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 INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES 
CHILD WELFARE MANUAL 

Chapter 3: Intake Effective Date: May 1, 2009 

Section 9: Initiation Times for Assessments Version: 3 

 
POLICY  
 

The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) will initiate every Child Abuse and/or Neglect 
(CA/N) assessment within the appropriate timeframe as determined by Indiana Law. 

 
An assessment will be considered “initiated” when: 

1. The Family Case Manager (FCM) makes face-to-face contact with the alleged child 
victim and notifies, in-person or via phone, the parent, guardian, or custodian; and  

2. The FCM has assessed, and is able to reasonably assure, the safety of the child. 
 
Assessments will be initiated within the following timeframes: 

1. Within one (1) hour if the allegations would cause a reasonable person to believe that 
the child is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm; or 

2. Within 24 hours if the allegations involve abuse but the conditions in item one (1) above 
do not apply; or 

3. Within five (5) days if the allegations involve neglect and none of the conditions in items 
one (1) or two (2 ) above apply.  

 
[NEW] For reports involving alleged domestic violence, DCS will initiate the assessment: 

1. If a Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) is on the scene and has requested assistance, 
DCS will respond within one (1) hour to the scene;  

2. Any reports where a parent, guardian, custodian, or child(ren) calls to report alleged 
domestic violence will be initiated within 24 hours; 

3. If the alleged domestic violence occurred in the past 48 hours (regardless of the 
reporting source), DCS will initiate the assessment within 24 hours; or 

4. If the alleged domestic violence occurred more than 48 hours ago and the child(ren) 
are not believed to be in physical danger, DCS will initiate the assessment within five 
(5) days.   

 
For reports concerning children who voluntarily enter an emergency shelter or a shelter care 
facility without the presence or consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian, DCS must conduct 
an assessment within 48 hours of receiving the report.  DCS must notify the parent, guardian, 
or custodian of the child within 72 hours of the child entering the shelter or a shelter care 
facility.   
 
Response times are measured from the conclusion of the initial call from the reporter. This 
means for one (1) hour assessments, the FCM must make face-to-face contact with the child, 
notify the parents, and assure the safety of the child within one (1) hour of the conclusion  
of the initial call from the reporter. 
 
Assessments will be initiated regardless of the time of day (or night), and regardless of 
weekends or holidays, in order to meet the appropriate timeframes. 
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DCS will request assistance from LEA when circumstances exist that prevent DCS from being 
able to initiate one (1) hour assessments in a timely fashion. 
 

1. 
Code References 

IC 31-33-8-1:  Investigations by local child protection service; time of initiation 
2. IC 31-33-8-6:  Investigatory duties of local child protection service; purpose 
3. 
4. 

IC 31-36-3-3:  Homeless Children 

 
IC 34-6-2-34.5:  Domestic or family violence 

 
PROCEDURE 
 

The intake worker or Supervisor will: 
1. Consider all known information about the CA/N allegations; 
2. Make a determination about the appropriate initiation timeframe; and 
3. Compare the selected timeframe to the one assigned by the Indiana Child Welfare 

Information System (ICWIS) and make any - appropriate overrides. 
 
 

PRACTICE GUIDANCE 
 

N/A 
 
 

FORMS AND TOOLS 
  

N/A 
 
RELATED INFORMATION 
 

N/A 

http://www.ai.org/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar33/ch8.html#IC31-33-8-1�
http://www.ai.org/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar33/ch8.html#IC31-33-8-6�
http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar36/ch3.html�
http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title34/ar6/ch2.html#IC34-6-2-34.5�

