
‭Indiana Homeschool Laws‬
‭Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)‬

‭This FAQ contains information and guidance regarding Indiana’s homeschool laws as outlined by the Indiana Department‬
‭of Education (IDOE).‬

‭Number‬ ‭Question‬ ‭Answer‬

‭Definitions‬

‭1‬ ‭How does‬
‭Indiana state law‬
‭refer to‬
‭homeschools?‬

‭Homeschools in Indiana are referred to as non-public, non-accredited schools‬
‭in‬‭IC 20-33-2-12‬‭.‬

‭2‬ ‭What are the‬
‭legal‬
‭requirements for‬
‭homeschools in‬
‭Indiana?‬

‭●‬ ‭IC 20-33-2-20‬‭requires homeschools to maintain an‬‭accurate daily record of‬
‭attendance to verify the enrollment and attendance of a student. Attendance‬
‭records must be provided upon the request of the Secretary of Education or‬
‭the public school superintendent where the student resides. There is no‬
‭specific form required to maintain attendance records.‬

‭●‬ ‭IC 20-33-2-27‬‭and‬‭IC 20-33-2-28‬‭provide that it is‬‭unlawful for a parent or‬
‭guardian to fail, neglect, or refuse to send the parents or guardians child to a‬
‭public school for a full term unless the child is being  provided with‬
‭instruction equivalent to that given in public schools. State law does not‬
‭define instruction equivalent to that given in public schools.‬‭IC 20-33-2-12‬
‭provides that a  homeschool is not bound by any legal requirements set‬
‭forth in‬‭IC 20‬‭or‬‭IC 21‬‭with regard to curriculum‬‭or the content of‬
‭educational programs offered by the homeschool.‬

‭3‬ ‭At what age must‬
‭I begin‬
‭homeschooling?‬

‭Age seven.‬‭IC 20-33-2-8‬‭states that students are not‬‭bound by the compulsory‬
‭school attendance law until they are seven years of age. Parents or guardians‬
‭who wish to begin homeschooling prior to age seven may do so.‬

‭4‬ ‭At what age are‬
‭homeschooled‬
‭students finished‬
‭with school?‬

‭Homeschooled students complete schooling at age 18.‬

‭5‬ ‭What records do I‬
‭have to maintain‬
‭for students I‬
‭homeschool?‬

‭IC 20-33-2-20‬‭requires that attendance records be‬‭maintained. Parents or‬
‭guardians should provide‬‭180 days of instruction‬‭in‬‭an academic year, which‬
‭runs from July 1, of a given year through June 30, of the following year. The‬
‭days the student was enrolled in a public school or another accredited school‬
‭count toward the 180 days of attendance.‬

‭Indiana law does not require specific educational records to be maintained. If‬
‭there is ever a question of educational neglect, keeping good attendance records‬
‭and other documentation regarding attendance and continuing educational‬
‭activity is highly instrumental in addressing these concerns.‬

‭6‬ ‭What records do I‬ ‭None. Parents or guardians are responsible for maintaining any records related to‬
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‭send to the‬
‭IDOE?‬

‭their student(s) homeschool program. IDOE does not accept, maintain, or validate‬
‭educational records for students who are homeschooled.‬

‭Withdrawal from Public or Other Accredited School and Registration‬

‭7‬ ‭Are Indiana‬
‭homeschool‬
‭families required‬
‭to register with the‬
‭IDOE?‬

‭No. Registration as a homeschool family is not required in the state of‬
‭Indiana. If parents‬‭choose‬‭to submit homeschool enrollment‬‭information to‬
‭IDOE, they may do so‬‭here‬‭by clicking the link under‬‭the “Register your‬
‭Homeschool” heading. An email with a verification number will be‬
‭automatically generated and sent to the email address provided.‬

‭8‬ ‭If I choose to‬
‭register as a‬
‭homeschool‬
‭family, must I‬
‭register every year?‬

‭No. When you register as a homeschool family, you only register one time. The‬
‭registration remains active year after year and applies to any students you‬
‭homeschool.‬

‭9‬ ‭Is there a‬
‭difference‬
‭between‬
‭homeschooling‬
‭and other learning‬
‭from  home‬
‭options?‬

‭Yes. Homeschooling is the term used when parents or guardians withdraw from‬
‭public and non-public accredited school options in order to educate their students‬
‭themselves. Although homeschool parents or guardians may participate in co-ops‬
‭or other options, the education is based in the home with the parent or guardian‬
‭making the decisions about curriculum and instructional matters.‬

‭Homebound instruction and‬‭virtual schools, based and‬‭accredited in Indiana‬‭,‬
‭including virtual charter schools, are examples of home-based programs that are‬
‭not homeschools.‬

‭10‬ ‭I want to‬
‭withdraw my high‬
‭school‬
‭student to‬
‭homeschool them.‬
‭The school wants‬
‭me to sign a form.‬
‭Is it a homeschool‬
‭registration form?‬

‭No. The‬‭Withdrawal to Non-Accredited Non-public School‬‭Located in Indiana‬
‭form is not a homeschool registration form. The form is required by‬‭IC‬
‭20-33-2-28.6‬‭for high school students who have withdrawn‬‭to homeschool. It is‬
‭not a registration form but does allow a high school to remove a student who is‬
‭withdrawn to homeschool from the graduation cohort.‬

‭If a parent or guardian chooses not to sign the form, the student is regarded as a‬
‭high school dropout and the principal must report the student to the Bureau of‬
‭Motor Vehicles (BMV) to revoke or refuse to issue a driver's license or learner’s‬
‭permit to the student.‬

‭The withdrawal form has a statement that if the homeschool verification email‬
‭is available, it should be attached to the form. If a parent or guardian chooses‬
‭not to register as a homeschool family or if the verification is not available, the‬
‭form will still be considered complete with just the parent or guardian signature.‬

‭11‬ ‭I want to‬
‭withdraw my‬
‭elementary or‬
‭middle school‬
‭student to‬
‭homeschool. The‬
‭school wants me to‬
‭sign a form in‬

‭No. State law does not require parents and guardians of students in elementary‬
‭or middle school to sign a specific form in order to withdraw from school in‬
‭order to begin homeschooling. The school cannot require parents or guardians‬
‭to register or provide proof of enrollment in a homeschool program prior to‬
‭withdrawing the student.‬
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‭order to withdraw.‬
‭Do I  have to sign‬
‭the‬
‭form?‬

‭12‬ ‭Do I need to‬
‭inform my school‬
‭of my decision to‬
‭withdraw my‬
‭student to‬
‭homeschool?‬

‭Yes. Parents and guardians must inform the school of their decision to withdraw.‬
‭There is no specific method required to withdraw established in state law. A‬
‭phone call to the school may suffice, but it is recommended that parents and‬
‭guardians inform the school of their decision in writing.‬

‭Failure to inform the school of the decision to homeschool could result in the‬
‭student being reported as truant.‬

‭13‬ ‭Can the school‬
‭my student‬
‭attends prevent‬
‭me from‬
‭withdrawing my‬
‭student to‬
‭homeschool?‬

‭No. The decision to homeschool is left up to the parent or guardian. The school‬
‭may not require the parent or guardian to register, provide proof of curriculum,‬
‭or otherwise impede the decision to withdraw to homeschool.‬

‭14‬ ‭Can the school‬
‭where my student is‬
‭enrolled make me‬
‭withdraw my‬
‭students to‬
‭homeschool?‬

‭No. The decision to homeschool is left up to the parent or guardian. The school‬
‭should not suggest or require any parents or guardians to homeschool students,‬
‭even if the student is behind academically or potentially subject to suspension‬
‭or expulsion. If a student has been suspended or expelled, the parent or‬
‭guardian cannot be required to homeschool the student.‬

‭15‬ ‭My student has an‬
‭Individualized‬
‭Education Plan‬
‭(IEP), can I still‬
‭homeschool?‬

‭Yes. Parents and guardians of students with IEPs may still decide to homeschool.‬
‭There may be some services that the student is still entitled to receive through‬
‭their previous school if the student is withdrawn to homeschool. It is‬
‭recommended parents and guardians consult with the school special education‬
‭director to discuss how those services might be provided.‬

‭16‬ ‭If I decide to quit‬
‭homeschooling,‬
‭may I enroll my‬
‭students in school‬
‭again?‬

‭Yes. The public school corporation in which you reside must enroll students if‬
‭you wish to return them to public school. If you choose to enroll in a public‬
‭charter school, you may not be able to enroll right away, if the charter school is‬
‭at its enrollment capacity. If you choose to enroll in an accredited non-public‬
‭school, students will be subject to their admissions policies and procedures.‬

‭Students who have been suspended or expelled from a school and whose parents‬
‭or guardians have decided to homeschool, will most likely have to wait until‬
‭their term of suspension or expulsion is over before enrolling in the public‬
‭school corporation where they reside. Once that term of suspension or expulsion‬
‭is over, the school corporation must enroll the student.‬

‭When students return to school, the school retains the right of placement for the‬
‭student. This means that the school may place the student in the grade or class‬
‭where they feel the student will be most successful. The school is not required to‬
‭accept work completed as part of a homeschool education.‬
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‭17‬ ‭Do I have to‬
‭homeschool my‬
‭child if they have‬
‭been expelled from‬
‭school?‬

‭No. Indiana Code‬‭20-33-8-19‬‭requires school corporations‬‭to provide parents‬
‭or guardians of students who have been expelled a list of alternative education‬
‭programs and virtual charter schools the student might be allowed to enroll in‬
‭while the student is under a term of expulsion. Parents or guardians are not‬
‭required to provide homeschooling for their students if other enrollment‬
‭options are not available.‬

‭18‬ ‭How do I unenroll‬
‭my child from‬
‭homeschool?‬

‭To unenroll a student from homeschool, the public school corporation in which‬
‭the student resides must enroll the student if the student wishes to return to‬
‭public school. If the student chooses to enroll in a public charter school, you‬
‭may not be able to enroll right away, if the charter school is at its enrollment‬
‭capacity. If you choose to enroll in an accredited non-public school, students‬
‭will be subject to their admissions policies and procedures.‬

‭Students who have been suspended or expelled from a school and whose‬
‭parents or guardians have decided to homeschool, will most likely have to wait‬
‭until their term of suspension or expulsion is over before enrolling in the‬
‭public school corporation where they reside. Once that term of suspension or‬
‭expulsion is over, the school corporation must enroll the student. When‬
‭students return to school, the school retains the right of placement for the‬
‭student. This means that the school may place the student in the grade or class‬
‭where they feel the student will be most successful. The school is not required‬
‭to accept work completed as part of a homeschool education.‬

‭Curriculum, Diplomas, and Exemptions‬

‭19‬ ‭How do I begin‬
‭homeschooling?‬

‭When you are ready to begin homeschooling, you should inform the school‬
‭where your student(s) attend of your decision to withdraw to homeschool. If‬
‭your student is in high school, the school should ask you to sign the‬
‭Withdrawal to Non-accredited Non-public School Located in Indiana‬‭form.‬

‭You should also prepare to begin homeschooling. You should decide what type‬
‭of educational program you will provide and what materials you will use. An‬
‭internet search will provide many options for parents to consider. Options range‬
‭from educational programs put together by parents to participation in‬
‭homeschool curriculum programs created by various organizations. The costs of‬
‭the programs will vary.‬

‭IDOE does not review or endorse any homeschool programs. It is up to‬
‭parents and guardians to determine what type of program will meet their‬
‭needs and to implement the program.‬

‭20‬ ‭What homeschool‬
‭programs are‬
‭accredited in‬
‭Indiana?‬

‭None. Homeschools are defined as non-public, non-accredited schools. Parents‬
‭and guardians are free to select any curriculum they choose to provide a‬
‭program of education to their student(s).‬

‭Some curriculum providers may have received accreditation from various‬
‭entities. That accreditation does not mean they are accredited as schools by the‬
‭State of Indiana. Accreditation held by a homeschool curriculum provider is not a‬
‭guarantee that courses, classes, or diplomas earned by students in the program‬
‭will be accepted in the same manner as learning completed in a state accredited‬
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‭school. Public and other accredited schools are not required to accept or provide‬
‭credit for work completed in a homeschool setting, regardless of any‬
‭accreditation status the curriculum provider may have.‬

‭21‬ ‭Do I have to use‬
‭the Indiana‬
‭Academic‬
‭Standards to‬
‭homeschool legally?‬

‭No. Indiana Academic Standards do not have to be used by parents or guardians‬
‭who homeschool. If you choose to use the standards, you can find them‬‭here‬‭.‬

‭22‬ ‭Do I have to‬
‭conduct school for‬
‭a certain number‬
‭of hours per day?‬

‭No. Instructional time requirements do not apply to homeschools. Public schools‬
‭must provide five hours of instruction for elementary students and six hours of‬
‭instruction to secondary students.‬

‭23‬ ‭Do homeschool‬
‭students have to‬
‭participate in‬
‭statewide testing,‬
‭including IREAD‬
‭or ILEARN?‬

‭No. Unless the student is enrolled in at least one class in a public or‬
‭accredited school, homeschool students are not allowed to participate in‬
‭statewide testing.‬

‭24‬ ‭Does my homeschool‬
‭student have to meet‬
‭all the graduation‬
‭requirements,‬
‭including‬
‭Graduation‬
‭Pathways?‬

‭No. Homeschools are defined as non-public, non-accredited schools.‬
‭Consequently, graduation requirements do not apply to them and homeschool‬
‭students will not receive an Indiana high school diploma accredited by the‬
‭Indiana State Board of Education (SBOE).‬

‭25‬ ‭Will my student‬
‭receive a high‬
‭school diploma?‬

‭Homeschool students will not receive a diploma accredited by SBOE. Students‬
‭who wish to receive a diploma accredited by the State of Indiana may take the‬
‭High School Equivalency (HSE) exam. The HSE is administered by the‬
‭Department of Workforce Development‬‭.‬

‭26‬ ‭Do students who‬
‭are homeschooled‬
‭qualify for the‬
‭21‬‭st‬ ‭Century‬
‭Scholars‬
‭Program?‬

‭No. Information from‬‭Learn More Indiana‬‭, a site operated‬‭by the Commission‬
‭for Higher Education, states that homeschooled students are not eligible for‬
‭the 21‬‭st‬‭Century Scholars Program.‬

‭Relationship with the Local Public School Corporation‬

‭27‬ ‭Can my‬
‭homeschooled‬
‭student take a class‬
‭or classes in our‬
‭local school‬
‭corporation?‬

‭This is a local decision. Check with your local school corporation to inquire‬
‭about enrolling in classes.‬
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‭28‬ ‭Can my student‬
‭participate in‬
‭extracurricular‬
‭activities at our‬
‭local school‬
‭corporation?‬

‭This is a local decision. Check with your local school corporation to inquire‬
‭about their policies.‬

‭Contact IDOE’s‬‭Homeschool team‬‭with additional questions.‬

‭Updated August 2024‬
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