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Required Markings
•	 Oversize Vehicles must be marked on front and rear with a sign reading 

“OVER-SIZE LOAD.”
•	 The sign must be at least 18 inches high and between 6 to 8 

feet long.
•	 The letters must be black, 12 inches high, with a 2-inch stroke 

on yellow background.
•	 Color combinations or wording approved by other states will be 

permitted, when trip originates outside Indiana.
•	 Vehicles must be marked with 2 red or orange flags, placed at the widest 

extremities of the vehicle or load.
•	 Flags must be in good condition, plain or orange with no figures.
•	 Flags must be 18 inches square and placed so that approaching 

traffic can see them.
Lighting
•	 All provisions of 49 CFR 393.11 apply, plus the following:
•	 Permitted vehicles must have low beam headlights on while transporting 

a load.
•	 Mobile homes and sectionalized buildings having widths of 12 feet 

4 inches or more must be equipped with four high intensity, amber, 
flashing lights.

•	 Two of these must be mounted on the front. Two must be 
mounted on the rear of the combination.

•	 Lights mounted on the load must be placed at the outer edges 
and not be less than 6 feet above the roadway.

•	 Front lights may be mounted on the towing vehicle at furthest 
extreme of any safety device, not extending beyond the mirrors, 
and must be double-faced lamps, visible both on front and rear.

•	 Lights must be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight.
Flagmen
•	 Flagmen will be provided by the transporting company at all locations 

needing such traffic control. Locations needing such flagmen include: 
encroachment into opposing traffic lanes and stops, or blockages of 
traffic locations where stops are not normally required by existing traffic 
control devices. More information about traffic control regulation may 
be found at 105 IAC 9-2.

Speed
•	 Any permitted vehicle over 85’ long, or 10’6” wide, or above legal height 

may not exceed 55 miles per hour.
Blockage of Traffic
•	 Permitted vehicles must not block traffic at any time from use of the 

highway, including the loading and unloading of equipment.
•	 Permitted vehicles must not be parked either day or night on the shoulder 

or right-of-way.
•	 Permitted vehicles will use the highway shoulder only on those 

occasions necessary to allow for the safe unrestricted passage of 
oncoming/passing traffic.

Vehicle Operators
•	 Operators must be 18 years of age or older and hold a valid Indiana 

Chauffeurs License or Commercial Driver’s License, whichever is 
applicable.

•	 Drivers must have the vehicle permit in possession during transport 
and must show permit, on demand, to any police officer, motor carrier 
inspector, or any authorized employee of the State of Indiana.

•	 The mover and/or owner of the vehicle and/or load will be held 
responsible in the event that it is necessary to remove any buildings, 
railings, or other structures from the highway. In the event that any 
buildings, railings, or other structures are damaged, the cost of the 
removal and/or damage will be the responsibility of the permit applicant.

Weather
•	 Permitted oversized vehicles are not allowed to operate during 

hazardous weather, road, or traffic conditions, and/or when visibility 
is less than 500 feet. Permitted vehicles may not operate when wind 
velocity exceeds 25 miles per hour.

Escort Vehicle(s) Requirements
•	 Permitted vehicles must have escorts when they exceed:

•	 12’4” in width, 110’ in length or 14’6” in height 
•	 One escort vehicle must be in front when on undivided highway 

and in rear when on divided highways
•	 If over 14’6” high, must have an escort with a height stick 

traveling in front of load
•	 If between 14”4” and 17” wide, one rear escort on a dual lane 

divided highway and two escorts (front and rear) on all other 
roads.

•	 Escort vehicles must have a minimum of 4 wheels with a maximum 
gross registered weight of 11,000 lbs. Must have a flashing amber 
light mounted on top and an oversize load sign, which is visible to 
approaching traffic. Must have radio communication with permitted 
vehicle and/or load and may not be more than 500 feet from permitted 
vehicle and/or load.

Other Provisions
•	 This permit does not apply to any state roads or bridges that are closed 

for construction purposes, or to any roads or bridges that are posted 
for gross load limits, and/or any roads, structures, wires, etc., having 
a restricted height and/or width clearance that will not clear said load.

•	 This permit does not apply to I-65 or I-70 inside I-465.
•	 This permit does not apply to any county roads or city streets.
•	 Any violation of this permit shall automatically cause the permit to be 

void. Upon violation the police officer or motor carrier inspector will have 
the authority to withdraw your permit.

•	 All transporting vehicles must meet all safety requirements as set forth 
in Title 49, CFR (Code of Federal Regulations).

•	 This permit does not cover license or other registration requirements.
•	 Prepass carriers must enter open scales when operating under an 

OS/OW permit.
Holiday Restrictions
•	 Permitted vehicles, except those issued Overweight Commodity or Bulk 

Milk permits, may not operate on state highways from 12:00 noon the 
last weekday preceding and continuing until ½ hour before sunrise on 
the day following: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, 
Labor Day, Thanksgiving day and Christmas day.

•	 OVERWEIGHT COMMODITY and BULK MILK permits are exempt 
from travel restrictions. Vehicles with Overweight Commodity and Bulk 
Milk Permits are no longer subject to holiday travel restrictions and 
may travel continuously during holiday periods. Overweight Commodity 
Permits that are not subject to previous metal and agriculture permits 
applies to those vehicles with a permit to haul various commodities up 
to 120,000 lbs including Bulk Milk up to 154,000 lbs. 

Hours of Operation

Up to 110’ long 10’ wide, 13’6” high, and under 200,000 lbs Continuous travel 7 days a week.

Over 110’ long, 10’-14’4” wide, up to 15’ high 7 days a week (1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset)

Between 14’4” and 16’ wide Monday - Friday (1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset)

Over 16’ wide, or over 15’ high, or over 200,000 lbs gross vehicle weight Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 3:30 pm (other provisions may apply)

Up to 110 long, 11’6 wide, 13’ 6” high and 120,000 lbs (for paving equip-
ment only to travel between jobsite(s) and home base with red/amber 
flashing light at widest point)

Monday-Friday (1 ½ hour before sunrise -1 ½ hour after sunset)

Permitted Mobile Homes and Sectionalized Buildings between 8’6” and 
14’4” wide

Monday - Friday (1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset) Saturday (1/2 
hr before sunrise - 12:00 noon)

Note to Enforcement Agencies: Advise the Indiana Department of Revenue as soon as possible after withdrawing this permit by calling 
(317) 615-7200.


