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SUBJECT:

EFFECTIVE:

REFERENCES:

Information  bulletins are intended to provide
nontechnical assistance to the general public. Every
attempt is made to provide information that is consistent
with the appropriate statutes, rules, and court decisions.
Any information that is inconsistent with the law,
regulations, or court decisions is not binding on either the
Department or the taxpayer. Therefore, information
provided in this bulletin should serve only as a
foundation for further investigation and study of the
current law and procedures related to its subject matter.
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Reporting and Withholding
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IC 6-3-4-2; IC 6-3-7-5; IC 6-8.1-3-21.2; IC 22-3-2-14;
and IC 22-3-2-14.5

INTRODUCTION:

The purpose of this bulletin is to summarize the reporting and withholding
requirements for independent contractors. The bulletin also explains the
application procedure for an exemption certificate to be issued to
independent contractors that elect not to be covered by worker's
compensation insurance.
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l. RESPONSIBILITY OF INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS FOR
PAYING ESTIMATED TAX AND WITHHOLDING INCOME
TAX

Independent contractors generally do not have income tax withheld by the
parties that they contract with for services. Because of this, the independent
contractor is required to file quarterly estimated income tax payments with
the Department. The simple guideline is that if there is no federal
withholding and the independent contractor is required to make federal
estimated payments, then Indiana requires the independent contractor to
make Indiana estimated payments if the annual Indiana liability exceeds
$1,000.

If the independent contractor hires employees, the independent contractor is
an employer and is required to withhold Indiana adjusted gross income tax
and local option income taxes from the employees’ wages and remit them to
the Department of Revenue.

I1.  DEFINITION OF INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR

IC 22-3-6-1(b)(7) states: "A person is an independent contractor in the
construction trades and not an employee under 1C 22-3-2 through IC 22-3-6
If the person is an independent contractor under the guidelines of the United
States Internal Revenue Service."

Because of the link to the Internal Revenue Code that Indiana has adopted,
those same definitions apply at the state level.

I11.  APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION WITH
THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Effective July 1, 2001, an independent contractor is required to file with the
Department a statement and documentation of the independent contractor's
status. The independent contractor must pay a $5.00 filing fee
(nonrefundable) and obtain a clearance from the Department before a
certificate of exemption is issued. The certificate is valid for one year. The
certificate of exemption is required to be filed with the Worker's
Compensation Board, and a filing fee of $15.00 must be paid for the
certificate to be effective. The total $20.00 fee is to be paid to the
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Department of Revenue at the time the independent contractor files an
application for the workers' compensation exemption certificate. The
application is available at www.in.gov/dor/files/wcfrm.pdf

The certificate of exemption must be renewed annually with the Department.
The certificate of exemption must certify that the independent contractor has
workers' compensation coverage for its employees in accordance with IC 22-
3-2 through IC 22-3-7 and that the independent contractor desires to be
exempt from being able to recover under the workers' compensation policy
or self-insurance of a person for whom the independent contractor will
perform work.

The Department will cooperate with the Department of Labor, the Workers'
Compensation Board, and the Department of Workforce Development
concerning improper classification by a contractor of an individual as an
independent contractor.

For further information, contact the Collection Division of the Indiana
Department of Revenue at (317) 232-5977.
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