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Child Labor Laws - Overview

General Definitions

¢ Minor = Less than 18 and has not

graduated from High School

“School Day” = More than 4 hours of

classroom instruction

“School Week” = 3 or more school

days

* “Non-school Week” = 2 or fewer
school days

Child Labor Laws - Overview

Record Keeping Requirements

» Employers must maintain records of days
and hours worked for minors
« Breaks and Lunches
« Terminations
« Parental Permission
« Graduation or Withdrawal from High School
« Employment Certificates (Work Permits)

» Most frequently cited violations are for poor
or inaccurate recordkeeping

Child Labor Laws - Overview

Inspection Authority

« |IDOL may conduct inspections at any
business in the state
¢ Inspect records related to workers under 18
* Examine work areas
« Interview employees
* Inspections may be initiated
« By Complaint
* Randomly
« Targeted based on employment data




Child Labor Laws

Detailed Explanation

Child labor Laws — Work Permits

Work Permits

e Nearly all minors (14 through 17) in
Indiana are required to obtain a work
permit

— Exceptions:
e High School graduate
» Parent is the sole proprietor of the business
¢ Legally Emancipated
» Performer, Actor or Model

e Home Schooled students can obtain
Work Permits from Accredited High
Schools

Child labor Laws — Work Permits

Employer’s Requirements

e Intent to Employ / A1 Form

e Work Permit must be obtained before
beginning work OR TRAINING

e Information on Work Permit must be
accurate and up-to-date

e Work Permit must remain on file at the
location of the minor's employment (i.e.
park office or site office)

¢ Minors may obtain more than one work
permit




Child Labor Laws — Required Poster

Child Labor Poster

Indiana law requires that employers
post notice

¢ Maximum allowable hours per day

¢ Hours beginning and ending each day
Poster is developed and distributed
by the Indiana Department of Labor
Online at www.in.gov/dol/2366.htm

Also available from third-party
vendors

Child Labor Laws — Required Poster

Employer’'s Requirements
Teen Work Hours Restrictions poster
MUST be displayed
Must be in a conspicuous place in
the business, or
Where employee notices are
customarily posted

Child Labor Laws — Termination Notices

Termination notices

Termination Notice = bottom half of
the Work Permit

Issuing Officer must be notified
immediately and in writing

* Mall

¢ Hand-Deliver

* Fax
Do not delay on sending back
Termination Notices




Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work

Hours of Work

State and Federal laws mandate
acceptable work hours for minors

Hours vary based on minor’s age

Parental and/or school permission
may allow minors to work extended
hours

¢ Must be in writing

* Must be kept on file with the employee’s
records

¢ IDOL provides a “Parental Permission
Form”

¢ Auvailable online at www.in.gov/dol

Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work

14 and 15 Year Olds
May work
3 hours per school day
8 hours per non-school day
18 hours per school week
40 hours per non-school week

No work before 7:00 am or after 7:00
pm
— Exception
¢ 9:00 pm from June 1 through Labor Day

Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work

16 Year Olds
May work
8 hours per school day
30 hours per week
No more than 6 days per week
Not before 6:00 am

Until 10:00 pm on nights followed by
a school day




Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work
With Parental Permission,
16 Year Olds May work

9 hours per day
40 hours per school week
48 hours per non-school week

Until 12:00 am on nights not followed
by a school day

Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work

17 Year Olds
May work
8 hours per school day
30 hours per week
No more than 6 days per week
Not before 6:00 am on school days

Until 10:00 pm on nights followed by
a school day

Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work
With Parental Permission,
17 Year Olds May work

9 hours per day
40 hours per school week
48 hours per non-school week

Until 11:30 pm on nights followed by
a school day

Until 1:00 am on nights followed by a
school day

Not consecutive nights
Not more than 2 school nights per week




Child Labor Laws — Hours of Work

Employer’'s Requirements

e Keep track of school and parental
permission forms

e Ensure minors are not working past hours
defined in law

i * Review with site managers, shift leaders,
crew chiefs to make sure they are aware
of the hour restrictions

e Instill in the minors how important it is to
clock out on time and encourage them to
speak up when they have a scheduling
conflict

Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Prohibited/Hazardous occupations

e Minors are prohibited by law from
working in hazardous occupations

e Hazardous occupations are defined
by the federal Fair Labor Standards
Act (FLSA)

e Vary based on age

* Information available online at:
www.youthrules.dol.gov

Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

e 14 and 15 year olds may not perform
» Baking
» Work in or about boiler or engine
rooms
» Cooking over an open flame
» Work in freezers or meat coolers

* Loading or unloading goods on or off
trucks, railcars or conveyors




Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

e 14 and 15 year olds may not perform

» Meat/fish/poultry processing

» Maintenance or repair of a building or
its equipment

* Outside window washing

» Work standing on a window sill,
ladder, scaffold or similar equipment

» Warehouse work, except office and
clerical work

Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

e 16 and 17 year olds may not
« Operate or maintain powered woodworking
or saw milling tools*
— Chainsaws, circular saws, bandsaws
« Operate or maintain power-driven hoisting
machines
— Cranes, forklifts, person lifts
« Load or operate power-driven bailers or
compactors*
« Work on the roof of any building in any
capacity*
« Participate in the demolition or razing (total or
partial) of any structure or ship

Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

* 16 and 17 year olds may not

« Work in areas where explosives are
manufactured or stored

¢ Perform mining

« Be exposed to radioactive substances
« Use power-driven bakery machines

« Manufacture brick or tile

« Use excavating equipment*

« Process or pack meat

« Use metal forming equipment*

* May be exempt if enrolled in a vocational program




Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

e Driving Restrictions

« 16 year olds may not operate any motor
vehicle on any public road or highway, or
near any mining, logging or sawmilling
operation
— Cars, pickup trucks, motorcycles, vans, semis

¢ 17 year olds may only drive under certain
limited circumstances
— Valid driver’s license and no moving violations
— Only in daylight hours

— May not tow vehicles or transport
goods/passengers for hire

Child Labor Laws — Prohibited/Hazardous Occupations

Employer’'s Requirements

e Make sure tasks minors perform are
safe and not defined as prohibited

¢ Review with site managers, shift
leaders, crew chiefs to make sure
they are aware what tasks in your
business would be considered
“hazardous” or “prohibited”

e Double-check to ensure that minors
are not “volunteering” to work in
prohibited occupations

Child Labor Laws — Work during a * School Day”

Work during a “School Day”

e Minors may not work during “school
hours” from 7:30 am to 3:30 pm on a
school day

— Exceptions
¢ May work during “school hours” with written
school permission
« All minors working as actors, performers or
photographic models




Child Labor Laws —Work during a * School Day”

Employer’'s Requirements

Request permission from the minor’s
school before scheduling during
daytime hours

If the minor is home-schooled, the
parent may provide the permission
Maintain school permission with
minor employee’s file

Do not allow minors to volunteer to
work restricted hours without school
permission

Child Labor Laws — Breaks and Lunches

Breaks and Lunches

The most frequently cited penalty!

Minors under 18 must receive 1 or 2
breaks totaling at least 30 minutes if
working six or more hours

— Exceptions:
* Minors withdrawn from school
« High School/Equivalency Graduates

¢ Under 14 or working as farm laborer,
domestic worker, golf caddie, newspaper
carrier or actor/performer/model

« Legally emancipated
¢ Parent employing own child

Child Labor Laws - Breaks and Lunches

Breaks and Lunches

Indiana Administrative Code 610 IAC
10-3-2 requires employers to
maintain a break log for minor
employees

Breaks must be documented
whether paid or unpaid

Break logs are subject to inspection
by the IDOL
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Child Labor Laws — Breaks and Lunches

Employer’'s Requirements
Communicate the break policy
clearly to the minor at the time of hire
Policy must be provided in writing

Maintain a break log or otherwise
note breaks in time punches
Make sure that break logs are
maintained constantly and are
readily available to the inspector

Document, document, document!

Civil Penalties

Penalty Structure
Amount of Civil Penalties changes
based upon the type of violation
9 different violations — “A” through “1”

Each separate instance is
considered a violation
Penalty amounts increase based on

recurrences from inspection to
inspection

11



Child Labor Laws — 9 Types of Violations

9 Types of Violations

A. Minors without Work Permits

B. Poster not displayed

C. Termination notice not returned

D. Hour Violation: Less than 30 mins.

Civil Penalties — Penalty Structure A-D
Penalty Structure for

Violations: A, B, C and D

e First Violation = Warning

| © Second Violation = $50 per instance
e Third Violation = $75 per instance

» Fourth+ Violation = $100 per instance

Child Labor Laws - 9 Types of Violations

9 Types of Violations

A. Minors without Work Permits

B. Poster not displayed

C. Termination notice not returned

D. Hour Violation: Less than 30 mins.
| E. Hour Violation: More than 30 mins.
F. Prohibited / Hazardous occupations

G. Under 14 years of age / illegal
entertainment

H. After 7:30am/before 3:30pm on school day
I. 6 or more hrs. without documented break

12



Civil Penalties — Penalty Structure E-I
Penalty Structure for
Violations: E, F, G, Hand |

First Violation = Warning

Second Violation = $100 per instance
Third Violation = $200 per instance
Fourth+ Violation = $400 per instance

Additional Resources

Petition for Review Process

Resources

« IDOL
Phone: (317) 232-2655
e Fax: (317) 234-4449
« Email: childlabor@dol.in.gov
i Website: www.in.gov/dol
« USDOL
¢ Phone: (317) 226-6801
« Website: www.youthrules.dol.gov

13






NOTE: This card must be presented by the minor to
INTENTION TO EMPLOY I A1 the issuing officer in their school before a certificate
will be issued. For employer’s protection, the minor
State Form 896 (R6 / 6-99) must also present an acceptable proof of age to

obtain an employment certificate. The hours minor
may work are shown on the reverse side.

Name of minor (intend to employ) Date
Residential street address City, state, ZIP code
Hours per day Days of week Hours per week Is minor on school-directed Vocational Education
(appr.) (appr.) (appr.) Program with your firm?
Yes No
List exact duties
Name of business Telephone no. | Type of business (Mfg., Process,
Retail, Restaurant)
Street address City, state, ZIP code
Signature of employer’s rep. Signature of minor Signature of parent or guardian
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TEEN WORK HOUR RESTRICTIONS

Employers of minors who are 14, 15, 16 or 17 years of age are required by law to post the maximum number of hours
that minors may be permitted to work in each day of the week. The information must be posted in a conspicuous place or
in places where notices are customarily posted. For additional copies of this poster or for further information, please visit
www.in.gov/dol/childlabor.htm .

14 and 15 year olds 16 year olds

e 3 hours per school day e 8 hours per day
e 8 hours per non-school day e 9 hours per day*
e 18 hours per school week e 30 hours per week
e 40 hours per non-school week e 40 hours per school week*
e No work before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. e 48 hours per non-school week*

» 14 and 15 year olds may work until 9:00 p.m. e No more than 6 working days per week

from June 1 to Labor Day e No work before 6:00 a.m.
e Until 10:00 p.m. on nights followed by a

17 year olds school day
e 8 hours per day e Until 12:00 a.m. on nights not followed
e 9 hours per day* by a school day*
e 30 hours per week
e 40 hours per school week*
e 48 hours per non-school week*
e No more than 6 working days per week
* No work before 6:00 a.m. on school days * Requires written parental permission. This
e Until 10:00 p.m. on nights followed by a school day permission must be on file with employer at the
e Until 11:30 p.m. on nights followed by a school day, or* location where the minor is working.
e Until 1:00 a.m. on nights followed by a school day*

» Minors may not work until 1:00 a.m. on consecutive nights
and not more than two school nights per week

BREAK REQUIREMENTS FOR MINORS

Workers under the age of 18 must receive one or two breaks totaling 30 minutes when scheduled to work 6 or more
consecutive hours (e.g. two breaks of 15 minutes each or one 30 minute break). The employer must maintain a break log
for all workers under the age of 18.

WORKING BEFORE 6:00 A.M. OR AFTER 10:00 P.M.

Workers under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a co-worker who is at least 18 years of age when working before
6:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m. in an establishment that is open to the public.

WORKING DURING SCHOOL HOURS

14 and 15 year olds may not work on a school day after 7:30 a.m. and before 3:30 p.m. 16 and 17 year olds may only
work during school hours if the employer has written permission issued by the school that the minor attends.

GRADUATES / WITHDRAWN FROM SCHOOL

16 and 17 year olds who have withdrawn from school or who have graduated from high school or a high school
equivalency are not subject to the hour restrictions listed above.

INDIANA
* DEPARTMENT

Indiana Department of Labor / Bureau of Child labor . OF LABOR

402 West Washington Street, Room W195, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Phone: (317) 232-2655 e Fax: (317) 234-4449 e TT Voice: 1-800-743-3333
E-Mail: childlabor@dol.in.gov e Web: www.in.gov/dol/childlabor.htm







State Form 48409 (R3 / 12-99)

Written Parental Permission for Additional Work Hours for 16 & 17 Year Olds
| am the parent or legal guardian of:

Name of Child

As parent or guardian, | give the above named child permission to:

if 16 years of age, work until midnight on nights not followed by a school day.
e if 17 years of age, work until 11:30 p.m. on nights followed by a school day.
e if 17 years of age, work until 1:00 a.m. on two non-consecutive school nights per week.
e if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 9 hours on a day not followed by a school day.
e if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 40 hours during a school week.
e if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 48 hours during a non-school week.
(Inital)

Printed Name of Parent or Guardian

Signature of Parent or Guardian

State Form 48409 (R3 / 12-99)

Written Parental Permission for Additional Work Hours for 16 & 17 Year Olds

| am the parent or legal guardian of:

Name of Child

As parent or guardian, | give the above named child permission to:

if 16 years of age, work until midnight on nights not followed by a school day.
e if 17 years of age, work until 11:30 p.m. on nights followed by a school day.
e if 17 years of age, work until 1:00 a.m. on two non-consecutive school nights per week.
e if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 9 hours on a day not followed by a school day.
e if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 40 hours during a school week.
e if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 48 hours during a non-school week.
(Inital)

Printed Name of Parent or Guardian

Signature of Parent or Guardian

State Form 48409 (R3 / 12-99)

Written Parental Permission for Additional Work Hours for 16 & 17 Year Olds

| am the parent or legal guardian of:
Name of Child

As parent or guardian, | give the above named child permission to:

if 16 years of age, work until midnight on nights not followed by a school day.

(Initial)
if 17 years of age, work until 11:30 p.m. on nights followed by a school day.

(Initial)
" if 17 years of age, work until 1:00 a.m. on two non-consecutive school nights per week.

(Initial)
if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 9 hours on a day not followed by a school day.

(Initial)
if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 40 hours during a school week.

(Initial)
if 16 or 17 years of age, work up to 48 hours during a non-school week.

(Initial)

Printed Name of Parent or Guardian

Signature of Parent or Guardian







Prohibited Occupations for Hoosier Teen Workers

As summer approaches, many Indiana teens will seek out
work for the first time. For teens, and parents alike, this pro-
cess can prove daunting, as many first time workers are not
familiar with Indiana child labor laws and their associated
restrictions. 'The U.S. Department of Labor has set specific
guidelines regarding the types of jobs that minors (17 and
younger) can perform. Among these guidelines is a list of
occupations deemed prohibited occupations.

Prohibited occupations may not be performed by minors.

For teens 15 years old and younger, there are additional re-
strictions. These general guidelines can prove to be helpful
in narrowing down job searches for teens and parents. An
outline of prohibited occupations appears below.

For more information on the employment of minors or
prohibited occupations, please visit the U.S. Department of
Labor’s website at www.osha.gov/SIT'C/teenworkers/ or the
Indiana Department of Labor’s Bureau of Child Labor web-
site at www.in.gov/dol/childlabor.htm.

Hazardous Occupationst Explanation/Examples

Manufacturing and storing explosives

Working in a fireworks store. Exception: retail stores which happen to sell
fireworks.

Driving a motor vehicle and being an outside helper on a motor vehicle

Driving on public roadways or working on the outside of a garbage truck.

Any type of mining (coal or otherwise)

Any occupation which involves extraction of coal or minerals from the earth.

Sawmilling and logging
Operation of power-driven woodworking machines*

Sawing & processing trees or lumber; working with any powered wood working
machine (fixed or portable).

Operation of power-driven metal-forming, punching and shearing machines*

Any work with power-driven machines which change the shape of or cut metal.

Operation of power-driven circular saws, band saws and guillotine shears*

SEE: Power-driven woodworking machines* AND Power-driven metal-forming,
punching and shearing machines.*

Operation of power-driven hoisting apparatus

Operation of an elevator, crane or forklift.

Exposure to radioactive substances

Administering X-rays.

Operation of power-driven bakery machines

Operating, cleaning, prepping horizontal or vertical dough mixers and the opera-
tion of bread molding machines.

Operations involved in wrecking, demolition or shipbreaking

The deconstruction of a building, ship, etc. for disposal or scrap (including clean-
up.

Operation of power-driven paper product machines*

Operation of cardboard or paper bailing machines.

Roofing operations/any work on a roof*

Laying shingles, roof top HVAC work, installing cable satellite dishes.

Excavation operations*

Any work in trenches or depths deeper than four (4) feet. Any work in tunnels
or shafts.

Meat packing or processing

Operation of electric meat slicing, grinding or cutting machines. Example:
Delicatessen.

Manufacturing of brick, tile or kindred products

Production of brick, sewer pipe or other clay building materials.

*These occupations have exemptions for students who are participating in certain apprentice or student learner programs.
*This is not an inclusive list of prohibited occupations. These examples should only aid in understanding the rules.

Additional Restrictions for Teens 15 Years and Younger

e Communications or public utilities jobs;
¢ Driving a motor vehicle or helping a driver;
e Manufacturing and mining occupations;
e Power-driven machinery or hoisting apparatus other than typical office ma-
chines;
e Construction or repair jobs;
¢ Public messenger jobs;
¢ Transporting of persons or property;
e Work in rooms where products are manufactured, mined or processed.
e Warehousing and storage; any warehouse work, except office and clerical
work;
¢ Baking;
e Boiler or engine room work, whether in or about;
e Cooking, Exceptions include:
e Gas or electric grills that do not involve cooking over an open flame and
e Deep fat fryers that are equipped with & utilize devices that
automatically lower & raise the baskets in & out of the hot grease or oil.
e Work in freezers or meat coolers;
¢ Loading or unloading goods on or off trucks, railcars or conveyors;
¢ Meat processing area work (working in or around where meat is processed);
e Maintenance or repair of a building or its equipment
e Operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling or repairing power-driven

food slicers, grinders, choppers or cutters and bakery mixers; and
e Qutside window washing, or work standing on a window sill, ladder, scaffold
or similar equipment.







Minor Employee Break Log for

Date NElE Time Out Time In Initials







Checklist for Employing Minors Minor's Name:
Indiana Department of Labor
Bureau of Child Labor

Not an Official State Form (10/09) Date Of B”.th

Date of Hire:

Please use this checklist as a guide when hiring employees 14 through 17 years of age.

1. Intent to Employ/AL form is completed™. .. ...
Employer's signature Was ODIaINEd. .. ... oot e e i e e e s e e ee e e s s e e e e s aa e

Minor's signature was ODTAINEd ... ... .. oot e e e e e e e e e

Parent's signature Was ODtAINE. .. ... oo e e e e et e et e e e e e

* If the minor will be working at more than one location, best practice is to obtain a work permit for each location. The employer will
neeed to fill out a separate Al for each location. Separate the minor's total work hours between the locations. Schools cannot
issue work permits if the minor's total hours exceed the maximum hours allowed for the minor's age.

** \Work permits CANNOT be kept off-site and MUST be the original -no photocopies.

3. If 16 or 17, written parental permission was granted to work extended hours***............
17 year old can work until 11:30 pm on nights followed by a school day...........ccooviiiiiiii i
17 year old can work until 1 am on 2, non consecutive nights followed by a school day.........................

16 & 17 year olds can work 9 hOoUIS ON ANy QA ... ..vvve ettt s i i e e e e s s e e aeaae i eaeaee e
16 & 17 year olds can work 40 hours during @ SChOOI WEEK ......veeiie it i e i e e iananeans
16 & 17 year olds can work 48 hours during a non-school WeekK..........ccovvi i i
The parental permission form is signed and dated by the parent............cooviiiii it e e

*** Parents of 14 and 15 year olds cannot provide permission to work extended hours

4. This minor has obtained written school permission to work during school hours......... |
Please list the school hours that this minor is permitted to work
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All managers have been advised of "Hazardous" and "Prohibited” occupations............cooveeviviiiiiiinnns
This minor is enrolled in a voc. ed. program that exempts some Hazardous occupations.....................

*rrxx Please see the "Hazardous Occupations” poster for more details.

7. Your company's break/lunch policy has been clearly explained to the minor.................
The policy was provided to the MINOr iN WITHING. . ... oo i e e et e e e e e e aa s e e enereeeenes

The minor is clocking in and out for all breaks and lunches or otherwise documenting breaks and
18] o o ToT 3 = W ] == |G (o o

These records are up-to-date and being maintained daily ..........oviiei i i e eee e

8. If the minor has terminated employment, written notice was provided to the
officer at the school that issued the WOrk permit..........ooooi i e,

The NOLICE WAS SENT VIA MAl .. ottt it it it ittt it et s ettt e et es et te e s st aesnansesnssenraneens
The Notice Was Nand AelIVEIEA. .. ...ttt it e et it it e e e it e s et ae sreae s aas enrenanensnraens

THE NOTICE WaAS fAXE .+ ettt it ittt ettt ettt e et e e e ae ae s et s ae s ee e ee s e asaaee re are e s enssarnenennrnnns

This is not arequired state form. The Bureau of Child Labor provides this checklist as a courtesy to assist in keeping track of documentation

for minors. The information included herein should not be construed as legal advice.







1 Child Labor Training Survey

»

¥ i Please return this survey to your trainer or fax it to (317) 234-4449.
Trainer's Name: Training Date:
Presentation Method: Live Teleconference

Please rate this training based on your agreement with the following statements:

Strongly
Agree

Agree

Disagree

Strongly
Disagree

Adequate time was allotted to cover the material.

| can apply what | have learned in this training.

This training was worth the time spent away from work.

This training met my expectations.

The presenter was well informed on the subject.

The presenter was clear and concise.

The presenter adequately answered questions.

The presenter mantained a professional appearance.

If you Disagreed or Strongly Disagreed with any of the above statements, please explain:

What information would you add to this presentation?

What information would you remove from this presentation?

Additional comments:




