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 INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES 
CHILD WELFARE POLICY 

Chapter 11: Older Youth Services Effective Date: July 1, 2017 

Section 5: Driver’s Training and Driver’s 
License  Version: 3 

 
 STATEMENTS OF PURPOSE    
This policy does not pertain to youth who are residing in in-home care.  
 
The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) will ensure youth in out-of-home care who are 
interested in pursuing a driver’s license or permit will be provided with information explaining the 
process. DCS will not prohibit youth in out-of-home care from participating in driver’s education 
and/or obtaining a driver’s license. DCS may fund driver’s training. 
 
DCS staff will not sign for youth to obtain a driver’s license or permit. DCS does not assume 
responsibility for any injury or damage caused while driving.  
 
Per IC 34-30-2-30.2, DCS, foster parent, or entity providing services to the minor is not liable for 
costs and damages associated with the minor’s application for a driver’s license or permit or the 
operation of a motor vehicle. Per IC 9-24-9-4, the minor applicant is responsible for paying all 
costs of the policy of motor vehicle insurance and is liable for any damages caused because of 
the minor applicant's operation of a motor vehicle. A state or local government agency, foster 
parent, or entity providing services to the minor applicant under a contract or at the direction of a 
state or local government agency shall not be required to pay any costs associated with the 
policy of motor vehicle insurance and shall not be held liable for any damages that result from 
the operation of a motor vehicle owned by the minor applicant. 
 
DCS will not prohibit youth who are 16 years of age and older and a Child in Need of Services 
(CHINS) to participate in driver’s training or obtain a driver’s license. Youth under age 18 must 
receive court approval to participate in driver’s education prior to enrolling in the driver’s training 
course and also must receive court approval prior to obtaining a driver’s license. The initial 
permit fee and initial driver’s license fee will be waived by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) if 
all requirements are met. 
 

Note: The identification card fee will be waived for youth age 16 and older who do not 
have a valid Indiana driver’s license.  

 
DCS will conduct a Child and Family Team (CFT) meeting to identify an individual to supervise 
the youth’s required supervised driving practice hours and complete the Log of Supervised 
Driving Practice (SF 54706). DCS must approve of the individual identif ied to supervise the 
youth’s supervised driving practice hours. The supervised driver must be either: 

1. A valid licensed driver at least 25 years of age who is related by blood, marriage, or 
legal status, 

2. A valid licensed driver at least 25 years of age who is approved by DCS, 
3. A licensed driver education instructor who works under the direction of a driver training 

school, or 
4. A certif ied driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV who is employed 

through a driver rehabilitation program. 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/034/#34-30-2-30.2
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-4
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9758
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9758
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DCS will not prohibit youth who are 16 years of age and older and adjudicated as Juvenile 
Delinquent/Juvenile Status (JD/JS) to participate in driver’s training when there is an appropriate 
adult (not DCS staff) willing to sign the Agreement of Financial Liability (see Practice Guidance), 
assuming financial liability for the particular youth.  
 

Note: Youth age 18 and older, including wards, do not require court permission to take 
driver’s training and/or obtain a driver’s license. Youth age 18 and older must sign the 
Agreement of Financial Liability for themselves. The initial permit fee and initial driver’s 
license fee will be waived by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) if all requirements are 
met. 

 
Code References 

1. IC 9-24-9-2: Information required by application for license or permit 
2. IC 9-24-9-3: Applications of minors; signing and swearing by parents, guardians, 

custodians, employers, or responsible individuals 
3. IC 9-24-3-1: Issuance; conditions; fee 
4. IC 9-24-3-2.5: Age, experience, and examination requirements 
5. IC 9-24-7-4: Operating privileges 
6. IC 9-24-9-4: Minor applicants; liability of signers; cancellation of licenses and permits 
7. IC 9-24-16-10: Rules; no fee for identification used for voter identification purposes; fees 
8. IC 34-30-2-30.2: Application and operation of a motor vehicle by minors under the care 

and supervision of the department of child services 
9. IC 27-2-11.1-3: Individuals under the care and supervision of the department of child 

services: motor vehicle insurance 
 

PROCEDURE  
 

The Family Case Manager (FCM) and/or the Collaborative Care Case Manager (3CM) will: 
1. Conduct a CFT meeting to discuss the youth’s desire to obtain a driver’s license and 

develop a plan, which will include; 
a. Identif ication of driver’s training program, 
b. Securing of driver’s permit, 
c. Identif ication and approval of an individual to provide supervised practice driving 

hours, and  
d. Ensure the youth understand his or her liability and the need to secure his or her own 

insurance. 
 

2. Discuss the results of the CFTM with the Local Office Director (LOD) or Division 
Manager (DM) prior to seeking court approval; 

3. Obtain court approval, via a court order, authorizing youth to participate in driver’s 
education or obtain a driver’s license;  

4. Obtain the signed Foster Youth BMV Waiver Letter from the Local Office Director (LOD) 
(or approved personnel), verifying that the youth has obtained approval to participate in 
driver’s education or obtain a driver’s license, and provide the signed form to the youth;  
 
Note: If the youth is 18 or older, a court order is not needed to participate in driver’s 
education or obtain a driver’s license. However, the youth will need the signed Foster 
Youth BMV Waiver Letter in order for his or her initial permit fee and initial driver’s 
license fee to be waived. 
 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-2
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-2
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-3
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-3
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-3-1
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-3-1
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/009/#9-24-3-2.5
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/009/#9-24-3-2.5
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-7-4
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-7-4
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-4
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/009/#9-24-9-4
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-16-10
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/009/#9-24-16-10
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/034/#34-30-2-30.2
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/034/#34-30-2-30.2
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/027/#27-2-11.1-3
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2021/ic/titles/027/#27-2-11.1-3
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Older-Youth-BMV-Waiver-Letter.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Older-Youth-BMV-Waiver-Letter.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Older-Youth-BMV-Waiver-Letter.pdf
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5. Complete a referral for funds for youth 16 years of age and older who are currently 
participating in OYS and have court approval, if needed, to participate in driver’s training; 

6. Obtain documentation of the youth’s driver’s training and maintain this information in the 
youth’s DCS case file and document in the case management system; and 

7. Verify, on a monthly basis, that the youth continues to have motor vehicle insurance. 
 
The LOD (or approved personnel) will sign the Foster Youth BMV Waiver Letter to verify that the 
youth has obtained the necessary court approval to acquire a driver’s permit or a driver’s license 
and provide the signed Foster Youth BMV Waiver Letter to the FCM or 3CM. 

  
PRACTICE GUIDANCE 

 
Agreement of Financial Liability for JD/JS Youth 
Any adult, including an adult who is not a custodian, caregiver, or legal guardian, is allowed to 
sign the Agreement of Financial Liability, which is required to obtain a driver’s license or permit. 
A resource parent may legally sign the application. By signing, the resource parent assumes 
responsibility both for authorizing the child to receive driver’s training and for providing auto 
insurance coverage for the youth. Any person signing a minor’s application must also provide 
documents to prove identity and age, and the person is accepting joint responsibility for any 
injury or damage caused by the minor. For further information regarding the Agreement of 
Financial Liability (including the order of preference of adults who sign the agreement and how 
to request to terminate the agreement), see BMV: Agreement of Financial Liability. 
 
Agreement of Financial Liability for CHINS Youth 
Any adult, including an adult who is not a custodian, caregiver, or legal guardian, is allowed to 
sign the Agreement of Financial Liability, which is required to obtain a driver’s license or permit. 
However, a resource parent is not required to sign the Agreement of Financial Liability for youth 
age 16 and older who are a CHINS. If a resource parent signs the Agreement of Financial 
Liability, they may be held liable for any issues that arise from the youth’s use of a motor 
vehicle. 
 
Youth age 16 and older are able to sign the Agreement of Financial Liability if they provide proof 
of motor vehicle insurance and meet any other requirements as required by statute or the BMV. 
DCS shall not be responsible for the payment of motor vehicle insurance premiums for youth. 
DCS will not assume liability when a youth chooses to drive a motor vehicle.  
 
FORMS AND TOOLS 
 

1. Log of Supervised Driving Practice (SF 54706) 
2. Foster Youth BMV Waiver Letter  
3. BMV Documentation List 
4. BMV: Agreement of Financial Liability 

 
RELATED INFORMATION 

  
In order to secure an Indiana driver’s license or identification card, the documents found on the 
BMV Documentation List must be presented. 
 

https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Older-Youth-BMV-Waiver-Letter.pdf
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Older-Youth-BMV-Waiver-Letter.pdf
http://www.in.gov/bmv/2556.htm
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9758
https://www.in.gov/dcs/files/Older-Youth-BMV-Waiver-Letter.pdf
http://www.in.gov/bmv/files/BMV_Documentation_List.pdf
http://www.in.gov/bmv/2556.htm
http://www.in.gov/bmv/files/BMV_Documentation_List.pdf

	The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) will ensure youth in out-of-home care who are interested in pursuing a driver’s license or permit will be provided with information explaining the process. DCS will not prohibit youth in out-of-home care ...

