONS 

A termed used to describe an application for CCDF services. 

ACCREDITATION 
A voluntary system which evaluates childcare programs against specific criteria in areas of  curriculum, health and safety, 
parent communication, and staff qualifications which has been validated by a nationally recognized early childhood 
organization or institution.  

ACSI ACCREDITATION 
A Voluntary, nationally recognized accreditation system for child care programs.  It is authorized and validated by the 
American Christ Schools International (ACSI). 

ADULT 
An individual who is age 18 or older. 

ADVERSE ACTION 
An action toward a recipient that includes denial and/or termination of services, increased fees, or a reduction in services. 
Clients and providers must be notified at least ten (10) calendar days before an adverse action can be imposed. 

AGE CATEGORY 
A category by age; infants (0-11 months), toddlers (12-35 months), three years through five years, kindergarten, and school-
age. 

ANNUAL CORPORATE REPORT 
The forms which must be filed annually with the Secretary of State to maintain the authority to do business as a corporation in 
Indiana. Foreign Corps-Forms 119 (based outside of Indiana) Domestic Corps: For Profit- Form 120, Not-for Profit- Form l2l. 

APPEAL 
The right to request a hearing or administrative review as a result of an adverse action. 

APPLICANT 
A person who is applying for services on behalf of the child(ren) for which they have physical custody. The applicant must be 
a person related to the eligible child by blood or law, or is a person standing in loco parentis (in the place of a parent). The 
applicant must be age 18 or over unless the applicant is married, an emancipated minor, or a minor parent.  

APPLICANT JOB SEARCH (AJS) 
TANF applicants are required to participate in job search activities until their eligibility case has been authorized. 

APPROVED LEAVE 
An approved temporary lapse in service need, which does not exceed twelve (12) weeks, during which child care is not needed 
yet eligibility is maintained.  I.E. family medical leave, maternity leave, temporary changes in formal custody, family 
reunification a break in school of less than four (4) weeks, or (12) weeks for a returning junior or senior high school student.   

ATTENDANCE 
The total number of children present at any one time at the child care setting. 

ATTENDING TRAINING/EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM 
One is "attending" job training or an educational program when participation occurs inside or outside of the home through an 
accredited or certified post-secondary training organization or institution. One may also be “attending” an educational program 
when participation occurs outside of the home through an accredited or certified secondary training organization or institution.  
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CAREGIVER 
An individual, 18 years of age or over, who is responsible for the direct care, protection, and supervision of children in the 
absence of the custodial adult. 

CAREGIVER REIMBURSEMENT 
Sometimes termed provider reimbursement, which is made by the Central Reimbursement Office (CRO) to the childcare 
provider for services rendered or the parent in the case of “In Home Care”.  This reimbursement will be made no less than 
twice per month.  The caregiver is to follow the claims schedule provided in their enrollment packet.   

CATEGORIES OF CARE 
Types of childcare settings such as center-based, childcare home, and in-home care. 

CENTER-BASED CHILDCARE 
A provider licensed to provide childcare services where at least one child is cared for in a nonresidential structure. 

CENTRAL REIMBURSEMENT OFFICE (CRO) 
An entity which validates and processes claims from childcare providers. 

CERTIFIED PROVIDER 
A provider, either licensed or exempt from being licensed by law, who has met all applicable CCDF Provider Eligibility 
Standards and has completed the application process. This includes: licensed centers, facilities and homes; unlicensed 
registered day care ministries; legally license-exempt childcare facilities and homes; relative care (grandparent, great-
grandparent, aunt, and/or uncle of the eligible child); and in home care.  

CHARGE CATEGORY 
The method used to apply fees: hourly, daily, or full-time weekly. 

CHECK-IN / CHECK –OUT 
The term to describe the process of electronically documenting a child’s attendance through the use of a Point of Service (POS) 
device. 

CHILD 
An individual who is under the age of 18. 

CHILD WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 
A child who is enrolled in one or more of the following programs: 

• Children with Special Health Care Services; 
• First Steps Early Intervention System; 
• Public School Special Education; 
• Supplemental Security Income (SSI); or 
• Child who attends Head Start and has been professionally diagnosed with a disability 

CHILD CARE DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) 
The CCDF program was authorized by Congress through the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services to amend the 
Child Care and Development Block Grant. The purpose of the CCDF program is to have one single, integrated childcare 
funding system to assist low-income families through subsidized childcare and to increase the availability and quality of 
childcare services. 

CHILD DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATE CREDENTIAL (CDA) 
A competency-based certification for individual childcare providers awarded through the Council of Early Childhood 
Professional Recognition. 

CITIZEN 
A person who is a citizen of the United States or a qualified alien. 

CLIENT 
A recipient of services. 
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COUNCIL ON ACCREDITATION 
A voluntary, nationally recognized accreditation system for early childhood centers. It is authorized and validated by the 
National Early Childhood Program Accreditation Commission. 

CONTRACT 
A legal document which may exist between the State of Indiana and the Intake Agent/grantee or between the State of Indiana 
and a certain number of contracted child care centers.  The document describes the service to be purchased, the term, the 
reimbursement rate, and the conditions of service delivery.  Also known as the "agreement". 

CO-PAY 
A family’s fee for childcare calculated using the Division of Family Resources’ Child Care Income Eligibility Determination 
and Sliding Fee Schedule. 

COUNTY MARKET RATE 
The maximum CCDF reimbursement rate established in each county for each childcare charge category by age and provider 
type. 

CURRENT 
A thirty (30) day period which may include application signature date on State Form 805 or Parent Worksheet unless stated 
otherwise. 

CUSTODY 
Providing care and supervision of a minor either through formal agreement, i.e. divorce decree, guardianship, foster placement 
or informal agreement i.e. biological parent declaration or the declaration of the individual serving as parent (in loco parentis). 

DAILY CARE 
A daily unit of care is defined as four (4) hours or more for non-school age and school-age other care and three (3) hours of 
more for school-age children during the school year. 

DATE OF APPLICATION 
The date the 805 application or parent worksheet (re-determination or updates only) has been signed and dated by the 
applicant. 

DECLARATION 
A method of identifying family’s gross monthly income which does not require verification. 

DEVELOPMENTALLY APPROPRIATE 
Developmentally appropriate has two dimensions: age appropriateness and individual appropriateness.  Programs must 
incorporate activities that acknowledge typical development of children within their age span and also address each child's 
uniqueness as a person who has an individual personality, learning style, and background. 

DIRECT SERVICES 
CCDF funding component that is issued as vouchers for child care services or contracted with certain childcare center 
providers for childcare services. 

DISCREPANCY 
A discrepancy is a payment request from a child care provider resulting from an incorrect payment for services provided.  This 
request may be for additional payment for a weekly, hourly or daily voucher when payment was less than authorized subsidy. 

DOCUMENTED ATTENDANCE 
Childcare attendance which has been recorded with date and time of arrival and departure and has been verified by the parent 
by signature or electronic PIN. 
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ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION 
The procedure required to determine an individual or family meets the criteria for receiving services. Determination is based on 
the need for a service, residency in Indiana and variables of family size and income. 

EMANCIPATED MINOR 
A married minor or a minor residing apart from parents and financially independent with parental consent, or affirmed by legal 
action. 

ENROLLMENT YEAR 
A period of twelve (12) consecutive months for which a child is enrolled without a lapse of more than ninety (90) days. 

ESCROW FUNDS 
Accumulated CCDF funds to allow the addition of a child(ren) to the CCDF program. 

FAMILY 
One or more adults and children related by blood or law, or other person standing in loco parentis, residing in the same 
household. Where adults over the age of 18 (other than spouses or biological parents of the child needing services) reside 
together, each is considered a separate family. Wards of the Local Office of the Department of Child Services (DCS), foster 
children on Title IV-E, are the legal responsibility of DCS and not the family with which the child has been placed. Note: A 
marriage between persons of the same gender is void in Indiana even if the marriage is lawful in the place where it is 
solemnized. (IC 31-11-1-1(b)), however, persons of the same gender may become foster or adoptive parents of a child and both 
are considered applicants.  

FAMILY CHILDCARE HOME PROVIDER 
An individual who provides childcare services in a residential structure other than the child’s residence.  

FEDERAL POVERTY LEVEL 
Guidelines issued by Health and Human Services by the number in the family unit and income level to determine whether a 
person or family is financially eligible for assistance or services under a particular Federal program.  These guidelines are 
based on poverty thresholds used by the Bureau of Census to prepare its statistical estimates of the number of persons and 
families in poverty.  The poverty guidelines are adjusted each year to account for the last calendar year’s increase in prices as 
measured by the Consumer Price Index. 

FINANCIAL NEED 
A new applicant has a financial need when the family’s gross monthly income falls below 127% of poverty (effective10/1/02). 
An active applicant has a financial need when the family’s gross monthly income fall below 171% of poverty (effective 
9/30/07). 

FOSTER  PARENT 
An individual who provides care and supervision as a substitute family on a 24-hour basis to a child who is deemed a ward of 
the local Office of the Department of Child Services.  A foster parent, with the appropriate documentation, may be considered 
a valid applicant for enrollment of the foster child to the CCDF program. When foster parents are of the same gender, both are 
considered applicants. 

FOSTER CARE PER DIEM 
The daily maintenance payment to a foster parent for the care of a child who is deemed a ward of the local Office of 
Department of Child Services. 

FULL-TIME WEEKLY 
Care provided for 25 hours or more per week, Sunday through Saturday, for non-school age children or for school age children 
when school is not in session, or when care is required during non-traditional hours.  For school-age children when school is in 
session, full-time weekly care is defined as 15 hours or more per week, Sunday through Saturday. 

GRANTEE 
A legal entity who has entered into a contractual agreement with the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration. 

GROSS FAMILY INCOME 
Total income from all countable sources prior to taxes and deductions. 
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HOME SCHOOLING 
Schooling provided for children eligible to receive public education in the child’s home or other facility not recognized by the 
Department of Education. 

HOOSIER WORKS FOR CHILD CARE CARD 
A card with a magnetic strip used to electronically document a child’s attendance at a childcare facility.  This card is issued by 
the Intake Office when a family is determined eligible to receive CCDF benefits. 

INCAPACITATED PARENT 
A parent who has a medical condition that prevents him/her from working or attending an educational or training program, and 
who is unable to care for children as verified by a doctor’s statement. 

INCOME ELIGIBLE 
Applicants who are financially eligible for services.  Income eligibility is based on the current poverty level for a specific 
family size. 

INFANT/TODDLER PROGRAM 
Center or home-based care for newborn through 36-month-old children. 

IN-HOME CHILD CARE 
Childcare services provided by an individual who comes into the child’s own home and does not reside at the child’s address 
also known as nanny care. 

INTAKE AGENT 
An entity which is, by contract, obligated to perform CCDF intake and eligibility functions according to state guidelines. 
These functions include, but are not limited to: verifying service need, verifying financial need, accurately enrolling a child 
with a certified provider according to the family’s needs, performing re-certifications as needed, and reporting suspected fraud.  

JOB SEARCH 
Activities conducted inside or outside the home to obtain employment which may include, but are not limited to; employment 
workshops, job fairs, research, contact with potential employers, job interviews, completing and following up on job 
applications, completing pre-employment requirement and job testing. 

JOB TRAINING/EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 
A formal progression of activities designed to lead to specifically defined educational goals or readiness for a specific field of 
employment and provided by an institution licensed or accredited by the state for this purpose. 

LEGAL GUARDIAN 
A person appointed by a court to have the care and custody of a child or the child’s estate, or both. 

LEGALLY LICENSE-EXEMPT FACILITY 
The following are exempt from licensure per IC 12-17-.2-2-8. 

1. A program for children enrolled in grade kindergarten through 12 that is operated by the Department of Education or a 
public or private school. 

2. A program for children who become at least three years of age as of December 1 of a particular school year (as 
defined in IC 20-10.1-2-1) that is operated by the Department of Education or a public or private school. 

3. A nonresidential program for a child that provides child care for less than four hours a day.   

4. A recreation program for children that operates for not more than 90 days in a calendar year.  

5. A program whose primary purpose is to provide social, recreational, or religious activities for school age children, 
such as scouting, boys club, girls club, sports, or the arts.   
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6. A program operated to serve migrant children that: 
a) provides services for children from migrant worker families; and 
b) is operated during a single period of less than 120 consecutive days during a calendar year. 

7. A child care ministry registered under IC 12-17.2-6. 

8. A child care program operated by a public or private secondary school that: 

9. Provides day care on the school premises for children of a student or an employee of the school; 
a) complies with health, safety, and sanitation standards as determined by the division under IC 12-17.2-2-4 for 

child care centers or in accordance with a variance or waiver of a rule governing child care centers approved by 
the division, under IC 12-17.2-2-10; and 

b) substantially complies with the fire and life safety rules as determined by the state fire marshal under rules 
adopted by the division under IC 12-17.2-2-4 for child care centers or in accordance with a variance or waiver of 
a rule governing child care centers approved by the division under  IC 12-17.2-2-10. 

LEGALLY LICENSE-EXEMPT PROVIDER 
1. A program for children enrolled in grade kindergarten through 12 that is operated by the Department of Education or a 

public or private school. 

2. A program for children who become at least three years of age as of December 1 of a particular school year (as 
defined in IC 20-10.1-2-1) that is operated by the Department of Education or a public or private school. 

3. A nonresidential program for a child that provides child care for less than four hours a day. 

4. A recreation program for children that operate for not more than 90 days in a calendar year. 

5. A program whose primary purpose is to provide social, recreational, or religious activities for school age children, 
such as scouting, boys club, girls club, sports, or the arts. 

6. A program operated to serve migrant children that: 
a) provides services for children from migrant worker families; and 
b) is operated during a single period of less than 120 consecutive days during a calendar year. 

7. A child care ministry registered under IC 12-17.2-6 

8. A child care program operated by a public or private secondary school that: 
a) provides day care on the school premises for children of a student or an employee of the school; 
b) complies with health, safety, and sanitation standards as determined by the division under IC 12-17.2-2-4 for 

child care centers or in accordance with a variance or waiver of a rule governing child care centers approved by 
the    division, under IC 12-17.2-2-10; and 

c) substantially complies with the fire and life safety rules as determined by the state fire marshal under rules 
adopted by the division under IC 12-17.2-2-4 for child care centers or in accordance with a variance or waiver of 
a rule governing child care centers approved by the division under IC 12-17.2-2-10. 

9. A child care home if the provider: 
a) does not receive regular compensation:  
b) cares only for children who are related to the provider  
c) cares for less than six children, not including children for whom the provider is a parent, step-parent, guardian, 

custodian, or other relative; or 
d) operates to serve migrant children. 
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Related for purposes of IC 12-17.2 and IC 12-17.4 means any of the following relationships to an individual who is less than 
18 years of age by marriage, blood, or adoption: 

1. Parent 7. Step-brother 
2. Grandparent  8. Step-sister 
3. Brother  9. First cousin 
4. Sister 10. Uncle 
5. Stepparent     11. Aunt 
6. Step-grandparent 

LICENSED PROVIDER 
A provider that meets the legal requirements of the state to provide childcare services and has been issued a license by the 
Division of Family Resources to operate a childcare facility or home. 

MEDICALLY FRAGILE CHILD 
A child characterized by the use of a particular medical device which compensates for the loss of the use of a body function 
and who requires substantial and complex daily care to avert death or further disability. 

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) 
A written agreement between two or more parties which defines the roles and responsibilities of all parties. 

MINOR PARENT 
A parent who is under the age of 18. 

NAEYC ACCREDITATION 
A voluntary, nationally recognized accreditation system for all types of early childhood centers and schools.  It is authorized 
and validated by the National Academy of Early Childhood Programs, a division of the National Association for the Education 
of Young Children (NAEYC). 

NAFCC ACCREDITATION 
A voluntary, nationally recognized accreditation system for family childcare homes.  It is authorized and validated by the 
National Association of Family Child Care (NAFCC). 

NANNY CARE 
Also know as “In Home Care” are childcare services provided by an individual, over 18 years of age, who comes into the 
child’s own home and does not reside at the child’s address. 

NECPAC ACCREDITATION 
A voluntary, nationally recognized accreditation system for early childhood centers. It is authorized and validated by the 
National Early Childhood Program Accreditation Commission. 

NEW APPLICANT 
An individual applying for services who has not participated in the CCDF program for the previous ninety (90) days. 

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE 
Care provided outside Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and sick child care. 

PARENT 
A person related to the eligible child by blood, marriage, or adoption and including a legal guardian or other person standing in 
loco parentis (in the place of a parent). 

PATHS TO QUALITY (PTQ) 
Paths to QUALITY is a system where each level builds on the foundation of the previous one, resulting in significant quality 
improvements at each stage and national accreditation at the highest level.  The system validates programs and providers for 
ongoing efforts to achieve higher standards of quality and provides incentives and awards for success. 
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PERSONAL/ABSENT DAYS 
Twenty (20) days a family may use for a child’s absence per enrollment year. Personal/absent days are provided to children 
who are enrolled on a full-time weekly basis.  These days may be used at the parent’s discretion for days when the provider 
was open for business, and the child was scheduled to attend, but did not attend any part of the day. 

PENDING PROVIDER 
A provider assignment used to obligate funding without payment. 

PHYSICAL CUSTODY 
A child show resides with applicant. 

PIN NUMBER 
A four-digit number, chosen by a parent, to serve in place of their signature when documenting attendance electronically. 

POINT OF SERVICE (POS) DEVICE 
A machine issued to an eligible provider which is used to electronically document the child(ren)’s attendance at the facility and 
generate reports.  

PREVIOUS CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT 
The term to describe the process of documenting a child’s attendance through the use of a Point of Service (POS) device for a 
prior day. 

PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
Services provided by an established agency or organization to protect children or persons at risk of abuse/neglect or 
exploitation.  May also be referred to as CPS (Child Protective Services).  Income eligibility and fee requirements may be 
waived. 

QUALIFIED ALIEN 
An alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act; an alien granted asylum 
under this Act; a refugee admitted under this Act; and alien who is paroled into the U.S. for a period of a year; and alien whose 
deportation is being withheld under the Act; and/or an alien granted conditional entry pursuant to the Act.  Documentation 
must state permanent resident or resident alien. 

RACE 
A major division of human beings, whose members are regarded as having a common ancestry and similar physical traits. 

RE-DETERMINATION 
The process required to determine if an individual or family still meets criteria for receiving services. This process may be 
done no earlier than thirty (30) days before the applicant’s subsidy end date and may not be done after. The Intake Agent may 
complete this through face-to-face interview, mail, or other acceptable means.  

RATIOS (CHILD/STAFF) 
The maximum number of children permitted per direct childcare provider in accordance with state regulations. 

RESIDENT 
A person who lives in the county in Indiana where they are applying or receiving assistance.  This can include a person 
temporarily residing in a domestic or homeless shelter.  Also included are legal (qualified) aliens or students with visas.  There 
is no minimum length of time a client must reside in Indiana. 

RELATIVE CARE 
An individual provider who resides in the child’s home and is a grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt or uncle of the eligible 
child. Reimbursement may only be made in these situations. 

RECIPIENT IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (RID) 
The RID number is a unique identifying number assigned to a reception of State benefits and their household members who 
may or may not be recipients. 
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SCHOOL-AGE CARE 
Before - and/or after – school care services for children ages five to thirteen.   Sites can include childcare centers, childcare 
homes, in-home care, community centers, schools, and churches. 

SHIFT CARE 
A provider may decide to offer childcare services during several shifts of a 24-hour day.  However, CCDF children are to be 
assigned, according to their service needs, to one of two 12-hour shifts (6pm to 6am or 6am to 6pm).  The provider may not 
enroll more than their licensed capacity during either 12-hour shift. A child who needs care that would overlap during these 
shifts shall be assigned to both shifts. 

SINGLE PARENT/GUARDIAN 
A single parent is a parent who is raising a child in a household where the child’s other biological parent or step-parent is not in 
residence.  

SUBGRANTEE 
A provider of services who contracts with the Family and Social Service Administration’s grantee.   A subgrantee must meet 
the same eligibility criteria as the primary grantee and adhere to all FSSA policies and procedures. 

SUBSIDY BEGIN DATE 
The date the family is eligible to begin receiving CCDF services.  The subsidy begin date may not be more than two weeks 
prior to the application date for TANF and TANF Impact clients only. Non-TANF Impact clients, the subsidy begin date must 
occur the week of application or the week following. 

SUBSIDY END DATE 
The date CCDF services will end, unless the family completes the recertification process according to established guidelines. 
Typically, the subsidy end date is six months after the subsidy begin date. 

SUBSTANTIATED 
A determination regarding the status of a child abuse/neglect report whenever facts obtained during an investigation of the 
report provide credible evidence child abuse or neglect has occurred. 

TEMPORARY MEDICAL CONDITION: (TMC) 
A condition which would not be considered permanent by a physician, medical practitioner, or Social Security administration 
and will limit the person’s ability to work, attend school, seek employment or may be unable to care for their children. 
Temporary is defined as lasting less than twelve (12) weeks. A written Temporary Medical Condition statement must be 
provided by a medical practitioner, and provide estimated end date of the condition.  Examples of TMC are: post surgery 
conditions, pregnancy situations, accident related conditions, and mental health related conditions.   

UNLICENSED REGISTERED CHILD CARE MINISTRIES 
Childcare services provided by a religious organization which is exempt from state licensing, but must meet the minimum 
requirements of sanitation, fire prevention, and building safety pursuant to IC12-3-2-12.7(c). 

UPDATE 
The process by which an intake agent completes a periodic review of an applicant’s information and documents changes to the 
application. 

UTILITY 
For purposes of CCDF, a utility is considered water, sewage, electric, cable, natural gas or other home heating source. 

VOLUNTEER CAREGIVER 
An individual who provides or participates in the childcare of a specific child with or without compensation.  

VOUCHER 
A document which authorizes reimbursement of childcare services for a specific child, including: provider, begin date, end 
date, and dollar amount.  Multiple vouchers within the subsidy begin and subsidy end date may be created to facilitate 
flexibility and family choice. 
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VOUCHER BEGIN DATE 
The date a voucher is considered valid for provider reimbursement.  The first voucher begin date must always be the same as 
the subsidy begin date unless the parent has been placed on “approved leave”.  

VOUCHER END DATE 
The date a voucher is no longer considered valid for provider reimbursement.   

WAITING LIST 
A list of children from families who preliminarily meet financial eligibility and declare a service need for CCDF, but for whom 
there are no available CCDF funds. 

WEEK 
Defined as Sunday through Saturday. 

WORKING 
A person receiving wages or salary for performing services for another person or organization or receiving compensation for a 
service or product, then the person is said to be a working person. 
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ACRONYMS 
ABE Adult Basic Education 

ACSI American Christ Schools International 

ADA Americans with Disabilities Act  

AIS Automated Intake System (childcare) 

AG Attorney General 

AJS Applicant Job Search 

BCC Bureau of Child Care 

BOI Bureau of Investigations 

CA/N Child Abuse / Neglect 

CAA Community Action Agency 

CAP Community Action Program 

CCDF Child Care and Development Fund 

CCRR Child Care Resource and Referral 

CDA Child Development Associate 

CHINS Child In Need of Services 

COA Council on Accreditation 

CPS Child Protective Services 

CRO Central Reimbursement Office 

DCS Department of Child Services 

DFR Division of Family Resources 

DOA Department of Administration 

DOE Department of Education 

DS Direct Service 

EC Early Childhood 

EI Early Intervention 

ESL English as a Second Language 

FC Foster Care 

FMLA Family Medical Leave Act 

FPL Federal Poverty Level 

FS First Steps 

FSSA Family and Social Services Administration 

GED General Equivalency Diploma 

HHS Health and Human Services 

HW Hoosier Works 

IACCRR Indiana Association of Child Care Resource and Referral 

IAEYC Indiana Association for the Education of Young Children 
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IASACC Indiana Association of School Age Child Care 

Indiana Code  

ICES Indiana Client Eligibility System (Food stamps, Medicaid, TANF) 

IEP Individual Education Plan 

ILCCA Indiana Licensed Child Care Association 

IMPACT Indiana Manpower Placement and Comprehensive Training 

IPIN Indiana Parent Information Network 

IRS Internal Revenue Service 

ISETS Indiana Support Enforcement Tracking System (Child support) 

LLEP Legally License-Exempt Provider 

MOU Memorandum of Understanding 

NAA  National After-school Accreditation 

NAEYC National Association for the Education of Young Children 

NAFCC National Association of Family Child Care 

NECPA National Early Childhood Program Accreditation 

OCP Office of Community Planning 

OTC Over the Counter (referring to Hoosier Works Card issuing) 

PES Provider Eligibility Standards 

POA Plan of Action 

POS Point of Service 

PRWORA  Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation 

Act of 1996 

PTQ Paths to Quality 

QRS Quality Rating Sytem 

RFF Request for Funds 

RFP Request for Proposal 

RID Recipient Identification Number 

SAC School Age Care (formerly School Age Child Care - SACC) 

SCM State Case Manager 

SCR State Central Registry 

SEC State Eligibility Consultant 

SOS Statement of Service 

SSA Social Security Administration 

SSACC State School Age Child Care 

SSI Supplemental Security Income 

SSN Social Security Number 

TA Technical Assistance 

TANF Temporary Assistance to Need Families (formerly AFDC) 

TMC Temporary Medical Condition 
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Center Agreement Policy and Procedure Manual 

STATE OF INDIANA 

FAMILY AND SOCIAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION 

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT 
FUND CENTER 

INTRODUCTION 

The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) was authorized by Congress through the U. S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, by amending the Child Care and Development Block Grant regulations at 45 CFR Part 
98. Section 103 (c) of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) 
repealed the child care programs authorized under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act — Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC) Child Care, Transitional Child Care, and At-Risk Child Care. In addition, PRWORA 
amended Section 418 of the Social Security Act to provide new federal child care funds and to transfer them to a 
“Lead Agency” under the amended Child Care and Development Block Grant Act. 

In Indiana, the lead agency for the CCDF funding is the Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA), 
Division of Family Resources (DFR). 

The DFR develops and implements policies and procedures for the administration of the grant funds. The CCDF 
State Plan outlines parameters for both local and state levels and includes program outcomes, systems development, 
and eligibility requirements. 

Effective 10/1/2010 14 
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CCDF CENTER GOALS AND PURPOSES 

Section 98.1 of the CCDF Final Rules outlines the goals and purposes of the fund, as follows: 

The goals are to: 

• allow the state maximum flexibility in developing child care programs and policies that best suit the needs of 
the children and parents within the state; 

• promote parental choice to empower working parents to make their own decisions on the child care that best 
suits their family’s needs; 

• provide consumer education information to assist parents in making informed child care choices; 

• assist parents with child care who are trying to achieve independence from public assistance; and 

• assist in implementing the health, safety, licensing, and registration standards established by state regulations. 

The purposes are to: 

• increase the availability, affordability, and quality of child care services; 

• provide low income families with the financial resources to locate and afford quality child care for their 
children; 

• enhance the quality and increase the supply of child care for all families, including those who receive no direct 
assistance under the CCDF; 

• provide parents with a range of options in addressing their child care needs; 

• strengthen the role of the family; 

• improve the quality of and coordination among, child care programs and early childhood development 
programs; and 

• increase the availability of early childhood development and before- and after- school-age care. 
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CENTER PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

Each Center has performance standards that must be adhered to for the duration of the agreement period. Failure to 
comply with these performance standards will result in the termination of the contract or withholding of payment. 

1. Grantee must be in good standing with the Bureau of Child Care licensing section during the agreement period. 

a) License revocation during the agreement period will result in immediate termination of agreement. 

b) Upon receipt of second suspension or probationary license during agreement period, termination of the 
 agreement will result with 30 days notice. 

2. Grantee must meet and maintain accreditation requirements. 

a) Failure to do so will result in immediate agreement termination. 

3. When renewing accreditation, the grantee must be fully accredited by the expiration date of their current  
      accreditation or provide a letter from the accrediting body stating  that he center’s accreditation has been  

extended.

 a) Failure to do will result in immediate agreement termination. 

4. Grantee must attend all mandatory trainings, unless specifically excused by the Bureau of Child Care. 

a) Failure to do so may result in termination of agreement with 30 days notice. 

PURPOSE OF THIS MANUAL 

The purpose of this manual is to provide CCDF Grantee with policies, procedures and guidelines to follow as they 
facilitate intake and eligibility services to prospective CCDF Center families 
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CCDF CHILD CARE SYSTEM 

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Issues federal regulations and collects data 

INDIANA FAMILY AND SOCIAL SERVICE ADMINISTRATION 
Lead agency for CCDF administration 

DIVISION OF FAMILY RESOURCES  
Issues program policies, procedures, parameters, monitors contracts, and collects data.  

Develops and evaluates the CCDF State Plan and is accountable for administration of funds. 

CENTRAL REIMBURSEMENT OFFICE (CRO) 
Administers funds according to state and federal guidelines 

Pays provider claims 

CCDF COUNTY PARTNERS 

CCRR  
Assists parents in 
finding childcare, 
recruits and trains  

childcare 
providers.  

INTAKE 
AGENT 

Contracts with  
State to enroll 

families in  
accordance with 
state and federal  

regulations  

LOCAL DFR 
Directs TANF  

referrals to Intake 
Agent, 

participates in  the 
evaluation of  

county services  

PROVIDER 
ELIGIBILITY 
SPECIALIST  

Assists, inspects, 
and certifies 

legally-license 
exempt childcare 

providers as  
CCDF eligible 

FAMILIES 
Low-income families are assisted with childcare expenses, benefits from services such as 

Child Care Resource and Referral (CCRR), and education opportunities 

PROVIDERS 
Legally operating and certified to meet minimum health and safety standards 

Provide quality childcare to families 
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CCDF Center Priorities 

Child Care services are to be provided in accordance with the following goals: 

Goal I: To achieve or maintain economic self support to prevent, reduce, or eliminate dependence (i.e. work, 
training or educational activities), OR 

Goal II: To prevent or remedy neglect, abuse, or exploitation of children unable to protect their own interests 
(referrals from child Protective Services (DCS) from the local Division of Children Services). 

Child Care Services must be provided to eligible families on a continuous basis for the entire agreement  
period as long as the family remains eligible.  
 

SERVICE DEFINITIONS: 

Child Care (0200) 

A service which offers care and supervision of children in licensed child care centers. Services must consist of 
nutritious meals and snacks, and activities geared to meet the appropriate developmental needs of the children 
served. The service may be provided in daily, weekly or hourly units. The service does not include transportation. 

RESTRICTION OF FUNDS 

CCDF Direct Service Funds can not be used for: 

1. The non-federal share (match) for other Federal grant programs; 

2. The purchase or improvement of land, or for the purchase, construction, or permanent 
improvement of any building or facility; 

3. Grants or contracts reimbursement for any sectarian purpose or activity, including sectarian 
worship or instruction except as provided in 45 CFR 98.30(4) and (5); 

4. Supplementing program support; and 

5. Supplementing quality initiatives. 

6. Tuition. Funds may not be expended for students enrolled in grades one through twelve for:  
a. Any service provided to such students during the regular school day; 
b. Any service for which  such students receive academic credit toward graduation; or 
a. Any instructional services that supplant or duplicate the academic program of any public or 

private school. 
7. Child care services provided by a CCDF Center for a child also enrolled in the CCDF voucher 

program. A child may not be enrolled or reimbursed simultaneously under both the CCDF child 
care voucher program and a CCDF Center program.  

Effective 10/1/2010 18 
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. 

CONFIDENTIALITY 

CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS 

It is permissible to exchange client (family) information between the Intake Agent and the Local DFR if allowed by 
law, and vice versa, when necessary for the administration of the program. Other parties requesting client (family) 
information must have the written permission of the client or must obtain a court order. 

CONFIDENTIALITY ON THE PHONE 

As required by IC 5-22-3-7: 
The Contractor and any principals of the Contractor certify 

the Contactor, except for de minimis and nonsystematic violation, has not violated the terms of: 
• IC 24-4.7 (Telephone Solicitation of Consumers), 
• IC 24-5-12 (Telephone Solicitations), or 
• IC 24-5-14 (Regulation of Automatic Dialing Machine) in the previous 365 days, even 

if IC24-4.7 is preempted by federal law; and 
the Contactor will not violate the terms of IC24-4.7 for the duration of the Contact, even if IC24-
4.7 is preempted by federal law. 

The Contractor and any principals of the Contractor certify an affiliate or principal of the Contractor and 
any agent acting on behalf of the contractor or on behalf of an affiliate or principal of the Contactor; 

 except for de minimis and nonsystematic violations, has violated the terms of IC24-4.7 in the 
previous 365 days, even if IC24-4.7 is preempted by federal law; and 

 will not violate the terms of IC24-4.7 for the duration of the Contract, even if IC24-4.7 is 
preempted by federal law. 

ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES 
All families must meet the service need, financial need, identity, residency and age requirements to access 
CCDF Agreement services. The Grantee must initially determine that all adults in the family meet the 
service and financial need to qualify for CCDF Agreement services. The Grantee will indicate the number 
of weeks that child care services should be authorized and the weekly charges. The Grantee will print the 
referral and attach a completed Provider Information Page and give it to the parent. Failure of the parent to 
complete the application process with the intake agent may result in the Grantee’s ability to receive 
reimbursement for the child’s care. 

SERVICE NEED 

o Employment, Unemployment; or 
o A certified or accredited training or educational program, including high school adult basic 

education, or GED. Post-secondary activities may take place inside/outside of the home ; or 
o TANF IMPACT approved activity; or 
o Job search activity; or 
o Child Protective Services 

Effective 10/1/2010 19 
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FINANCIAL NEED 

Financial Need: Effective 10/1/2002, a new applicant (see definition of new applicant) must have gross 
monthly family income less than 127% of the Federal Poverty Level to be enrolled in the program. 
Effective 9/30/2007, families may remain on the CCDF program as long as the family’s Federal Poverty 
Level is less than 171%. 

INCAPACITATED PARENT 

The parent/guardian who has a medical condition that prevents him/her from working and is unable to care 
for children as verified by a doctor’s statement is considered incapacitated. This condition could be 
temporary or permanent, however, the benefits a parent/guardian receives is dependent on the number of 
adults living in the household. These conditions could include family medical leave, post surgery 
conditions, pregnancy, post childbirth conditions, accident related conditions and mental health related 
conditions. 

MATERNITY LEAVE 
CCDF benefits may be provided while a parent/guardian is on maternity, provided the leave does not 
exceed twelve (12) weeks. The parent/guardian must provide the following:  

 Proof of birth/pregnancy 
 If reported prior to leave, statement from their employer indicating they have been assured of 

returning to their employment or documentation they are on family medical leave 
 If reported after leave, verification of current employment or current check stub.  

TWO PARENT HOUSEHOLD 
(One parent working and one parent incapacitated) 
CCDF benefits may be provided to allow one parent/guardian to participate in employment. The 
incapacitated parent must provide valid doctor’s statement which indicates the following: 
 Parent/guardian is unable to participate in a service need 
 Parent/guardian is unable to care for their children 
 Length of time parent/guardian is anticipated to be incapacitated 

The incapacitated parent/guardian’s service need shall be entered as the service need of the active 
parent. 

TWO PARENT HOUSEHOLD 
(One parent temporarily incapacitated and one parent permanently incapacitated) 
CCDF benefits can be continued when one parent has a temporary medical condition which prevents the 
parent form participating in their employment and the other parent is permanently incapacitated. Both 
parent/guardians must provide a valid doctor’s statement which indicates the following: 
 Parent/guardian is unable to participate in a service need 
 Parent/guardian is unable to care for their children 
 Length of time parent/guardian is anticipated to be incapacitated 

The parent/guardian who is temporarily incapacitated must also provide a statement from their employer 
indicating they have been assured of returning to their job or documentation they are on family medical 
leave. The permanently incapacitated parent/guardian’s service need shall be entered as the service need 
of the active parent. 
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TWO PARENT HOUSHOLD 
(Both parents temporarily incapacitated) 
CCDF benefits can be continued when both parents have a temporary medical condition which prevents 
the parents from participating in their service need. Both parents/guardians must provide a valid doctor’s 
statement which indicates the following: 
 Parent/guardian is unable to participate in a service need 
 Parent/guardian is unable to care for their children 
 Length of time parent/guardian is anticipated to be incapacitated 

Both parents must also provide a statement from their employer indicating they have been assured of 
returning to their job or documentation they are on family medical leave. If one parent is participating in 
a training activity, this parent must also provide the current semester’s school schedule when released 
from their doctor.  

TWO PARENT HOUSEHOLD 
(One parent on approved leave and one parent incapacitated) 
CCDF eligibility is maintained when one parent is on approved leave and one parent is incapacitated, 
however, no child care benefits will be paid. Both parent/guardians must provide appropriate 
documentation. 

Incapacitated parent/guardian must provide a valid doctor’s statement which indicates the following:  
 Parent/guardian is unable to participate in a service need 
 Parent/guardian is unable to care for their children 
 Length of time parent/guardian is anticipated to be incapacitated 

The parent/guardian on approved leave must provide the following: 
 Doctor’s statement indicating parent/guardian is unable to participated in their service need 
 Doctor’s statement indicating the length of time parent/guardian is anticipated to be on leave 

(must be less than twelve (12) weeks) 
 Statement from their employer indicating they have been assured of returning to their 

employment or documentation they are on family medical leave 

The parents/guardians service need shall be recorded as the service need of the parent/guardian on 
approved leave. 

SINGLE PARENT HOUSEHOLD 
CCDF benefits can be continued when a parent has a temporary medical condition which prevents the 
parent/guardian from working. The following documentation must be provided: 
 Doctor’s statement indicating the parent is unable to participate in their service need 
 Doctor’s statement indicating the parent is unable to care for their child(ren) 
 Doctor’s statement indicating the length of time the parent is anticipated to be on leave (must be 

less than twelve (12) weeks) 
 Statement from their employer indicating they have been assured of returning to their 

employment or documentation they are on family medical leave 

APPROVED LEAVE 
An approved temporary lapse in service need, which does not exceed twelve (12) weeks, during 
which child care is not needed yet eligibility is maintained. Examples include: 

• Family medical leave
• Maternity leave
• Temporary changes in formal custody
• A break in school of less than four (4) weeks or twelve (12) weeks for 

a returning junior or senior high school applicant

Effective 10/1/201021 
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TEMPORARY LOSS OF SERVICE NEED (EDUCATION) 
If a CCDF recipient is currently enrolled as a student, the voucher(s) for the child(ren) may be placed in 
“Approved Leave” during breaks in school which do not exceed 4 weeks provided the CCDF applicant 
plans to return to school at the end of the break.  If the parent is a junior or senior high school parent, the 
vouchers may be placed in “Approved Leave” for up to 12 weeks as long as the minor parent intends to 
return to junior or senior high school.  This action ensures the child will have CCDF benefits when the 
parent returns to school. 

CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
Families with children who receive or need to receive protective services as verified by the Local OFC can 
be eligible for CCDF child care services provided the CPS caseworker indicates the family needs child care 
out of the child’s home. The service and financial need requirements are waived for children who have 
been referred by their CPS caseworker as needing out of home care as part of the CPS case plan. A child 
who has been placed into another home is not eligible for this exception. This is for children who have not 
been removed from their own home but need outside care as identified by the CPS caseworker 

RESIDENCY 
The applicant and/or eligible child(ren) must be a citizen of the U. S. or a qualified (legal) alien and 
currently reside in Indiana. Only the citizenship and immigration status of the child, who is the primary 
beneficiary of the child care benefit, is relevant for eligibility purposes. The applicant must apply for CCDF 
in his/her county of  residence. This can include a person who is temporarily residing in a domestic or 
homeless shelter in Indiana.  There is no minimum length of time a person must reside in Indiana to obtain 
benefits. 

AGE REQUIREMENTS 
Children under the age of thirteen (13) and children ages 13 through 17 who meet the definition of a child 
with special needs (see definitions) or are under court supervision are considered eligible.  

PHYSICAL CUSTODY  
The individual, parent or guardian, having physical custody of the child is considered the applicant for CCDF 
benefits. Custody may be formal or non-formal. If the child is in informal custody and is NOT considered a foster 
child placed with a licensed foster family, the custodial adult(s) income WILL be considered when determining 
financial need. If a foster child is placed in a home with an unlicensed foster family, the foster parent(s) income 
WILL be considered when determining financial need.  

MINOR PARENT 
Minor parents must be in a training/education program and/or employed. The minor parent is the applicant 
for CCDF benefits and the minor parent and his/her child(ren) are considered a separate family unless the 
monor parent is in the household but is not the primary caregiver as documented by the applicant in 
writing, including signature and date. This statement must be provided with each application sequence until 
the minor parent is no longer in the applicant’s CCDF household.  Minor parent means a parent under age 
eighteen (18). 

NOTE: If a minor parent is an elementary, middle, junior or senior high school student, the voucher(s) for 
the child(ren) may be placed in “Approved Leave” for a break in school not to exceed twelve (12) weeks. 
The minor parent must plan to return to junior or senior high school at the end of the break. The action 
ensures the child(ren) will have CCDF benefits when the parent returns to school. 
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TEMPORARY CHANGES IN CUSTODY  
When physical custody of a child(ren) is no longer with the CCDF applicant due to a formal custody 
agreement, a child(ren)’s voucher may be place in “ Approved Leave” for the period of time the child(ren) 
are not in the CCDF applicant’s physical custody. This period may not exceed twelve (12) weeks. This 
action ensures the child(ren) will continue to receive CCDF benefits when the child(ren) returns to the 
CCDF applicant’s home.   

If the individual who obtains temporary custody of the child(ren) also need childcare, the individual with 
temporary custody may apply for CCDF benefits according to CCDF policies.  

CHANGES IN PHYSICAL CUSTODY 
When physical custody of a child(ren) currently receiving CCDF benefits changes due to a catastrophic 
event, the child(ren) may be entitled to continued benefits should the individual with physical custody meet 
CCDF eligibility guidelines. Catastrophic events include:  

 Death/loss of parent/guardian  
 Incarceration of parent/guardian 
 Placement with a foster family or other guardian as identified by the Department of Child 

Services or placement back into the child’s home.  
 Deployment of parent into active military service. 

PARENTS IN THE MILITARY 
The person with physical custody of the child(ren) is considered the applicant(s) for benefits. Their service and 
financial need would be considered for eligibility. When a married couple is in the military, the parent stationed 
away from home shall also be counted in the family’s household size and their income shall be counted toward 
eligibility. 

FOSTER FAMILIES 

Definition of Foster Parent: An individual who provides care and supervision as a substitute family on a 24-
hour basis to a child who is deemed a ward of the local office of the Department of Child Services.  A 
foster parent with the appropriate documentation, including valid Foster Family Home License, may be 
considered a valid applicant for enrollment of the foster child to the CCDF program.  Foster parent of the 
same gender are both considered applicant for the CCDF program. 

Foster parent(s) must document they are currently working or in a certified or accredited education or training 
program to be eligible for CCDF benefits. If the foster parent is applying for childcare for the foster child(ren), then 
the income of the foster parent(s), including the foster child per diem is not counted . Therefore the foster child is 
considered a “family of one”. The applicant, who is the foster parent, will not be counted in the household. When 
foster children are biological siblings, the children may be listed on the same application. Documentation 
required: 

√ Copy of the foster parent’s valid Foster Family Home License (State Form 45562) which matches 
foster parent’s residency verification 

√ Documentation from approving authority indicating the foster license has been renewed or address 
has been changed 

√ Verification the child is a ward of the State, such as, Medical Authorization (State Form 3319), court 
placement order, current per diem documentation or documentation from the DCS caseworker.  

At re-determination, the Intake Agent must assure the foster parent has a valid Foster Family Home License and 
obtain a current per diem statement with child’s name or current documentation from the DCS caseworker 
including child’s name. 
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CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 

Documentation of a child with special needs must be made by evidence of enrollment in one or more of the 
following program or services: 

 Children with Special Health Care Services; 
 First Steps Early Intervention System; 
 Public School Special Education; 
 Supplemental Security Income (SSI); 
 Head Start (those professionally diagnosed children with disabilities). 

With parental consent, a copy of the program enrollment forms may be obtained and used as documentation 
of special needs. Benefit letters, enrollment numbers, or program cards can also be used as documentation 
of enrollment. For children age thirteen (13) or over, the required special needs documentation must 
indicate the child’s need for adult supervision at all times.  

If documentation/verification of enrollment in at least one of the above indicated programs cannot be 
obtained, the child will not be considered as a child with special needs until the documentation/verification 
can be provided. Provider and/or parents cannot self-declare a child has special needs. 

Routine claim procedures are to be followed.  Reimbursement will be made only for approved childcare 
services provided by an eligible provider for as long as funds are available and the child remains eligible. 

ADDITIONAL COST FOR SPECIAL NEEDS 
Not all child care programs may need an increased reimbursement rate to meet the child care costs of a child with 
special needs. Many children with special need can be included with no additional cost to the provider.  

In order to calculate the actual childcare costs for a child with special needs,  the provider is to document and 
maintain accounting records reflecting only legitimate costs directly related to childcare services, per individual 
child, which do not include services associated with the child’s individual disability funded by other sources, or the 
elected choice of the parent. Only those childcare costs not associated with the American’s With Disabilities 
Act (ADA) accommodation may be integrated into the cost structure. For questions regarding legitimate 
expenses, contact your CCDF Policy Consultant.  

Once a child is verified as having special needs and the provider has documented additional childcare related 
expenses are necessary to provide childcare to the child, the Central Reimbursement Office (CRO) may reimburse 
up to, but not exceeding 10%, over/above the market rate in accordance with the child’s age category/care 
setting. 

The Intake Agent is to keep the child’s eligibility for the special needs rate and the provider’s documentation on 
file. Justification for the increased rate and the child’s eligibility for the increased rate must also be maintained on 
site in the child’s file for audit review. The increased reimbursement rate for children with special needs must be 
reviewed at each re-determination.  

Routine claim procedures are to be followed. Reimbursement will be made only for approved childcare services 
provided by an eligible provider for as long as funds are available and the child remains eligible.  

SIX MONTH ELIGIBILITY RE-DETERMINATION (UPDATE) 

THE GUIDELINES 
The Intake Agent must conduct an eligibility re-determination (update) with each family at least every six months. 
This requires the completion of a new Application, Form 805, as well as re-verifying and documenting the family’s 
eligibility. The Grantee must complete a new referral and page 3 of the 805 application form, Provider Information 
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Page, for the parent requesting CCDF Center child care services. A re-determination (update) may be completed 30 
days before the subsidy end date, but never after. It is the responsibility of the Intake agent to notify the parent 
of the impending recertification 30 calendar days prior to the subsidy end date. This notification will also 
serve as ten-day notice should the family be found as ineligible at the time of their re-determination (update). 
If a family is found to be no longer CCDF eligible, the ten-day notice period will NOT be extended past the 
subsidy end date. 

NOTE: Intake Agents should include a question about a family’s TANF status as part of any re-
determination (update) interview. 

CHANGES IN FAMILY CIRCUMSTANCES 
Required to Report 

The grantee must report changes in information to the intake agent within ten (10) calendars days of date of 
occurrence: 

• Address change  
• Phone number change  
• Change in family size  
• Change in TANF status 
• Loss of service need 
• Job Loss – reported within ten (10) days 

CHANGES IN FAMILY CIRCUMSTANCES 
Not Required to Report 

Applicants are not required to report, the following changes. 

• Change in Service Need 
• Change in Service Type  
• Change in income 

DENIAL OF APPLICANT APPLICATION 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION  

A family is to be denied services in writing for any of the following reasons: 
• Family income above 127% of poverty, at initial application 
• Family income above 170% of poverty, at re-determination or update 
• Co-pay exceeds weekly charge 
• Child (the primary beneficiary of the service) is not a U.S. citizen, qualified alien and/or resident of the 

county or state 
• Failure to provide complete information at time of enrollment 
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• Deliberate misrepresentation of information on the application 
• No longer has a service need that meets CCDF eligibility criteria 
• No CCDF funds available in the county 
• Conviction of illegal receipt of government funds 
• CCDF fraud conviction; and/or 
• Failure to repay overpayment agreement 

TERMINATION OF APPLICATION 
The family or child (if applicable) may be terminated from service for any of the following reasons: 

• Failure to pay family co-payment, if reported within thirty (30) days; 
• Failure of an applicant to electronically document their child(ren)’s attendance 
• Allowing another person to use their Hoosier Works for Child Care card to document attendance  
• More than three changes of caregiver in 12 month period 
• Full-family sanction 

The family or child (if applicable) will be terminated from service for one of the following reasons: 
• CCDF fraud conviction 
• Failure to report loss of service need, unless there is a valid repayment agreement; 
• Expiration of period of subsidy eligibility 
• Failure to fully reimburse in-home child care provider 
• Failure to complete required CCDF enrollment paperwork 
• Welfare fraud conviction  
• Child turns 13 (or 18 if child has a documented special need or need for court ordered supervision) 
• A child who is the primary beneficiary of services is not a US citizen, qualified alien, and/or resident of the 

county and/or state. 
• Failure to repay overpayment agreement according to the terms of the agreement 
• Co-pay exceeds weekly charge 
• Sixty(60) days of claim inactivity on a voucher 

APPLICANT NOTIFICATION OF TERMINATION 

If services are terminated to a client after the application has been signed, the family must receive at least ten-
calendar day written notice. The child’s provider must also be notified in writing by the Intake Agent at least ten 
(10) calendar days prior to the effective date of the action. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD CARE SERVICES 

Services provided during this ten-day period of notification are considered allowable childcare costs for  
reimbursement under the CCDF child care program.  However, the Intake Agent must assure child care 
benefits are not paid beyond this notification period. 

Service for childcare provided during an applicant’s appeal action, WILL NOT be reimbursed after the ten-day 
termination period.  However, if a finding is held in the applicant’s favor, all childcare during the appeal process 
will be paid retroactively at the rate determined prior to termination provided the applicant completes CCDF 
enrollment forms timely and has utilized childcare through an eligible CCDF provider.  
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APPLICANT APPEAL PROCEDURE 

The Intake Agent must inform the applicant of the Parent Appeal Process at time of initial applicant and at each re-
determination.  

When any adverse action is taken, such as denial, termination or increased co-pay, there is a three (3) step appeal 
process. 

STEP 1: Within ten calendar days of receipt of Adverse Action letter, the applicant must send written 
request for appeal to the local Intake Agent Supervisor.   

The Intake Agent has ten calendar days to review the request and respond in writing. This 
response must provide information on the next step in the appeal process. The Intake Agent will 
document research to support any decision made. The documentation shall be placed into the 
parent file. 

STEP 2: If the applicant is not satisfied with the decision of the Intake Agent Supervisor, the applicant must 
send written request for appeal to the Child Care Administrator of the Bureau of Child Care within 
15 calendar days of receipt of the denial letter from the Intake Agent Supervisor. 

Child Care Administrator 
Attn: CCDF Appeals 
402 W. Washington Street, W-361 MS02 
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2739 

The Child Care Administrator has 15 calendar days to review the request and respond in writing. This 
response must provide information on the next step in the appeal process.   

STEP 3: If the applicant is not satisfied with the decision of the Child Care Administrator, they have 15 
calendar days from receipt of letter from the Child Care Administrator to submit a final written 
request for appeal to the: 

Director of the Division of Family Resources 
Attn: CCDF Appeals 
402 W. Washington Street, W-361 MS02

  Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2739 

The Division Director of DFR has 15 calendar days to review the decision of the Child Care 
Administrator of the Bureau of Child Care and respond in writing. 

The decision of the Director of the Division of Family Resources is final. 

LIMITATIONS OF APPEAL 

All requests for appeals and responses must be in writing 

If an applicant misses the timeline, the right to appeal is forfeited.  All appeals sent by applicants will be counted as 
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sent on the date as postmarked.  All dates on responses by the state will be counted as sent on the date of postmark.   

COUNTY CHILD CARE MARKET RATE 

Although childcare reimbursement is based on the individual provider’s charge for service, there are established 
maximum reimbursement rates. These maximum rates are determined by a local market rate survey of Indiana 
licensed child care providers. 

HOW RATES ARE DETERMINED 
Survey results are compiled for each county through the oversight of the Division of Family Resources (DFR). 
Maximum county rates are established for full time weekly, daily, and hourly charges for center care, as well as, for 
childcare homes. Separate market rates are established for providers accredited by a recognized body, licensed and 
legally exempt childcare providers. The market rate table also reflects the above rates for each age category.  The 
rates established are the maximum reimbursed for subsidized childcare programs administered through the DFR. 

The established market rates are automatically entered into the Intake Software.  Should the Intake Agent discover 
any market rate errors in the software, the CCDF Policy Consultant should be contacted immediately. 

MARKET RATE CATEGORIES 
 Infant – a child 0 to 11 months of age 
 Toddler – a child 12-35 months of age 
 Three, Four and Five - children ages three, four or five 
 Kindergarten – a child six years of age regardless of whether they are attending kindergarten or a 

child enrolled in kindergarten 
 School-age – a child attending school for the entire day needing care during traditional hours, 

including children attending all day kindergarten 
 School-age other – a child attending school for the entire day needing care during non-traditional 

hours or a child attending school currently on summer break or qualifying year-round school break. 
A child’s voucher should be assigned a new age category the Sunday following their birthday, unless their birthday 
falls on a Sunday in which case the new voucher shall be assigned on the child’s birthday. 

IMPLEMENTATION OF MARKET RATES 
The local market rate survey is updated at least every two years.  Final versions of the market rate are made 
available to Intake Agents with instructions and the date of implementation.  If the provider reimbursement will be 
adversely affected, the Intake Agent must given a written ten (10) calendar day notice prior to any changes taking 
effect. If the provider reimbursement is effective after the subsidy end date of the current application, no notice is 
necessary. 

HOW PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT IS CALCULATED 
When the amount a provider charges is less than the market rate, the provider’s actual charge is the maximum child 
care reimbursement made under this program. When the amount charged by the provider is greater than the market 
rate, the maximum reimbursement made under the program is the established market rate. In these situations, the 
child’s parent or caregiver must assume responsibility for any additional costs of care, or the provider must be 
willing to accept a lower rate of reimbursement. 

Although many child care providers charge on a weekly basis, there are also providers who charge daily and/or 
hourly rates for the services they provide. The amount of child care subsidy allowed for care in this situation is 
determined based upon the actual rate established by the child care provider for all children in the care setting 
whose needs are similar to those of the child for whom the subsidy is requested. However, in no case will the total 
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daily or hourly subsidy reimbursed for care be  greater than the full time weekly market rate. Under no  
circumstances can the provider’s actual charge be paid if it exceeds the market rate except in documented  
case of special needs. Further, the hourly rate of reimbursement should never exceed the daily rate. 
 
OVER RATE CHARGE 
When the chosen provider’s established rates exceed the county market rate, this difference is called an “Over-Rate 
or Overage Charge”.  It is the responsibility of the application to discuss this balance with the provider. The 
provider may waive this charge if desired. 

FAMILY CO-PAY 
DEFINITION: A family’s fee for childcare calculated using the Division of Family Resources’ Child Care Income 
Eligibility Determination and Sliding Fee Scale. 

Families with gross monthly income at or below 100% of poverty will have a zero co-payment. Families with gross 
monthly income over 100% are required to pay a co-payment. This weekly co-payment is determined at the time of 
the interview and is not based on actual attendance. When families have multiple children, the co-payment is based 
on the child requiring the most care.  

The family pays the fee to the provider directly. The family is responsible for the co-payment amount 
determined at eligibility determination, regardless of future attendance. The provider is responsible for 
collecting the fee from the parent. Failure to pay family fees may result in termination of the child(ren) from the 
program provided it is reported to the Intake Agent within thirty (30) days. 

INCREASED CO-PAY FEES 
If a co-payment is increased after an application has been signed, the applicant and provider must receive a written 
ten (10) calendar day notice. If this increase occurs at re-certification, the increase will take affect as of the subsidy 
begin date without notice. 

INCREASED PROVIDER FEES 
If a provider increases their rates or becomes eligible for a higher market rate, the change may only take place at the 
time of CCDF family re-determination. A provider achieving accreditation, through an approved Bureau of Child 
Care (BCC) accrediting body, is offered an exception to the rule. Once approved, the provider must submit a new 
Provider Information Page to the Intake Agent for each child affected by the new provider charges. The Intake 
Agent will have a maximum of five (5) business days to complete these changes. If the Provider Information Page 
is not received by the Intake Agent within thirty (30) days of BCC approval, the change will only take place at the 
time of CCDF family re-determination. 
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Documenting Attendance 

ENROLLING WITH THE CRO  

The state contractor responsible for installation and maintenance of all Point of Service (POS) devices will contact 
the childcare provider to install a POS device at their facility. This will happen after the provider has at least one 
CCDF child enrolled in their childcare program. At the time of installation, the provider will receive a short training 
on the use of the machine as well as documents to complete their CCDF Provider enrollment. These forms include:  

• POS device contract 
• Provider Holiday Statement 
• Discrepancy claim form with instructions 
• Statement of Service form, to keep as backup documentation 
• Payment schedule 
• Direct deposit form 
• W-9 form 

PARENT / PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITY 

CCDF providers must require parents to use their assigned Point of Service (POS) device as the method for 
documenting attendance for all CCDF children. 

When a provider has completed enrollment with the Central Reimbursement Office (CRO), the provider will be 
given a POS device for the purposes of electronically documenting children’s attendance. The parent is responsible 
for utilizing their Hoosier Works for Child Care card to electronically document their child(ren)’s attendance. The 
provider is responsible for verifying an enrolled child’s parent/guardian is properly documenting their child(ren)’s 
attendance. In addition, the provider is responsible for maintaining attendance records which support their 
electronic childcare claim (i.e. Parent Sign-in/out Sheets or other appropriate method.) 

When properly used, attendance will be electronically transmitted to the CRO. This information is used to calculate 
the provider’s childcare reimbursement which is electronically deposited into the provider’s designated bank 
account on the date specified.  

NOTE: The POS device should not be used as the sole source of attendance documentation. A provider should 
maintain back-up attendance records which include date, time of arrival and time of departure, as well as, custodial 
adult signature when possible. 

In the event a provider has not received their POS device which results in an under-payment for childcare provided, 
the provider may file a Discrepancy Claim. This claim form must be submitted on the form provided to the address 
indicated on the form within sixty (60) days of the last day of childcare. Late claims will be denied unless resulting 
from a data change request. 

FAILING TO USE THE POS DEVICE  

Failure of the applicant and/or provider to properly use the POS device WILL result in a CCDF underpayment or 
non-payment for childcare services. 

If a custodial adult continually fails to utilize the POS machine to document their child(ren)’s attendance, the 
provider should notify the Intake Agent of the problem. It is the responsibility of the Intake Agent to send a ten (10) 
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calendar day written notice to the applicant informing them their failure to electronically document their 
child(ren)’s attendance may result in termination of services. A copy of this written notification should be sent to 
the provider. The Intake Agent shall follow-up in ten (10) days to determine if the parent is using their childcare 
card to electronically document attendance. If the applicant or authorized user has not, their application shall be 
terminated. 

60-DAY LATE CLAIMS 
Providers should not allow discrepancy claims to accumulate. If a discrepancy claim is received sixty (60) days past 
the last day of the period claimed, the late claim must include a letter stating the request is due to a data change. 
The Bureau of Child Care reserves the right to deny a late claim. 

PROVIDERS WITH MULTIPLE LOCATIONS 
Providers are to care for a child at the site to which the child was assigned by the Intake Agent. Providers with 
multiple sites must have custodial adults use the Point of Service (POS) devices assigned to the specific site in 
order to electronically document attendance. The POS device should be located in the facility where child care is 
assigned. The provider must ensure children attend and are claimed at the site to which they are assigned. 

PROVIDERS WHO MOVE 
If a provider moves to a new facility, the provider must demonstrate compliance with applicable CCDF Provider 
Eligibility Standards prior to accepting payment for care provided at the new address. Custodial adults must contact 
the Intake Agent to change their childcare vouchers to the provider’s new address prior to the effective date of the 
change. The Intake Agent will not be able to complete the request until the new facility appears in the Intake 
Software. This will not happen until the provider has met all requirements for participation. Once vouchers have 
been assigned to the new address, the provider must contact the CRO for assistance in programming their Point of 
Service (POS) device to reflect the change in address. 

NOTE: If a provider moves without prior notification, there may be an interruption in payment or the provider may 
be paid for childcare determined to be inappropriate and require repayment. If a provider begins to care for children 
prior to demonstrating compliance with applicable CCDF Provider Eligibility Standards, the provider may not be 
paid for services provided. 

ATTENDANCE 
FULL TIME CARE 

NON-SCHOOL AGE CHILDREN  
Full time care is defined as twenty-five (25) hours or more per week, for non school-age children. When 
the child care provider charges a flat weekly rate, the child must attend a minimum of twenty-five (25) 
hours per week, Sunday through Saturday, to qualify for the flat weekly rate. For children enrolled on a 
daily basis (four (4) hours or more) or hourly basis, reimbursement can be made only for the time a child is 
in attendance. Reimbursement for care can never exceed the full time weekly market rate. 

FULL DAY KINDERGARTEN 
Children who attend all day public school kindergarten are considered full time, school age children for 
market rate purposes. The same rules for school age children apply in these cases.  

SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN (SCHOOL YEAR) 
Full time care for school-age children is defined as fifteen (15) hours or more per week, Sunday through 
Saturday, during the school year when school is in session. When a school-age provider charges a flat 
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weekly rate, the full weekly rate can be paid for the school-age children who attend at least fifteen (15) 
hours per week, Sunday through Saturday, during the school year when school is in session. For children 
enrolled on a daily (three (3) hours or more) or hourly basis, reimbursement can be made only for the time 
the child was in attendance. Reimbursement for care can never exceed the full-time weekly market rate. 

SCHOOL-AGE OTHER CHILDREN (SUMMER & NON-TRADITIONAL) 
During the summer when school is not in session, and for care provided when an applicant works non-
traditional hours any time during the calendar year, full time care for school-age children is defined as 
twenty-five (25) hours or more per week. For children enrolled on a daily (four (4) hours or more) or 
hourly basis, reimbursement is to be made only for the time a child is in attendance. Reimbursement for 
care can never exceed the full-time weekly market rate.  

NOTE: School-other rates may also be paid for school-age children for the period of time when school is 
not in session. This time includes: summer vacation only. Exception: Children attending year-round school 
are eligible for school-other rates when the break in school is greater than two (2) weeks or has been 
approved by a BCC Policy Consultant.  

PERSONAL DAYS 
When enrolled full-time with a full-time weekly subsidy, each family is allowed twenty (20) personal days per child 
during their enrollment year for which reimbursement can be made if a child is absent. The personal days can be 
used at the parent’s discretion. The Intake Agent is expected to explain personal day usage to the applicant at time 
of enrollment. 

NOTE: Personal days may be used for days the provider is open for business, the child was scheduled to attend, and 
the child did not attend any portion of the day. 

Parents have the option of choosing when they want to use their twenty (20) personal days for each child. Once the 
twenty (20) days are exhausted (for each child), the parent is responsible to pay for any days the child does not 
attend. Personal days may not be used to provide two-week notice. Any requirement for notice is between the 
parent and the provider.  

Children with Special Health Needs: For children with special health situations (i.e. prolonged illness or 
injury) the treating physician is to document the child’s needs for treatment and/or recuperation. This 
prescribed time may result in absences in excess of twenty (20) days. The Intake Agent and parent must 
work closely on the length of the absence. Documentation and request for a waiver must be submitted to 
the CCDF Policy Consultant for consideration. 

HOLIDAYS 
Reimbursement may be made to providers with an established written policy to charge all consumers for days they 
are closed due to a holiday. The provider may be reimbursed by the CCDF program for up to six (6) days per 
calendar year, per child, for children enrolled with a full-time weekly rate. The facility must be closed to be paid for 
the holiday. The provider must select the holidays, in advance, by completing the required documentation provided 
by the Central Reimbursement Office. 

NOTE: A child must be in attendance at least one day, in the previous two (2) weeks, prior to the holiday to be paid 
for the holiday. 

OTHER COSTS 
Registration costs, mandatory fees and other optional child care expenses, such as art and gymnastics programs or  
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transportation costs, cannot be paid through the CCDF program 

PROVIDER COMPONENT 
Childcare reimbursement is only authorized to qualified child care sites. Qualified site is defined as an accredited 
childcare center that is licensed by the State and is accredited by an approved National organization on or before 
September 30, 2006. 

The Bureau of Child Care recognized the following accrediting bodies: 
 ACSI – American Christ Schools International 
 COA – Council on Accreditation 
 NAA – National After-school Accreditation 
 NAEYC – National Association for the Education of Young Children 
 NAFCC – National Association of Family Child Care 
 NECPA – National Early Childhood Program Accreditation 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Effective July 1, 2002, the General Assembly passed legislation that requires all child care providers to comply 
with certain health and safety standards prior to their participation in the Child Care and Development Fund 
Voucher Program. 

Effective July 1, 2005, the General Assembly passed legislation stating licensed child care homes and licensed 
child care centers would be considered compliant with CCDF Provider Eligibility Standards as long as the Indiana 
license is valid.     

ADVERSE ACTION AGAINST A PROVIDER 
Other than CCDF Provider Eligibility Standards 

GENERAL INFORMATION  

In certain situations where there are immediate concerns for the protection of children or the integrity of a provider, 
the Division of Family Resources may take adverse action against a provider affecting their ability to participate in 
the CCDF program. 

SUSPENDING A PROVIDER 

A provider may be suspended by the Division of Family Resources from the CCDF program under the following 
circumstances. 

• The death of a child while in the provider’s care; 
• A pending abuse/neglect charge against the provider, an existing employee of the provider, or a member of 

the provider’s household, indicating behavior harmful to children; 
• A substantiated health or safety hazard; 
• Threatening behavior; 
• Providing false information on any form connected with the CCDF program; 
• Being under investigation for fraud; 
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• Possession or use of Hoosier Works for Child Care Cards as documented by a Bureau of Child Care staff 
member or representative; and/or 

• Illegally operating a home or facility 

In the above circumstances, the suspension can be effective immediately upon notice to the provider. The Intake 
Agent will be notified to immediately contact CCDF applicants to select a new provider. Applicants shall be 
referred to the local Child Care Resource and Referral (CCRR) agency if they need assistance selecting a new 
provider. Payment will not be made during the period of suspension. The provider will remain suspended pending 
the outcome of an investigation. 

TERMINATING A PROVIDER 

CCDF PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY STANDARDS 
A provider will be terminated by the Division of Family Resources form the CCDF program for failure to comply 
with CCDF Provider Eligibility Standards as of the effective date of the Notice of Order (see Provider Eligibility 
Standards section) and remain in effect until the Notice of Order has been rescinded. 

OTHER REASONS FOR TERMINATION 
A provider will be terminated by the Division of Family Resources from the CCDF Program under the following 
circumstances. 

• A substantiation or conviction of abuse/neglect against the provider, an existing employee of the provider, 
or a member of the provider’s household indicating behavior harmful to children; 

• Substantiated fraud in the receipt of any type of government funds; 
• Proven forgery of signature on any form; 
• Loss or denial of licensure or registration in situations where the action is due to substantiated abuse or 

neglect. 
In the above situations, termination of the provider will become effective immediately upon notice and will be 
permanent. Payment will cease upon termination of the provider. The Intake Agent will be notified to immediately 
contact CCDF applicants to select a new provider. Applicants shall be referred to the local Child Care Resource and 
Referral (CCRR) agency if they need assistance selecting a new provider. 

PROVIDER APPEAL OF ADVERSE ACTION 
Other than CCDF Provider Eligibility Standards 

In situations where the Division of Family Resources takes adverse action (other than CCDF Provider Eligibility 
Standards) against a provider that affects their ability to participate in the CCDF program, there is a two-step appeal 
process. 

STEP 1 Within 15 calendar days of receipt of termination notice, the provider must send a written request 
for appeal to the: 

Child Care Administrator 
Attn: CCDF Appeals 
402 W. Washington Street, W-361 MS02 
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2739 

The Child Care Administrator has 15 calendar days to review the request and respond. 
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STEP 2 If the provider is not satisfied with the decision of the Child Care Administrator, they have 15 
calendar days to submit a final written request for appeal to the: 

Director of the Division of Family Resources 
Attn: CCDF Appeals 
402 W. Washington Street, W-361 MS02 
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2739 

The Director has 15 calendar days to review the decision of the Child Care Administrator of the 
Bureau of Child Care and respond in writing. 

The decision of the Director of the Division of Family Resources is final. 

LIMITATIONS OF APPEAL 

If a provider misses the timeline, the right to appeal is forfeited.  All appeals sent by providers will be counted as 
sent on the date as postmarked. All dates on responses by the state will be counted as sent on the date as 
postmarked. 

Provider payments will not be made during the appeals process.  However, if a decision is found in favor of the 
provider, any CCDF enrollments will be paid. A provider may not enroll any new CCDF children during the 
appeal process. 

PROVIDING SERVICES TO CCDF FAMILIES 
Participating through a Center Agreement 

THE MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING 

Each CCDF Grantee and CCDF Intake Agent must have a current (within the current contract year) signed 
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).  This MOU outlines the responsibilities of both parties in the delivery of 
service to CCDF families participating through a center agreement. When implementing or changing policies or 
procedures, both parties should review the MOU to determine if such actions will violate their existing agreement.    

GENERAL PRINCIPLES 

In general, it is the responsibility of the CCDF Center to: 
√ Determine preliminary eligibility 
√ Generate appropriate referrals for childcare services 
√ Provide families with a printed referral, completed provider information page as well as general 

enrollment information 
√ Notify the CCDF Intake Agent of known changes in family circumstance with may affect 

participation in the CCDF program 
√ Complete all budget functions associated with their contract 

In general, it is the responsibility of the CCDF Intake Agent to: 
√ Check for new referrals 
√ Make enrollment appointment available to CCDF Center clients within five (5) business days of 
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referral creation 
√ Determine client eligibility 
√ Provide printed voucher to the CCDF Center upon application completion  
√ Maintain client files 
√ Communicate any changes in client status to the CCDF Center 
√ Act upon changes in family circumstance reported by the CCDF Center within five (5) business 

days 
√ Notify client of impending recertification at least thirty (30) days in advance 

CCDF CENTER INITIAL CLIENT APPLICATION 

CCDF Center client applications are completed in the same manner as CCDF Intake applications. It is the 
responsibility of the Intake Agent to determine the appropriate subsidy begin and end dates which correspond to the 
client’s service need. It is also the sole responsibility of the Intake Agent to determine the amount of care 
authorized based upon the client’s documented service need. (See “Intake Component for further information.)   

While the Intake Agent is responsible for authorizing child care services based upon the client’s documented 
service need, the Intake Agent may not exceed the number of weeks or amount of funding authorized by the CCDF 
Center as stated on the client’s child care referral. However, the Intake Agent may reduce the amount authorized 
based upon the client’s documented service need.   

For specific information on entering a CCDF application for a CCDF Center client, please refer to your software 
procedure manual. 

NOTE: A CCDF Center child should not be added to an active intake application until after the CCDF Contract 
Centers subsidy end date. 

CLIENT RE-DETERMINATION 
The intake agent must conduct an eligibility re-determination with each CCDF Center family at least every six (6) 
months.  This requires the CCDF Center to create a new childcare referral for the CCDF family.  A re-
determination including completion of a new Application may be completed thirty (30) days before the subsidy end 
date, but never after.  

NOTIFICATION OF UPCOMING RE-DETERMINATION 
It is the responsibility of the Intake Agent to notify the parent of the impending re-determination at least thirty (30) 
days prior to the subsidy end date.  The notification may be made using computer generated letters, or agency 
letters which contain similar information provided the mailing date has been documented. This notification will 
also serve as the family’s ten (10) calendar day notice of termination for failure to complete re-determination 
timely.  It is the responsibility of the CCDF Center to provide the family with a referral at the time of re-
determination. 

METHOD OF RE-DETERMINATION 
When completing a re-determination (update), the Intake Agent may use a variety of methods including: 

√ Face-to-face interview 
√ Mail 
√ Fax with the assistance of the CCDF Center 
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MAINTAINING A CLIENT FILE 
A client file is maintained in the same manner as any CCDF client.  However, it is best practice to include in the 
client file a copy of the child care referral generated by the CCDF Center.    

MAINTAINING A WAITING (CONTACT) LIST 
It is the responsibility of the CCDF Center to maintain a waiting (contact) list of families wishing to access their 
CCDF Center funds.   It is the responsibility of the Intake Agent to maintain a waiting list for families currently 
participating through a CCDF Center who wish to gain access to CCDF Intake funds to allow for greater flexibility 
in provider selection. 

As of the date of this manual, the AIS system will not allow the Intake Agent to place an active CCDF Center child 
on the AIS waiting (contact) list. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the Intake Agent to maintain a manual 
waiting (contact) list.   Families on this list will be placed at the front of the AIS waiting (contact) list and will be 
first to be notified when funds become available.    

NOTE: A child may not actively participate in the CCDF Center program and the CCDF intake program 
simultaneously. 

PROGRAM ABUSE POLICES AND PROCEDURES 
In order to ensure CCDF dollars are used to their full potential, the Bureau of Child Care has developed CCDF 
Program Abuse Policies and Procedures as follows: 

Definition: Program Abuse is defined as any false reporting of facts or information, providing false documentation, 
or the omission of facts by the CCDF applicant.  

INTAKE AGENT ROLE 

The Intake Agent is expected to report all suspicions of fraudulent activity in the CCDF Program to the CCDF 
Fraud Coordinator. These instances include, but are not limited to, the following: 

Parent/Applicant Program Abuse or Fraud 
√ Failure to report a biological or custodial adult as a household member 
√ Failure to report a loss of service need 
√ Failure to report a move to another county or state 
√ Failure to report other forms of income including child support and social security benefits 
√ Submission of suspicious documentation, including wage verification 

Provider Program Abuse or Fraud 
√ Providing care at an address which has not been licensed/registered/or certified or allowing other 

individuals not properly certified according to CCDF regulations to provide child care at any 
location operated by or under the control of Provider. 

√ Providing care at an address which differs from the address indicated on the applicant’s Provider 
Worksheet or CCDF voucher. 

√ Having possession of or using the applicant’s Hoosier Works for Child Care card or having 
possession of card numbers or pin numbers on or off premises. 

√ Submission of suspicious, false or misleading documentation. 

Intake Agent Fraud 
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√ Suspicious activity by an employee 
√ Suspicion of employee program abuse in receipt of CCDF benefits 

Should the Intake Agent fail to report any fraudulent activity which is defined in the contract as being within the 
scope of intake duties, the Intake Agent will be held accountable for any overpayment. Further, it could be 
considered a failure to perform contract obligations. 

PROCEDURES FOR REPAYMENT AGREEMENTS 
When the Intake Agent documents a case where the parent/applicant did not have a service or financial need, the 
following procedures should be followed: 

APPLICANT IS PRESENT 

STEP 1 Determine the time period when the applicant did not have a service or financial need.  This will 
include begin and end dates to be entered on the repayment agreement in the service date field. 

STEP 2 Determine the total amount of the overpayment which is equal to the amount provided on the case 
payment report regardless of the end date of care.  

STEP 3 If the parent/applicant is present, the Intake Agent should complete the Non-Compliance and 
Repayment Agreement forms and have the applicant sign.  If the applicant refuses to sign the 
agreement, proceed to Step 5. 

STEP 4 Send the original applicant signed agreement or unsigned agreement and supporting documentation 
to: 

FSSA - Financial Management 
CCDF – MS34 

  P.O. Box 7128
  Indianapolis, IN 46207-7128 

And: Family and Social Service Administration 
MS02 Attn: CCDF Fraud Coordinator 
402 W. Washington Street 

  Indianapolis, IN 46204 

And: The regional CCDF Policy Consultant 

STEP 5 Note the terms of the CCDF repayment agreement in the Intake Software note field indicating if 
the agreement was signed or unsigned. 

APPLICANT IS NOT PRESENT 

STEP 1 Determine the time period when the applicant did not have a service or financial need.  This will 
include begin and end dates to be entered on the repayment agreement in the service date field.  

STEP 2 Determine the total amount of the overpayment. 

STEP 3 Mail the applicant a Non-Compliance form and Repayment Agreement (see “Forms” section) for 
the applicant to sign and return within ten (10) days.  The date mailed and the date the information 
is to be returned to the Intake Agent should be noted in the Intake Software note field. 
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STEP 4 Send the provider a ten (10) day notice indicating the applicant’s child care assistance will end if 
the parent fails to comply with CCDF program request. 

STEP 5 Create a pending voucher(s) beginning the Sunday following the tenth day. 

STEP 6 When the signed repayment agreement has been received, restore voucher for applicant’s child(ren) 
and provide a copy of the voucher to the provider.  (If signed repayment agreement is not received, 
proceed to Step 9.) 

STEP 7 The original applicant’s signed or unsigned agreement and supporting documentation shall be sent 
to: 

FSSA – Financial Management 
CCDF – MS34 

  P.O. Box 7128
  Indianapolis, IN 46207-7128 

And Family and Social Service Administration 
MS02 Attn: CCDF Fraud Coordinator 
402 W. Washington Street 

  Indianapolis, IN 46204 

And The Regional CCDF Policy Consultant 

STEP 8 Note the terms of the CCDF repayment agreement in the AIS note field indicating if the repayment 
agreement was signed or unsigned.   

STEP 9 If repayment agreement is not signed, delete all pending vouchers and terminate the case. 

PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING SUSPECTED PROGRAM ABUSE 
When the Intake Agent suspects program abuse, but is unable to document the applicant’s non-compliance, the 
Intake Agent will report these suspicions to the CCDF Fraud Coordinator. This is done by sending a completed 
Fraud Referral including any supporting facts and/or documentation to the CCDF Fraud Coordinator and the 
regional CCDF Policy Consultant. The Bureau of Investigations will determine a plan of action/investigation which 
may include assigning the case to the Intake Agent for resolution. 

Fraud Determination of less than $2,500 
The Bureau of Investigations will either refer to the Intake Agent to seek repayment or refer to the County 
Prosecutor for legal action. In most cases, the case will be referred to the local intake by the CCDF Fraud 
Coordinator for repayment resolution. The Intake Agent will be notified of the finding for development of a 
repayment agreement.  See Procedures for Repayment Agreement – Parent is Not Present. 

Fraud Determination of $2,500 or more 
The Bureau of Investigations may recommend criminal prosecution, in addition to collection of the overpayment in 
these instances. The Intake Agent will be notified of the findings by the CCDF Fraud Coordinator or their CCDF 
Policy Consultant.  The Bureau of Child Care will determine the appropriate action and communicate this to the 
Intake Agent. 
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BUDGET 
Utilization 
Grantees have the responsibility to fully utilize their allocation, but must be careful not to exceed center’s 
allocation. Failure to fully utilize your full FY 2011-2012 allocation will result in a reduction of funding for FY 
2013-2014. Grantees will be responsible for referring families to the intake agent only when they have sufficient 
funds available. Centers that utilize all their funding before the end of the year are required by contract to 
continue to serve eligible children through the end of the agreement year at the same co-pay. 

AIS Centers System manages the availability of funds to center by prohibiting total year-to-date obligations from 
exceeding total funds available for each center.  The entire year’s worth of funding is made available to the center 
in CIS from the start of the agreement year.  That enables each Center to utilize their funds at a pace of their 
choosing. It is the responsibility of each center to manage their funds properly and ensure that they stay within 
their budget.  

CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS 
All grantees must be in good standing with the Indiana Department of Revenue, the Secretary of State’s Office, and 
have filed with FSSA a current Provider Data Form (PDF) providing a current Employee Identification Number 
EIN), W-9 (also completed by the depository), and a Direct Deposit Form (if applicable). 
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