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 INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES 
CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Chapter 3: Hotline   Effective Date: March 1, 2016 

Section 5: Supervisory Review of Child 
Abuse and/or Neglect Intake Reports 

Version: 7 

 

POLICY [REVISED] 

 
All Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF114) will undergo supervisory 
review and approval by the Hotline Intake Supervisor before a recommendation is made to 
assign for assessment, refer to another state or screen out. 
  

Note: A Pediatric Evaluation and Diagnostic Service (PEDS) referral is mandatory for all 
children less than six (6) years of age with injury or suspected injury to the head or neck 
and all children less than three (3) years of age with fractures or burns or suspected 
fractures or burns. Although this policy states the age for mandatory PEDS referrals, all 
intake reports involving injury or suspected injury to the head or neck of any child, as 
well as, fractures and burns regardless of age will be identified in the Management 
Gateway for Indiana’s Kids (MaGIK) so local office staff may evaluate the need for a 
non-mandatory referral to the Program. The PEDS program is available 24 hours a day, 
seven (7) days a week. (See Practice Guidance) 

 
The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) Hotline Intake Supervisor will review the Child 
Abuse and Neglect (CA/N) intake report as soon as possible, not to exceed 24 hours. 

 
A Hotline Intake Supervisor may overturn a Hotline Intake Specialist's (IS) recommendation to 
"screen out" a report if the allegations meet the statutory definition of CA/N. 
 
A Hotline Intake Supervisor may overturn an IS’s recommendation to “assign for assessment” if 
the allegations do not meet the statutory definition of CA/N. 

 
For all CA/N assessments that must be initiated within one (1) hour or 24 hours, the Hotline 
Intake Supervisor will forward the intake report to the appropriate local office. 
 
Exception: Per IC 31-36-3, when a child enters a homeless or emergency shelter without the 
presence or consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian the shelter must notify DCS within 24 
hours. The shelter will provide the name of the child, the location of the shelter, and if the child 
alleges that he or she was abused and/or neglected. DCS must conduct an assessment no later 
than 48 hours after receiving notification from the emergency shelter or shelter care facility.  
However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a victim of child abuse or 
neglect, the department will not notify the child’s parent, guardian, or custodian as to the specific 
shelter or facility the child has entered. 
 
The DCS local office will transmit copies of CA/N intake reports to Law Enforcement Agency 
(LEA), prosecutors, and in the case of fatalities, coroners.  
 
 
 

http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/00114.pdf
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/036/chapters/003/
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Code References  
1. IC 31-33-8-1: Investigations by Local Child Protection Service: Time of Investigation  
2. IC 31-33-7-5: Written report; copies made available to law enforcement agencies, 

prosecuting attorney and coroner  
3. IC 31-33-8-2: Investigations by law enforcement agencies 
4. IC 31-36-3: Homeless Children 

 

PROCEDURE  

 
For all CA/N intake reports the Hotline Intake Supervisor will: 

1. Carefully review the CA/N intake report;  
2. Ensure intake reports involving suspected injury to the head or neck of any child are 

evaluated for a PEDS referral; 
3. Agree or disagree with the IS’s recommendations as to whether or not the report should 

be routed and assigned for assessment, referred to another state, or screened out.  The 
Hotline Intake Supervisor will apply the facts reasonably available to DCS and use the 
criteria contained in the following policies to make this determination: 3.8 Statutory 
Definition of Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N), and 3.6 Recommending a Child Abuse 
and/or Neglect (CA/N) Report for Screen-Out. 

 
Note: Final recommendation regarding whether or not a report will be assigned for 
assessment or screened out will be made at the Local Office level. See Chapter 4-
Assessment for additional information on completing assessments.   

  
For CA/N intake reports that will be routed and assigned for assessment, the Hotline Intake 
Supervisor will: 

1. Follow any additional procedures for special intakes. See separate policies: 3.10 
Institutional CA/N Intake Reports, 2.14 Intentional False Reports, and 4.29 Joint 
Assessments; 

2. Review the response time assigned by the IS and: 
a. Agree, or 
b. Find that the response time should be changed and disapprove the report or use the 

override function  in Management Gateway for Indiana’s Kids (MaGIK) to make the 
change.    

 
For CA/N fatality and near fatality intake reports, the Hotline Intake Supervisor will immediately 
contact: 

1. DCS Agency Director,  
2. Deputy Director of Field Operations, 
3. Deputy Director of Communications, 
4. Assistant Deputy Director of Field Operations,  
5. Regional Manager, and  
6. Local Office Director (LOD).  

 
If immediate notification is not practical, notification must be given in the same day, regardless 
of weekends and holidays. Notification will be made via e-mail. 
 

PRACTICE GUIDANCE  [REVISED] 

 
 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/033/chapters/008/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/033/chapters/007/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/033/chapters/007/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/033/chapters/008/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/036/chapters/003/
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.08_Statutory_Definition_of_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.08_Statutory_Definition_of_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.6_Recommending_CAN_Reports_for_Screen-out.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.6_Recommending_CAN_Reports_for_Screen-out.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.10_Institutional_CAN_Intake_Reports.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.10_Institutional_CAN_Intake_Reports.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/2.14_Intentional_False_Reports.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/4.29_Joint_Assessments_(Investigations).pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/4.29_Joint_Assessments_(Investigations).pdf
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Pediatric Evaluation and Diagnostic Service (PEDS) Referrals 
It is mandatory to complete a PEDS referral for all children less than six (6)  years of age 
with an allegation of suspected abuse or neglect involving the head or neck (e.g. facial 
bruising, scratches and red “ marks” on the face/neck; mouth injuries, eye injuries, head bleeds, 
skull fractures and a fracture or burn involving the head/neck) and all children less than three 
(3) years of age with allegations of suspected abuse or neglect resulting in fractures or 
burns or suspected fractures or burns. All intake reports with suspected injury to the head or 
neck of a child, as well as, fractures and burns regardless of age will be identified in MaGIK with 
a denotation of “PEDS allegation is included in this Report”. Evaluations of all reports identified 
should include any information obtained from the child and/or family. FCMs should utilize critical 
thinking to evaluate and staff the situation with an FCM Supervisor to determine if a need exists 
to complete a non-mandatory PEDS referral for children of any age with injury or suspected 
injury to the head or neck or with fractures or burns or suspected fractures or burns. A referral 
should also be considered, if a child, regardless of age, is unable to provide an explanation for 
the injury or the explanation for the injury is not convincing and there is reason to believe there 
is a pattern of repeated abuse. The PEDS program referral may be found here: 
https://www.rileypeds.org/CP/Index.aspx. 
 
 

FORMS AND TOOLS 

  
Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF114) – Available in MaGIK 

 

RELATED INFORMATION  

 
Notification to department; investigation of a child; notification to parents (IC 31-36-3-3)  
1.  Except as provided in subsection (d), if a child voluntarily enters an emergency shelter or 

a  facility, the shelter or facility shall notify the department, not later 24 hours after the 
child enters the shelter or facility, of the following:  
     a. The name of the child, 
     b. The location of the shelter or facility, and 
     c. Whether the child alleges that the child is the subject of abuse or neglect. 
 

2.   The department shall conduct an investigation concerning the child not later than 48 
hours after receiving notification from the emergency shelter or shelter care facility under 
subsection (a); 

3.   The department shall notify the child's parent, guardian, or custodian that the child is in 
an emergency shelter or a shelter care facility not later than 72 hours after the child 
enters the shelter or facility. However, if the department has reason to believe that the 
child is a victim of child abuse or neglect, the department will not notify the child's parent, 
guardian, or custodian as to the specific shelter or facility the child has entered; and 

4.  An emergency shelter or a shelter care facility is not required to notify the department of 
a child who is an emancipated minor. 

 
 

 

https://www.rileypeds.org/CP/Index.aspx
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/00114.pdf
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2015/ic/titles/031/articles/036/chapters/003/

