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 INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES 
CHILD WELFARE POLICY 

Chapter 12: Foster Family Home Licensing Effective Date: September 1, 2017 

Section 18: License Denials Version: 6 

 
STATEMENTS OF PURPOSE          

 
The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) and its licensing workers1 should not 
recommend licensing a foster home if there are any concerns about placing a child in the home. 
The licensing worker will recommend denial of a foster family home initial or relicensure 
application if: 

1. The applicant or the applicant’s household members, employees, or volunteers who are 
required to have background checks do not pass the background checks. See separate 
policies, 13.9 Conducting Background Checks for Foster Home Licensing and 13.10 
Evaluating Background Checks for Foster Family Licensing for more information on the 
background check requirements;  

2. The applicant made false statements on the application or the records required for 
licensure or relicensure; or 

3. The applicant failed to meet any other foster care licensing requirements as set out in 
Indiana Statute or Indiana Administrative Code.  
 

If a denial is based on a report of abuse or neglect that was substantiated prior to October 15, 
2006, the Regional Manager (RM) or designee must review the appropriateness of the 
substantiation prior to the licensing worker requesting the denial. The applicant may also 
request this review at any time in the process. See separate policy, 2.03 Child Care Worker 
Assessment Review Process. 
 
DCS will not allow an applicant to voluntarily withdraw or transfer their foster home license 
application to another licensing entity once a denial recommendation has been made. 
 
Code References 

1. IC 31-27-4-5: Apply for licenses; criminal history checks 
2. IC 31-27-4-6: Grounds for denial of license applications; waiver 
3. IC 31-27-4-13: Denial of license; notice; administrative hearing upon written request 
4. IC 31-27-4-16: Duration of license; limitations; renewal 
5. 465 IAC 2-1.5: Licensing of Foster Family Homes for Children 
6. 465 IAC 3-2-2: Administrative review procedure for child care workers and licensed 

foster parents 
7. 465 IAC 3-3: Administrative Hearings 

 
 
 
 
 
                                                 
1 The licensing worker refers to the DCS Regional Foster Care Specialist (RFCS) or the Licensed Child Placing 
  Agency worker 

http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13_9_Conducting_Background_Checks_for_Foster_Home_Licensing.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.10%20Evaluating%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Family%20Licensing.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.10%20Evaluating%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Family%20Licensing.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/2.03%20Child%20Care%20Worker%20Assessment%20Review%20Process.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/2.03%20Child%20Care%20Worker%20Assessment%20Review%20Process.pdf
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-5
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-6
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-13
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-16
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/T04650/A00020.PDF?
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
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PROCEDURE 
 
The licensing worker should consult with other DCS staff or agency staff as needed to arrive at 
a written recommendation about the appropriateness of granting the license based on: 

1. Information found in all background checks. See separate policy, 13.10 Evaluating 
Background Checks for Foster Family Licensing; and 

2. Any other information obtained through the state-approved foster family home licensing 
study related to:  
a. The current home environment, and 
b. The ability of the prospective foster parent to provide for the child’s safety, well-

being, and permanency. 
 
Note: A denial recommendation may be made upon receipt of information supporting a 
denial. A complete written home study is not required if a denial is recommended.  

 
For all denials, the licensing worker will: 

1. Develop a denial recommendation letter, within 90 days of the decision to deny, 
containing the following: 
a. Any specific statute or rule with which the foster family home is not in compliance, 
b. A general description of the circumstances which constitute the non-compliance or 

other grounds for denial, and  
c. Documentation supporting the decision. 

 
2. Ensure each denial recommendation letter is signed by the following persons: 

a. The RM, RFCS Supervisor, and the DCS licensing worker (for DCS Licensed Foster 
Family Homes), or  

b. Licensed Child Placing Agency (LCPA) licensing worker, LCPA Director, or designee 
(for LCPA Licensed Foster Family Homes). 

   
3. Upload the following information into the case management system: 

a. Denial recommendation letter, 
b. Supporting documentation that provides evidence of non-compliance (e.g., case 

management system contact notes, e-mail communications, background check 
information, and assessment information),  

c. The Foster Home Revocation or Denial Due Process Verification form if the denial is 
based on substantiated abuse or neglect. 

4.   Submit the denial request in the case management system to the Central Office Foster 
Care Licensing Unit for approval; 

5.   Ensure the applicant is aware of the denial recommendation and has a basic 
understanding of the process that will occur; and 

6.   Ensure any DCS or agency staff responsible for placement of a child is notified of the 
concerns and resulting recommendation to deny the renewal of the license if there are 
children currently placed in the home. 

 
Upon receipt and agreement with the recommendation to deny, the Central Office Foster Care 
Licensing Unit will: 

1. Send a certified letter, within 60 days of the recommendation, to the applicant advising 
the individual of; and 

https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.10%20Evaluating%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Family%20Licensing.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13.10%20Evaluating%20Background%20Checks%20for%20Foster%20Family%20Licensing.pdf
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a. The fact the application for a new foster family home license, or renewal of the 
current license, is being denied effective 30 days from receipt of the letter, 

b. The nature of the allegation(s) of non-compliance with Indiana Code, Indiana 
Administrative Code, or other foster parent requirements, 

c. The right to appeal the decision within 30 days of receipt of the letter, 
d. The statutory authority of DCS to license resource family homes, and 
e. The civil and criminal penalties for operating a foster family home without a license. 
 

2. Send a copy of the certified letter denying the license to the licensing worker for his or 
her file. 

 
If Central Office disagrees with the recommendation to deny a license, the Central Office 
Licensing Unit will return the recommendation to the recommending agency with guidance on 
next steps. The recommending agency will follow up based upon the guidance received from 
Central Office.  
 
If the denial is based on a substantiated report of abuse or neglect that was approved prior to 
October 15, 2006, the RM (or designee) for the region where the assessment took place will, 
prior to sending the request for denial to Central Office, complete a file review of the 
substantiated assessment.    
 

PRACTICE GUIDANCE 
 

N/A  
 

FORMS AND TOOLS  
 
Foster Home Revocation or Denial Due Process Verification  
 

RELATED INFORMATION 
 
Denial Appeals 
If the foster family home appeals the license denial and requests an administrative hearing as 
provided in IC 31-27-4-13 and 465 IAC 3-3, a DCS attorney will represent the DCS. The 
assigned DCS administrative law judge (ALJ) will schedule the hearing date and any prehearing 
conferences. The DCS Hearings and Appeals staff will notify the assigned DCS attorney, the 
foster family home, and any attorney representing the license applicant for purposes of the 
appeal, of the date, time and location of the scheduled hearing and any applicable post-hearing 
final order procedures under IC 4-21.5-3. 
 
 
 

https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=11101
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-13
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/004/#4-21.5-3

