SECURED SCHOOL SAFETY BOARD

Notice is hereby given that the Indiana Secured School Safety Board will be meeting:

November 15, 2022 10:00 am Indiana Government Center South Conference room 18

Agenda And Meeting Minutes

1. Call to order - Chairman Joel Thacker

Session was Called to Order and began at 10:02am

2. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum – Rusty Goodpaster

Chairman Joel Thacker – present

Steve Balko – present

Philip Gordon – present via Teams

Doug Carter – present via Teams

Eric Bowlen – present

Devon McDonald - present

6 Present – Qualify for Quorum

Guests - Kristi Shute, IDHS Legal

David Hosick, IDHS Communications Director

Nikki Lee, IDHS Grants

Ada Knight, IDHS Grants via Teams

Amanda Carver, IDHS Grants via Teams

Arvella Boddie, IDHS Grants via Teams

Alyssa Schroeder, IDHS Legal via Teams

Jonathan Whitham, IDHS Legal via Teams

3. Approval of meeting minutes from August 23, 2022 meeting – Rusty Goodpaster

Rusty sent via email a copy of the August board meeting minutes ahead of time for review. Chairman Thacker called for a motion to approve the minutes.

Approve minutes 1st – Eric Bowlen

2nd – Devon McDonald

Rusty Goodpaster conducted roll call vote:

Chairman Joel Thacker – Aye

Steve Balko - Aye

Eric Bowlen - Aye

Doug Carter - Aye

Philip Gordon – Aye

Devon McDonald - Ave

Motion Carried - August meeting minutes Approved.

4. Request for an Advance from the Common School Fund by MSD of Warren County – Rusty Goodpaster

At the request of Chairman Thacker, Rusty gave an overview of the process for an Advance from the Common School Fund. Rusty also informed the Board that their role was to make a recommendation to the State Board of Education (SBOE), that the SBOE has final approval authority and would work with the school corporation on details if approved. Rusty then presented the request from the MSD of Warren County for the amount of \$80,674.88. This request was made to fund replacing its current Active Shooter Response System with the WAVE + Instant Notification System. Rusty sent the MSD of Warren County's application to the Board members for their review prior to the meeting. Rusty informed the Board the request met all eligibility requirements, and the staff was asking approval of the recommendation to the SBOE.

Chairman Thacker asked for a motion to approve recommendation.

```
Approve 1<sup>st</sup> – Eric Bowlen 2<sup>nd</sup> – Steve Balko
```

Rusty Goodpaster conducted roll call vote:

Prior to the vote, Philip Gordon asked if the SBOE receives the same information as the Board. Rusty informed the group that upon approval he will send a memo to the SBOE and attach all documents the SSSB received.

Chairman Joel Thacker – Aye Steve Balko – Aye Eric Bowlen - Aye Doug Carter – Aye Philip Gordon – Aye Devon McDonald - Aye

Motion Carried – Request for an Advance from the Common School Fund by MSD of Warren County Approved.

5. Comments and Closing remarks – Joel Thacker

6. Adjournment

Chairman Thacker has called for a motion to adjourn.

```
Approve 1<sup>st</sup> – Eric Bowlen
2<sup>nd</sup> – Devon McDonald
```

Rusty Goodpaster conducted roll call vote:

Chairman Joel Thacker – Aye

Steve Balko - Aye

Eric Bowlen - Aye

Doug Carter - Aye

Philip Gordon – Aye

Devon McDonald – Aye

Motion Carried – Meeting adjourned at 10:11