INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES
CHILD WELFARE MANUAL

Chapter 3: Hotline Effective Date: January 1, 2014

Section 5: Supervisory Review of Child
Abuse and/or Neglect Intake Reports

Version: 5

| POLICY [REVISED]

All Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF 114/CW(0310) will undergo
supervisory review and approval by the Hotline Intake Supervisor before a recommendation is
made to assign for assessment, refer to another state or screen out. @

%ck of any child

) s0 local office staff
d Diagnostic Service
ven (7) days a week.

[NEW] Note: Intake reports involving suspected injury to the hea
will be identified in Management Gateway for Indiana’s Kids
can evaluate the need for a referral to the Pediatric Evaluati
(PEDS) Program. This program is available 24 hours a %
{See Practice Guidance)

The Indiana Department of Child Services {DCS) Hotlin&e Supervisor will review the Child
Abuse and Neglect (CA/N) intake report as soon as pS le, not to exceed 24 hours.

A Hotline Intake Supervisor may overturn a Hotlid’l{ﬁake Specialist's (IS) recommendation to
"screen out" a report if the allegations meet th&t utory definition of CA/N.

A Hotline Intake Supervisor may overtur an'\S’s recommendation to “assign for assessment” if
the allegations do not meet the statutarb finition of CA/N.

’
For all CA/N assessments that (tlve initiated within one (1} hour or 24 hours, the Hofline
Intake Supervisor will forward §e intake report to the appropriate local office.

[REVISED] Exception: Peh% 31-36-3, when a child enters a homeless or emergency shelter
- without the presence sent of a parent, guardian, or custodian the shelter must notify DCS
within 24 hours. The\(h ter will provide the name of the chiid, the location of the shelter, and if
the child alleges e or she was abused and/or neglected. DCS must conduct an
assessment no latér than 48 hours after receiving notification from the emergency shelter or
shelter care facility. However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a victim
of child abuse or neglect, the department will not notify the child’s parent, guardian, or custodian
as fo the specific shelter or facility the child has entered.

The DCS local office will transmit copies of CA/N intake reports to Law Enforcement Agency
{(LEA), prosecutors, and in the case of fatalities, coroners. '

Code References

IC 31-33-8-1: Investigations by Local Child Protection Service: Time of investigation
IC 31-33-7-5: Written Reports; Copies Made Available

IC 31-33-8-2: Investigations by law enforcement agencies

IC 31-36-3: Homeless Children

IC 5-26.5-1-3: Domestic Violence
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| PROCEDURE [REVISED]

For all CA/N intake reports the Hotline Intake Supervisor will:

1. Carefully review the CA/N intake report;

2. [NEW] Ensure intake reports involving suspected injury to the head or neck of any child
are evaluated for a PEDS referral:

3. [REVISED] Agree or disagree with the 1S’s recommendations as to whether or not the
report should be routed and assigned for assessment, referred to another state, or
screened out. The Hotline Intake Supervisor will apply the facts reasonably available to
DCS and use the criteria contained in the following policies to make this determination:
3.8 Statutory Definition of Child Abuse and/or Neglect {CA/N), and 3.6 Recommending a
Child Abuse and/or Neglect (CA/N) Report for Screen-Out.

[NEWT] Note: Final recommendation regarding whether or not a re ill be assigned
for assessment or screened out will be made at the Local Offic 7 See Chapter 4-
Assessment for additional information on completing asses% .

For CA/N intake reports that will be routed and assigned for a sgﬁ'lent, the Hotline intake
Supervisor will: Qe
1. Follow any additional procedures for special intalgs \gee separate policies: 3.10
Institutional CA/N Intake Reports, 2.14 Intenti Ise Reports, and 4.29 Joint
nd

Assessments:
2. Review the response time assigned by th‘@

a. Agree, or (}
b. [REVISED] Find that the respow e should be changed and disapprove the

report or use the override func in Management Gateway for Indiana’s Kids
(MaGIK) to make the changR/

[REVISED] For CA/N fatality and ;:?atality intake reports, the Hotline Intake Supervisor will
immediately contact: r\
. DCS Agency Director

Deputy Director. mmunications,

Regional
DCS Lo ffice Director (LOD).

If immediate notification is not practical, notification must be given in the same day, regardless
of weekends and holidays. Notification will be made via e-mail.
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[ PRACTICE GUIDANCE [REVISED] ]

[NEW] Pediatric Evaluation and Diagnostic Service (PEDS) and Indiana University Child
Protection Program (IUCPP) Referrals

All intake reports with suspected injury to the head or neck of a child will be identified in MaGIK
as a child eligible for a PEDS referral, regardless of age. However, it is mandatory for children
less than 10 years of age to receive a PEDS referral. Evaluations of all reports identified, should
include any information obtained from the child and/or family and reviewed with a FCM
Supervisor to determine if a need exists to complete a PEDS referral.
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It is mandatory for intake reports involving bone fractures and/or suspicious burns to children
under the age of three (3) to receive a referral to the indiana University Child Protection
Program (IUCPF) for a comprehensive case evaluation. A referral should also be considered, if
a child, regardiess of age, is unable to provide an explanation for the injury or the explanation
for the injury is not convincing and there is reason to believe there is a patiern of repeated
abuse.

FORMS AND TOOLS

Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (SF 114/CW0310) — Available in
MaGIK

| RELATED INFORMATION [REVISED]

[NEW] Notification to department; investigation of a child; notificatioe@arents (1C 31-
36-3-3)

1. Except as provided in subsection (d}, if a child voluntarily enters ergency shelter or a
shelter care facility, the shelter or facility shall notify the department later 24 hours after the
child enters the shelter or facility, of the following:

a. The name of the child, O

b. The iocation of the shelter or facility, and @

c. Whether the child alleges that the child is the subj&t of abuse or neglect.

2. The department shall conduct an investigatio rning the child not later than 48 hours
after receiving notification from the emergency s r or shelter care facility under subsection
_______ (ay; N

3. The department shall notify the child's pamnt, guardian, or custodian that the child is in an
emergency shelter or a shelter care fa 'Ihgﬁot later than 72 hours after the child enters the
shelter or facility. However, if the dep ent has reason to believe that the child is a victim of

child abuse or neglect, the depa will not notify the child's parent, guardian, or custodian
as to the specific shelter or facilit child has entered; and

4. An emergency shelter or a lter care facility is not required to notify the department of a
child who is an emancipat nor.

\
O
X |

DCS CW Manual/Chapter 3-Section 5: Supervisory Review of Child Abuse andfor Neglect (CA/N)
Intake Reports 30of3








