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Dear Fellow Hoosiers:

Indiana takes great pride in the training and education provided to its workforce.
The Bureau of Child Labor is dedicated to maintaining safe workplaces and fair
work practices for Hoosier youths. The skills and experience minors gain while
working can have a tremendous influence on their education and future career
decisions. | ask for your suppport and diligence to ensure teens are working in an
environment that is safe and mindful of their rights. Please take time to become
familiar with the information provided in this booklet.

Sincerely,

LA LS oea R
Mitch Daniels
Governor
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Indiana Code: 20-33-3-36
ADULT SUPERVISION REQUIREMENT

Teens under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a coworker
who is at least 18 years of age when working past 10 p.m. in an
establishment that is open to the public.




EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS

Indiana law permits employment of minors beginning at the age of 14. The law sets
out specific requirements for such employment, including restrictions on the nature
of the work performed and limitations on the hours worked by minors. Prior to
employing a minor, an employer must have an employment certificate on file,
issued by the proper issuing officer, at the location in which the minor is to
be employed. Work permits must be available for inspection when the
business is open. Employment certificates are commonly referred to as “work
permits.” An employer shall maintain records of the days and hours worked for all
employees under 18 years of age in order to verify compliance with Indiana Code
20-33-3. This documentation must be onsite where the minor employee is
employed. Provisions governing the employment of minors are contained in
Indiana Code 20-33-3-1 through 20-33-3-43.

Minors under the age of 14 may only be employed as a newspaper carrier, golf
caddy, domestic service worker (work performed at a private residence), entertainer
(with certain restrictions) or farm laborer, as described in Indiana Code 20-33-3-6.
Minors under the age of 12 may only perform farm labor on a farm owned by the
minor’s parents.

There is no requirement for a minor to obtain a work permit for the above
referenced occupations if the work is not performed during hours in which the minor
is required to be in school (defined as 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.). No minor, however,
may be employed in any occupation during hours in which the minor is required to
be in school, unless a written exception is issued by the school that the minor
attends.

ISSUING OFFICERS

Each accredited school is required to designate an issuing officer. The issuing
officer is responsible for issuing work permits to minors attending the school, as
well as denying or revoking work permits when appropriate. The issuing officer in
each accredited school shall be an individual who is:

e a guidance counselor, a school social worker, an attendance officer (if the
attendance officer is a licensed teacher), the principal, or assistant principal
and,

e designated in writing by the principal.



During the times in which the individual described above is not employed by the
school or when school is not in session, the principal shall designate an alternate
issuing officer who is a licensed teacher.

A non-accredited school wishing to issue work permits may contact their local
public school corporation to request appointment of an issuing officer at the non-
accredited institution. This issuing officer must be a licensed teacher and must
have his or her work hours determined by the school’s principal. The designation of
the issuing officer must be in writing. A minor who attends a non-accredited school
that does not issue work permits must obtain a work permit from the public school
corporation in which the minor resides.

EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES (Work Permits)

Minors ages 14, 15, 16 and 17 are required to obtain a work permit. The work
permit requirement applies to all minors, including minors who are:
e enrolled in a public school,
enrolled in a private school,
home-school students,
out-of-state residents seeking employment in Indiana,
no longer enrolled in school, and
married.

Work permits are not required to employ minors who have graduated from high
school or a high school equivalency program.

Obtaining a Work Permit

An issuing officer may issue a work permit upon presentation by the minor of the
following documents:
e proof of age,
e proof of prospective employment (Intention to Employ/A-1 Form), and
e for a minor seeking a work permit from a school the child does not attend
(i.e., a minor attending a non-accredited school), a statement from the minor’s
school attesting to the minor’s acceptable academic performance and
attendance.

As proof of age, the issuing officer shall require one of the following documents
(listed in preferential order):
e a birth certificate (or in the alternative, a school record of age previously
verified by a birth certificate),



e a baptismal certificate showing the minor’s date of birth and place of baptism,

e a bona fide contemporary record of the minor’s birth comprising part of the
family records of birth (i.e., a family Bible), a certificate of arrival issued by
United States immigration officers showing the minor’s age, a life insurance
policy, or other documentary evidence acceptable to the Bureau of Child
Labor and in existence for at least one year (the Bureau of Child Labor views
a valid Indiana Driver’s License that has been in existence for more than one
year as acceptable evidence), or

e a sworn statement from a physician or the superintendent stating, in the
opinion of the signatory, the minor's age. The statement shall include the
minor’s height and weight and other facts upon which the opinion is based.
The statement shall be accompanied by a statement of the minor’s age
signed by a parent and by available school records.

As proof of prospective employment, the issuing officer shall require a statement
from the employer defining the nature of the work to be performed and the
maximum hours per week that the minor will work. To assist in obtaining this
information, the Indiana Department of Labor has created the Intent to Employ/A-1
form. To be considered valid, this form must be filled out completely and signed by
the employer, the minor’s parent and the minor.

The minor seeking the work permit must personally appear before the issuing
officer. At the request of the issuing officer, the minor’s parents may also be
required to appear before the issuing officer prior to issuing the work permit.

Upon receipt of proof of age and proof of prospective employment and a statement
from the minor’s school (if applicable), the issuing officer shall issue the work permit
and return the appropriate portion within five days of issuance to:

Indiana Department of Labor
Bureau of Child Labor
402 West Washington Street, Room W195
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

The employer’s copy of the work permit (and the attached termination notice) shall
be returned to the minor seeking the work permit or forwarded to the employer.



Termination Notices

The issuing officer at the school corporation that issued the work permit bust be
immediately notified, in writing, if a minor ceases employment before reaching the
age of 18. A “termination notice” is attached to the work permit form provided by
the Bureau of Child Labor. This “termination notice” should be completed by the
employer and returned to the issuing officer who issued the work permit. It can be
sent by mail, by fax or delivered in person. Do not delay in sending out this notice.

Work Permit Limitations

A work permit issued to a minor is subject to the following limitations:

e a work permit may be used at not more than two locations within the same
enterprise provided the employer complies with the hour restrictions
described,

¢ |ssuing officers may not issue work permits to minors for prohibited
occupations (see listing of prohibited occupations pp. 13-15), and,

e a work permit is subject to revocation by the issuing officer, the Bureau of
Child Labor, and the State Board of Education (see below).

A minor may have more than one work permit at a time; however, the total hours
worked by the minor may not exceed the daily and weekly hour limits. If the

minor exceeds the hours allowable by law, the minor’'s work permit may be
revoked.

Denial and Revocation of Work Permits

Work permits may be issued, denied or revoked at the discretion of the issuing
officer. The denial of a work permit may be appealed to the principal of the school
that the minor attends. The work permit may then be issued or denied at the
discretion of the principal.

The issuing officer may deny a work permit to a minor:

¢ whose attendance is not in good standing, as determined by the school; or
e whose academic performance does not meet the school’s standards.




The issuing officer may revoke a work permit previously issued to a minor if the
school determines that there has been a significant decrease in any of the

following since the issuance of the work permit:
e the minor’'s grade point average, or
e the minor’'s attendance at school.

A minor whose work permit is revoked is entitled to a periodic review, to be
conducted not less than once per school year, to determine whether the revocation
should continue. Upon review, if the issuing officer determines that the minor’'s
grade point average and/or attendance have improved substantially, the issuing
officer may reissue a new work permit to the minor. A minor may appeal the
revocation of a work permit or the refusal to reissue a work permit to the principal
responsible for the appointment of the issuing officer. The work permit may then be
issued or the revocation continued at the discretion of the principal.

An issuing officer who revokes a work permit shall immediately send written notice
of the revocation to the minor’'s employer. The Bureau of Child Labor or the State
Board of Education may revoke a work permit at any time if it is believed that the
work permit was improperly issued or the minor is or was illegally employed. If a
work permit is revoked in this manner, the issuing officer and the minor’'s employer
will be notified in writing. Immediately after receiving notice of revocation, the
minor's employer must return the work permit to the issuing officer and must
prohibit the employee from working.

Optional Work Permits (Age Verification)

For purposes of verifying age, an employer may request that a work permit be
issued for a prospective employee who represents his or her age to be between the
ages of 18 and 21. lIssuing this type of work permit is mandatory. The procedure
for issuing a work permit under these circumstances is the same as issuing a work
permit to a minor.



Employment of Home-School Students and Out-of-State Minors

Minors who are home-school students must obtain work permits from the school
corporation in which the minor resides. The minor is subject to the same hour and
occupation restrictions as a traditional student.

Any exceptions requiring a minor to obtain permission or certification from the
minor’s school may be met by a statement signed by the minor’s parent or legal
guardian.

Out-of-state minors seeking employment in Indiana are subject to the same hour
and occupation restrictions as an Indiana resident minor employed in the state.

A minor who is not a resident of Indiana shall obtain a work permit from the school
corporation in which the employer is located. All other procedures for issuing a
work permit remain the same, including the requirement that the minor submit a
statement from the minor’s school attesting to the minor’s acceptable academic
performance and attendance.

FORMS AND EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION

The Bureau of Child Labor provides several state forms which are mentioned in this
publication:

Employment Certificate—State Form 898

Intention to Employ/A-1 State Form 896

Issuing Officer Approval Form

Notice of Teen Worker Hour Restrictions

Written Parental Permission Card—State Form 48409

The Bureau of Child Labor also provides educational information and training to
employers, issuing officers, and minors including:

e Guide for Teen Labor Laws

e Teen Labor Laws Pamphlet

e The Teen Work Hour Restrictions Poster

e \Web-based training videos

e Live and teleconferenced trainings



Availability of Forms, Educational Information and Training

These forms, educational information and training are available through the Bureau
of Child Labor. To request any materials or services, please visit
http://www.in.gov/dol , e-mail us at childlabor@dol.in.gov , or call (317) 232-2655.

We may also be reached by mail at:
Indiana Department of Labor
Bureau of Child Labor
402 West Washington Street, Room W195
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

POSTING REQUIREMENTS

All employers employing minors must post the Notice of Teen Work Hour
Restrictions. This form must be posted in a conspicuous place or in the area where
notices to employees are normally posted.

PARENTAL PERMISSION

Indiana law allows 16 and 17 year olds to work extended hours if the employer
obtains written parental permission from a parent or legal guardian. For example,
with written parental permission, the normal maximum 30-hour work week may be
extended to 40 hours during a school week and to 48 hours during a non-school
week. Additionally, minors 16 years of age may work until midnight on days not
followed by a school day. Minors 17 years of age may work until 1:00 a.m. on no
more than two non-consecutive nights followed by a school day, and until 11:30
p.m. on the remainder of the nights.

The Bureau of Child Labor provides a form known as the “Intent to Employ/A1” form
to help clearly define the hours that a parent permits his or her minor to work.
Written parental permission shall be maintained on the business premises along
with the work permit.

DEFINITION OF A SCHOOL AND NON-SCHOOL WEEK

For the purposes of Indiana’s Child Labor Laws, a non-school week is defined as a
week that contains two (2) or fewer school days. A school day refers to a day that
contains more than four (4) hours of classroom instruction. A school week refers to
a week that contains three (3) or more school days.
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TEEN WORK HOUR RESTRICTIONS

School Days
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18 .m. 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. 7 p.m.
30/40* N 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m." 10 p.m.
30/40* SN 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m." 10 p.m.

11:30 p.m.”/
1a.m.?

*Indicates written parental permission is required.

'A minor may work between 7:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. on a school day with written
permission issued by the school that the minor attends.

A minor 17 years of age may work until 1:00 a.m. on nights followed by a school day if the
employer has written permission from the minor’s parent or legal guardian on file at the
location in which the minor is employed. However, nights followed by a school day on
which the minor works later than 11:30 p.m. may not be consecutive and may not exceed
two nights per week.
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Non-School Days
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14 & 15 40 .m. N/A 7 p.m./9 p.m.}

16 8/9* 30/48* .m. N/A 10 p.m./ 12 a.m. *

17 8/9* 30/48* N/A N/A

*Indicates written parental permission is required.
*June 1 through Labor Day.

“On nights that are not followed by a school day, a minor 16 years of age may work until
midnight if the employer has written permission from the minor’s parent or legal guardian
on file at the location in which the minor is employed.

Exceptions to Hour Restrictions

Minors 16 or 17 years of age that have graduated from high school or high school
equivalency program are not subject to the hour restrictions and are not required to
obtain a work permit. Minors 16 and 17 years of age that have withdrawn from
school are not subject to the hour restrictions but are required to obtain a work
permit.

Minors must be accompanied by a co-worker who is at least 18 years of age when
working past 10 p.m. in an establishment that is open to the public.

12



TEEN BREAK LAW

Indiana employers must provide one or two documented breaks totaling 30 minutes
to employees under the age of 18 who are scheduled to work six or more
consecutive hours. (610 IAC 10-3-2)

Exempt from this requirement are: farm laborers, domestic service workers, golf
caddies, newspaper carriers, teens that have graduated from high school, teens
who have completed an approved vocational or special education program, and

teens who have withdrawn from school.

PROHIBITED AND HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS

Indiana law forbids the employment of minors in occupations prohibited under the
child labor provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. For questions
regarding prohibited occupations should please call the U.S. Department of Labor
at (317) 226-6801.

Prohibited Occupations

Issuing officers shall not issue work permits for, and employers shall not employ,
minors 14 and 15 years of age to engage in any of the following occupations:

l. any manufacturing occupation,

I. any mining occupation,

[ll.  processing occupations such as filleting of fish, dressing poultry, cracking
nuts, or laundering as performed by commercial laundries and dry cleaning
(except in retail, food service, or gasoline service establishment, and under
the restrictions provided for those establishments),

V. public messenger service,

V. operation or tending of hoisting apparatus or of any power-driven
machinery (other than office machines and certain machines in retail, food
service, or

VI. gasoline service establishments, and under the restrictions provided for
those establishments),

VII. any occupations found and declared to be hazardous by the Secretary of
State,
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VIII. occupations in connection with:

a.

b.
c. communications and public utilities, and
d.

transportation of persons or property by rail, highway, air, on water, pipeline,
or other means,
warehousing and storage,

construction, including repair (except office or sales work in connection with
these occupations when not performed on transportation media or at the
actual construction site).

IX. any of the following occupations in a retail, food service or gasoline
establishment:

a.
b.

C.

work performed in or about boiler or engine rooms,

work in connection with maintenance or repair of the establishment,
machines, or equipment,

outside window washing that involves working from window sills, and all work
requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds, or their substitutes,

cooking (limited exceptions) and baking,

occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling or
repairing power-driven food slicers and grinders, food choppers and cutters,
and bakery-type mixers,

work in freezers and meat coolers in preparation of meats for sale (except
wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing, and stocking when performed
in other areas),

. loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors,

and

. all occupations in warehouses (except office and clerical work).

Hazardous Occupations

With certain limited exceptions, issuing officers shall not issue work permits for, and
employers shall not employ, minors 16 and 17 years of age to engage in any of the
following occupations:
l. occupations in or about plants or establishments manufacturing or storing
explosives,
Il.  motor-vehicle driver or outside helper,
[ll.  coal mining,
IV. logging and all occupations in the operation of any sawmill, lath mill,
shingle mill, or cooperage-stock mill,
V. occupations involving exposure to radioactive substances,
VI. occupations involved in the operation of power-driven woodworking
machines,”
VII. occupations involved in the operation of power-driven hoisting apparatus,
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VIIl. occupations involved in the operation of power-driven metal forming,
punching, and shearing machines,*

IX. mining, other than coal mining,

X. occupations in or about slaughtering and meat-packing establishments and
rendering plants,*

XlI. occupations involved in the operation of power-driven bakery machines,

XlIl. occupations involved in the operation of certain power-driven paper-
products machines,*

XIll. occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred products,

XIV. occupations involved in the operation of power-driven circular saws, band
saws and guillotine shears,”

XV. occupations involved in wrecking, demolition, and ship breaking operations,

XVI. occupations involved in roofing operations,*

XVII. occupations involved in excavation operations.”

* Student-learners 16 and 17 years of age who are enrolled in a cooperative
vocational training program may be exempt from these specific prohibited
occupations.

For more information about prohibited and hazardous occupations or any of
Indiana’s Child Labor laws, please contact the Bureau of Child Labor by e-mail at
childlabor@dol.in.gov or by phone at (317) 232-2655. Please also visit our
website, http://www.in.gov/dol , for Frequently Asked Questions, updated forms and
materials, training schedules and video-based training.
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PENALTIES

Below are the violations and the associated penalties:

Employment certificates not on file
1. Warning letter for first violation
2. $50 per instance of a second violation
3. $75 per instance of a third violation
4. $100 per instance of a subsequent violation

Notice of Teen Worker Hour Restrictions not posted
1. Warning letter for first violation
2. $50 per instance of a second violation
3. $75 per instance of a third violation
4. $100 per instance of a subsequent violation

OTermination notices not returned to Issuing Officer
1. Warning letter for first violation
2. $50 per instance of a second violation
3. $75 per instance of a third violation
4. $100 per instance of a subsequent violation

Employment of a minor less than 30 minutes past the
deadline

1. Warning letter for first violation

2. $50 per instance of a second violation

3. $75 per instance of a third violation

4. $100 per instance of a subsequent violation

Employment of a minor more than 30 minutes past the
deadline

1. Warning letter for first violation

2. $100 per instance of a second violation

3. $200 per instance of a third violation

4. $400 per instance of a subsequent violation

Employment of a minor in a prohibited occupation
1. Warning letter for first violation
2. $100 per instance of a second violation
3. $200 per instance of a third violation
4. $400 per instance of a subsequent violation
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Employment of a minor under the age of 14
1. Warning letter for first violation
2. $100 per instance of a second violation
3. $200 per instance of a third violation
4. $400 per instance of a subsequent violation

Employment of a minor during school hours
(7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.)

1. Warning letter for first violation

2. $100 per instance of a second violation

3. $200 per instance of a third violation

4. $400 per instance of a subsequent violation

Failure to provide a 30-minute rest break
1. Warning letter for first violation
2. $100 per instance of a second violation
3. $200 per instance of a third violation
4. $400 per instance of a subsequent violation

Under Indiana’s Child Labor Laws, warnings are issued and
penalties are assessed for each violation. Any employer found
violating Indiana’s Child Labor Laws may be assessed civil
penalites by the Bureau of Child Labor in the following manner:

- The employer will be issued a warning letter for the first violation.

- If the employer is cited for a second time during the one-year
period following the issuance of the initial warning letter, he/she wiill
be assessed a penalty for a second violation. (If the second
violation is cited more than one year after the issuance of the initial
warning letter, the process begins anew and the employer will be
issued a warning letter.)

- If the employer is cited for an additional violation after a second
violation has been cited, he/she will be assessed a penalty for a
third violation. (If the third violation occurs more than two years
after the second violation, the process begins anew and the
employer will be issued a warning letter.)
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An employer may request a petition for administrative reveiw of
any violations cited and/or penalties assessed. A petition for
administrative review must be in writing and postmarked within
thirty (30) days after the business or individual receives notice of
the violations cited and/or penalties assessed.

SOCIAL SECURITY CARD INFORMATION

For information on how a student can obtain a Social Security
Number or replace a lost Social Security Card, call:
1-800-772-1213.

BIRTH CERTIFICATE INFORMATION

If a student doesn’t have (or has lost) his or her original Birth
Certificate, the student can get a copy by contacting the Health
Department in the county in which they were born. There may be
a replacement fee.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

For questions about the Child Labor Laws, call (317) 232-2655 or
log on to http://www.in.gov/dol.

The Bureau of Child Labor’s office hours are Monday - Friday,
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. If calling after hours, please leave a message
and a staff member will return your call.

http://www.in.gov/dol
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