Indiana Department of Financial Institutions


Civil Proceeding Advance Payment (CPAP) Transactions

House Enrolled Act No. 1127, effective July 1, 2016

This law defines a "civil proceeding advance payment transaction," or "CPAP transaction," as a nonrecourse transaction in which a person (CPAP provider) provides to a consumer claimant in a civil proceeding a funded amount, the repayment of which is: (1) required only if the consumer claimant prevails in the civil proceeding; and (2) sourced from the proceeds of the civil proceeding.  A CPAP provider is permitted to charge for each CPAP transaction: (1) a fee not exceeding an annual rate of 36% of the funded amount; (2) a servicing charge not exceeding an annual rate of 7% of the funded amount; and (3) a one time document fee not exceeding: (A) $250 for a CPAP transaction with a funded amount of less than $5,000; and (B) $500 for a CPAP transaction with a funded amount of at least $5,000.  Other than these fees and charges, a CPAP provider may not assess or collect any other fee or charge in connection with a CPAP transaction.  It is specified that a CPAP transaction is not a loan.  The law requires specific disclosures for a CPAP contract and requires that, if the consumer entering into the CPAP transaction is represented by an attorney, the consumer's attorney must review the CPAP contract.  Prohibited acts are set forth with respect to CPAP providers and attorneys representing consumer claimants.  After December 31, 2016, a person may not regularly engage in the business of making CPAP transactions in Indiana unless the person obtains, and maintains on an annual basis, a consumer loan/CPAP license issued by the Department of Financial Institutions (Department).  To ensure licensing by January 1, 2017, the Department recommends complete and accurate applications be submitted no later than October 1, 2016.  The Department may adopt rules or policies to implement these provisions.  The license application is available at https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=4788.
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