## **EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMISSION**



# EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMISSION SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES

Date: August 5, 2024

Time: 10:00 am

Location: MADE at Plainfield

1610 Reeves Rd. Plainfield, IN 46168

**Members Present:** G. Lee Turpin – *Private Ambulance/ Chairman* 

Matthew Shady – Training Institution

Darin Hoggatt – Public Representative

Patrick Hutchison – *Municipal Fire Services* 

John Zartman - Paramedics

Dr. Sara Brown - Trauma Physicians

Matthew McCullough - Volunteer Fire EMS

Andrew Bowman - Emergency Nurses

Lori Mayle – Air Medical Services

**Members Present Online:** Jerry Harder – EMTs

Dr. Sara Brown – Trauma Physicians

Dr. Lisa Clunie - Hospital EMS

Mary Ann Dudley - Volunteer EMS

Dr. Jim Nossett - Medical Director

**Ex-Officio Members:** Kraig Kinney (*Indiana State EMS Director*) – (non-voting)

Dr. Eric Yazel (Indiana State EMS Medical Director) – (non-voting)

**Members Not Present:** Joel Thacker – *Executive Director of Indiana Dept. of Homeland Security* **Others Present or Present by Teleconference:** Emily Castor, Don Watson and other members of the EMS community.

#### CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Meeting was called to order at approximately 10:00am by Chairman Lee Turpen. Emily Castor called roll and announced quorum. Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

### ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS

- 1. Administrative Rulemaking
  - I. Title 836 Rule readoption that incorporates AEMT certification language in addition to National Criminal History Background check language.
    - II. Hillary Egan stated that she is asking for the EMS Commission's final approval on the Title 836 Rule that incorporates the AMT language as the National Background Check as it mandatory in Indiana. She reminded all that emergency rules statewide will be expiring October 1, 2024. It was noted that there was Public Comment Period held and no comment.

Director Kinney noted that there are a few corrections to some of the definitions listed in the document as this was not drafting in Rule Rewrite Language so in turn will not cause discrepancies if approved as written and Hillary Egan assured that if any modifications or addendums are needed, we are able to do so immediately following the initial approval.

A motion was made by Commissioner Hoggatt to approve Title 836 Rule. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Zartman. Roll call vote was taken:

G. Lee Turpen: Yes Matthew Shady: Yes Darin Hoggatt: Yes Dr Lisa Clunie: Yes Patrick Hutchison: Yes Jerry Harder: Yes John Zartman: Yes Dr. Sara Brown: Yes Andrew Bowman: Yes Mary Ann Dudley: Yes Dr. Jim Nossett: Yes Lori Mayle: Yes

#### **NEXT MEETING**

Next EMS Commission meeting will be on Wednesday, October 2, 2024, beginning at 1:00 PM at Embassy Suites, 13700 Conference Center Drive South, Noblesville, IN 46060. This meeting will be in conjunction with the Indiana Emergency Response Conference.

### <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The meeting was adjourned by consensus.