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Teen Summer Worker Safety Campaign:
Work Permits and Hour Restrictions

Indianapolis, IN June 16, 2009 – The Indiana Department of Labor (IDOL) has launched a 
Teen Worker Summer Safety Campaign.  The campaign, aimed at educating and informing 
Hoosier employers, teens and parents on occupational safety and health hazards and Indiana’s 
Child Labor laws includes a series of informative bi-weekly press releases.  Teen work permits 
and work hour restrictions are the first two topics covered in the series. 

Indiana Child Labor laws regulate the employment of minors ages 17 and younger.  These laws, 
enforced by the IDOL’s Bureau of Child Labor, establish specific requirements applicable to the 
employment of minors, including restrictions on the hours teenagers are permitted to work, types 
of establishments in which minors are prohibited from working and the types of jobs they are 
prohibited from performing. 

Work Permits
Indiana Child Labor laws require that prior to beginning employment, minors obtain a work 
permit.  The work permit requirement applies to minors, including those who are: 

Enrolled in a public or private school;  
Home-school students;  
Out-of-State residents seeking employment in Indiana;  
No longer enrolled in school, and;
Married.

Work permits are not required to employ teens that have graduated from high school or have 
received a General Education Development (GED) diploma.   

A minor whose school attendance is not in good standing or whose academic performance does 
not meet the school corporation's standard may be denied a work permit.  Minors may have more 
than one active work permit; however, the total hours worked by the minor may not exceed the 
daily and weekly hour limits.   

Work Hours 
On school days, 14 and 15 year-olds may not exceed three hours of work per day, may not work 
later than 7 p.m. (9 p.m., June 1 – Labor Day).  They also may not work more than 18 hours per 
week and may not work between the hours of 7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. on school days.    



For 16 and 17 year-olds, Indiana law allows for extended work hours with written consent from a 
parent or legal guardian.  For answers to Frequently Asked Questions, information on work hour 
restrictions and a copy of the “Teen Labor Laws” booklet, please visit the Bureau of Child Labor 
homepage at www.in.gov/dol/childlabor.htm.

For additional information or questions, please contact Sean Keefer at (317) 232-2683 or email 
media@dol.in.gov.

About the Indiana Department of Labor:
The mission of the Indiana Department of Labor is to advance the safety, health and prosperity 
of Hoosiers in the workplace. In order to make significant strides, we emphasize both 
enforcement and compliance assistance to employers. www.in.gov/dol.
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