INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES	INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES TITLE IV-D POLICY MANUAL	
	Chapter 3: Case Initiation	Effective Date: 05/20/2020
	Section 2: Non-Public Assistance Cases	Version: 1.2 Revision Date: 05/12/2020

### BACKGROUND

Federal and state laws require the Child Support Bureau (CSB) to provide child support services to any individual – including persons not receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), Medicaid, or IV-E (Foster Care) - who may enroll in child support services by contacting their local Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office.<sup>1</sup>

#### POLICY

1. Requests for Services

When an individual requests to enroll in Title IV-D services, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office shall provide the Indiana Child Support Services Enrollment Form, State Form 34882, (Enrollment Form). If the request is made in person, the Enrollment Form shall be provided to the individual the same day the request is made.<sup>2</sup> If the request is made in writing, i.e. mail or electronic communication, or by telephone, the Enrollment Form shall be sent to the individual within five (5) business days.<sup>3</sup>

2. Enrolling in Services

The Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office shall accept the Enrollment Form from any individual.<sup>4</sup> An individual may enroll in services in any Indiana county; however, if there is an order in another county, the Enrollment Form will be forwarded to the order county.<sup>5</sup> The Enrollment Form includes questions for information necessary to create a case in the statewide child support system. The Enrollment Form is to be signed by the enrollee.<sup>6</sup> If there are multiple "other parents", the enrollee is to attach a separate page for each "other parent". Within 20 calendar days of accepting the Enrollment Form, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office shall open the case in the statewide child support system.<sup>7</sup>

3. Enrollment Fee

There is no charge to the enrollee to enroll in Title IV-D services in Indiana. While federal regulation requires that each enrollment form for a non-public assistance case be

- <sup>5</sup> CSB-AT-350
- <sup>6</sup> 45 C.F.R. § 303.2(a)(3)
- <sup>7</sup> 45 C.F.R. § 303.2(b)

DCS IV-D Policy Manual/Chapter 3: Case Initiation Section 2: Non-Public Assistance Cases

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> IC 31-25-4-19; 42 U.S.C. § 654(4); 45 C.F.R. § 302.33(a)(1)(i)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> 45 C.F.R. § 303.2(a)(2)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> 45 C.F.R. § 303.2(a)(2)

<sup>4 45</sup> C.F.R. § 302.33(a)(1)(i)

assessed a fee not to exceed \$25.00, Indiana's state plan sets the enrollment fee at \$1.00 to be paid from state funds.<sup>8</sup>

#### REFERENCES

- IC 31-25-4-19: Services for other than TANF recipients or applicants; application; fees
- Ind. Rules of Trial Procedure Rule 24: Intervention
- CSB-AT-350: New Procedures for Pass-Through/Intrastate Case Processing
- Indiana State Plan Attachment 2.5A: Application Fee and Costs of Collection
- <u>42 U.S.C. § 654</u>: State plan for spousal and child support
- 45 C.F.R. § 302.15: Reports and maintenance of records
- 45 C.F.R § 302.33: Services to individuals not receiving title IV-A assistance
- 45 C.F.R. § 303.2: Establishment of cases and maintenance of case records

#### PROCEDURE

- 1. The enrollee submits the Enrollment Form to the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office.
- 2. The Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office verifies whether a case already exists in the statewide child support system.
  - a. If a case does not already exist, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office creates the case in the statewide child support system. Each case is assigned a unique case number by the statewide child support system.
  - b. If a case already exists in the county where the Enrollment Form was received, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office updates case and participant data in the statewide child support system and begins establishment or enforcement procedures. If the existing case is attached to an existing cause, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office shall move to intervene and appear in the existing cause.<sup>9</sup>
  - c. If a case already exists in another county and has an active court order, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office notifies the enrollee that the Enrollment Form is being forwarded to the order county for enforcement. The IV-D Prosecutor's Office sends the Enrollment Form and any documentation provided by the enrollee to the order county.<sup>10</sup>
  - d. If a case already exists in another county and there is no court order information in the statewide child support system, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office further investigates the status of the case in the other county to determine if any court actions are pending or have been filed in the cause. Procedures for the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office's next action are outlined in Chapter 7: Multi-County Case Processing; Section 2: Inter-County Case Initiation and Processing.
- 3. The Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office shall retain a copy of the Application either in the paper or electronic case file.<sup>11</sup>

#### FORMS AND TOOLS

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> 45 C.F.R. § 302.33(c)(1)(iv)(A); Indiana State Plan Attachment 2.5A
<sup>9</sup> Ind. Trial Rule 24(C)
<sup>10</sup> CSB-AT-350
<sup>11</sup> 45 C.F.R. § 302.15(a)(1)
DCS IV-D Policy Manual/Chapter 3: Case Initiation
Section 2: Non-Public Assistance Cases

- 1. Chapter 7: Multi-County Case Processing
- 2. Indiana Child Support Services Enrollment: State Form 34882
- 3. Instructions for Completing Form OCSS-157: The Child Support Enforcement Annual Data Report

# FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

- 1. Q. Is the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office required to use the Indiana Child Support Services Enrollment Form, State Form 34882, or may the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office create an office specific enrollment form?
  - A. The Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office is required to use the Indiana Child Support Enrollment Form, State Form 34882. The Indiana Commission on Public Records, State Forms Management Division, and the State Board of Accounts approved this Enrollment Form. The Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office may create and use supplemental questionnaires if the office believes additional information is necessary; however, an enrollee cannot be denied services for failing to complete these supplemental questionnaires. These supplemental questionnaires are not part of the Enrollment Form and should not be referred to as the Enrollment Form.
- 2. Q. The Enrollment Form only has space for information for one (1) "other parent". What if an enrollee is enrolling in services to establish paternity on a child and names more than one (1) alleged father?
  - A. The Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office may provide the enrollee with multiple copies of the page where the information for the "other parent" is provided. If the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office creates a separate physical file for each case consisting of one (1) custodial party and one (1) alleged father, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office would make a copy of the other pages of the Enrollment Form to create a complete Enrollment Form for each alleged father. If the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office creates a separate electronic file for each case consisting of one (1) custodial party and one (1) alleged father. If the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office creates a separate electronic file for each case consisting of one (1) custodial party and one (1) alleged father, the Title IV-D Prosecutor's Office would scan the other pages of the Enrollment Form to create a complete Enrollment Form for each alleged father.
- 3. Q. The Enrollment Form only has space for information for one (1) "other parent". What if an enrollee is enrolling in services for multiple children who do not all share the same "other parent"?
  - A. The enrollee would need to complete one (1) Enrollment Form for each "other parent" and only include on that Enrollment Form the children of that "other parent".

#### **RELATED INFORMATION**

 Information about the state's Title IV-D caseload is reported on the OCSS Form 157, Child Support Enforcement Annual Data Report. The instructions for this form define a Title IV-D case as "a parent (mother, father or putative father) who is or may be liable for support. A parent is reported as a separate case for each family with a dependent child or children that the parent may be obligated to support. . . . If there are multiple putative fathers for one child, only one case is to be reported."<sup>12</sup> Thus, a case is either an order being enforced against a parent or an order to be established against a parent. An enrollee may enroll to establish paternity or support for multiple children with either one (1) or more alleged fathers. Because each child could have different fathers, each child is a separate case.

## **REVISION HISTORY**

Version	Date	Description of Revision
Version 1	05/26/2015	Final approved version
Version 1.1	11/17/2017	Revised the reference to application fees; Removed locate only language
Version 1.2	05/20/2020	Terminology changes due to name change of Application to Enrollment Form
	08/21/2023	Changed Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) to Office of Child Support Services (OCSS)

DCS IV-D Policy Manual/Chapter 3: Case Initiation Section 2: Non-Public Assistance Cases

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>12</sup> Instructions for Completing Form OCSS-157, the Child Support Enforcement Annual Data Report, page 8